Notes from Storytime

The Seals on the Bus

The Seals on the BusThe hilarious picture book The Seals on the Bus by Lenny Hort repeats a lot of the same words. Stories and songs with repeating parts allow your child to more easily retell the things that happened in them, which increases narrative skills. In this book, we see different animals go onto the bus. After reading this book, can you tell why the LAST animal on the bus causes everyone to get off?

–Tip by Amy S., Youth Programming Assistant

Staff Picks 4 Kids

Jedi Academy by Jeffrey Brown

Cover image for Jedi AcademyRoan’s life is over. He is never going to leave Tatooine. He didn’t get accepted into the Pilot Academy like is father and big brother and is now going to have to go to plant school. However, that changes when he receives an acceptance letter to go to the Jedi Academy. Roan doesn’t think he is a jedi. He’s never done anything like a jedi before, but he decides to go. With the help of his new friends and his teachers, Roan is about to embark on a strange fun adventure at the Jedi Academy. Now, he just has to survive it. This book is part comic, part diary, and part chapter book. Fans of Origami Yoda and Diary of a Wimpy Kid will really like this book.

Book reviewed by Laura B., Youth Technology Librarian

Book Klub 4 Kids

Carmelo Anthony: Superstar Scorer by Paul Hoblin and Wilt Chamberlain by Ron Frankl

Cover image for Carmelo Anthony : [superstar scorer]Cover image for Wilt ChamberlainI am reading a book about Carmelo Anthony and how his Basketball career started and book about Wilt Chamberlin.

Books read and reviewed by Hector.