Spotlight

Latest from our staff

  • Staff Picks: Andrea’s Selections of the Day

    We asked Teen Librarian Andrea what books she’s recommending today. She chose a combination of mysteries, thrillers and realistic fiction, with secrets and suspense aplenty.     Sadie by Courtney Summers Sadie hasn’t had an easy life. Growing up on her own, she’s been raising her sister Mattie in an isolated small town, trying her… Read more »

  • Fingerplays for Fine Motor Skills

    Digital literacy is the ability to understand, evaluate, and use information when it is presented by a computer, tablet, or other digital media. With so much technology present in the world, It is important to navigate technology alongside your child. Learning to write or navigate a tablet takes practice and fine motor skills. Fingers need… Read more »

  • Friday Fundays and More!

    Every month the library offers a lot of fun programs for teens. You can always check the calendar to see what we have going on. Be sure to stop in and join us for some of these events. Come with a friend or meet new friends while you play games, create art and have a… Read more »

  • National Hobby Month

    January is National Hobby Month. There is no better time like the new year to pick up a brand new hobby or rediscover an old one! Having a hobby has been shown to decrease stress, and increase happiness and focus. Stop by the library to pick up books and DVDs on the hobbies that interest… Read more »

  • Getting Help with the House

    Owning a home is a worthwhile but often challenging experience.  Issues surrounding purchasing, financing and maintaining a home are complex.  Area homeowners or prospective homeowners can get guidance from the Northwest Housing Partnership.  On Saturday, January 26, 2019 at 9:30 am at the Mount Prospect Public Library the Partnership will offer a series of presentations… Read more »

  • Books: Readalikes for Nine Perfect Strangers by Liane Moriarty

    Are you on the hold list for, or have you just finished, Liane Moriarty’s new book, Nine Perfect Strangers? The story of nine people who all travel to the same remote health spa and find their lives mixing and overlapping in unexpected ways is one book everybody’s talking about. If you are looking for a novel with a similar flavor, try one of these readalikes!