Staff Picks 4 Kids Category: Beginning Chapter Books

Zoey & Sassafras: Dragons & Marshmallows by Asia Citro

Cover image for Dragons and marshmallows

Zoey discovers a secret when her mom leaves on a work trip. She can see magical animals! So can her mom, who helps sick magical animals in the barn behind their house. Since her mom is away, Zoey steps in to help when a baby dragon shows up at the barn. Zoey uses the scientific method and runs an experiment to figure out what the dragon likes to eat, which includes marshmallows. You can read Dragons & Marshmallows as an e-book on Libby/Overdrive.

E-book-Dragons in a Bag

Cover of Dragons in a Bag by Zetta Elliott

Dragons in a Bag is the first in a series, and is a great transitional chapter book for fans of The Magic Treehouse and The Unicorn Rescue Society series. You can check out the e-book from RBdigital!

From the publisher’s description: “The dragon’s out of the bag in this diverse, young urban fantasy from an award-winning author! When Jaxon is sent to spend the day with a mean old lady his mother calls Ma, he finds out she’s not his grandmother—but she is a witch! She needs his help delivering baby dragons to a magical world where they’ll be safe. There are two rules when it comes to the dragons: don’t let them out of the bag, and don’t feed them anything sweet. Before he knows it, Jax and his friends Vikram and Kavita have broken both rules! Will Jax get the baby dragons delivered safe and sound? Or will they be lost in Brooklyn forever? AN NPR BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR A CHICAGO PUBLIC LIBRARY BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR A KIRKUS REVIEWS BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR”

E-audio and E-book-Clementine by Sarah Pennypacker

Clementine

Move over, Ramona, Junie B. Jones, and Gooney Bird Green! Clementine is here! Clementine, by Sarah Pennypacker, brings us into this 8 year old’s life, where she joins her father in fighting off pigeons, and “fixes” her friend’s hair by first cutting most of it off, and then coloring it using permanent marker (including little “squigglies” on her forehead for bangs). This is the first book of a series, so you’ll get to spend lots of time laughing and learning with Clementine.

Book reviewed by Loreen  S., Youth Services Assistant

The first book, Clementine, is available in e-audio from Overdrive/Libby, and book six, Clementine and the Spring Trip, is available as an e-book from Overdrive/Libby.

E-book & E-audiobook Wedgie & Gizmo by Suzanne Selfors

Wedgie & Gizmo book cover

Gizmo is a diabolical evil genius. He is also a guinea pig and the pet of Elliot. However, Gizmo calls him his faithful servant. Wedgie is the energetic corgi dog that belongs to Jasmine, Jackson, and their Mom. He also believes that he is a super hero and wears a cape around that Jasmine put on him. When Elliot’s dad marries Jasmine and Jackson’s mom, everyone must now live together. Wedgie loves having more humans to protect, but Gizmo would rather not have to live in Jasmine’s Barbie playhouse or with an arch nemesis like Wedgie. This funny chapter book is written in the same style as Jedi Academy and Diary of a Wimpy Kid, but instead of humans’ point of view, it is told from Wedgie and Gizmo’s.

This title is available as an e-book and an e-audio book from Hoopla digital.

Book reviewed by Laura B., Youth Technology Librarian

E-audio King & Kayla series

Several titles in the King & Kayla beginning chapter book series are available as audio books from RBDigital. This series is about Kayla and her dog King, who solve mysteries in their neighborhood. Great for fans of Nate the Great and The Chicken Squad books by Cronin.

Books recommended by Julie J., Assistant Head of Youth Services