Find
10 South Emerson, Mount Prospect, IL 60056 | 847/253-5675
Font:

Check It Out

What is the Mount Prospect Community Reading?

Picture of Response Display

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Displayed around the Library are the reviews, theme songs, and readalikes Adult Summer Reading participants are sharing! See what your fellow community members are reading and suggesting, and make sure you sign up for Summer Reading to add your voice!

Below are a few of the entries so far:

Cover of Pablo
My readalike for Pablo by Julie Birmant is Vincent because it’s another great book in this Masters of Art series.

Cover of Ordinary Grace My review for Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger is to have a box of tissues close because readers will fall in love with narrator Frank Drumm who steals their hearts with his wit and loyalty.

Cover of Master and Commander My readalike for Master and Commander by Patrick O’Brian is His Majesty’s Dragon by Naomi Novik because they’re both rollicking good naval adventures– with added dragons in the Novik series!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Crazy Rich Asians
My theme song for Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan is “Just Got Paid” by Johnny Kemp because the book and song both make me laugh and jump around.

Cover of The Professor's House
I loved The Professor’s House by Willa Cather! My favorite character is Tom. In the middle of the book he tells the story of discovering a lost city that once belonged to Native Americans. I can’t stop looking at real pictures of lost cities like Cather described.

Cover of The Juliet Club
The Juliet Club by Suzanne Harper is a great book because the book is very enjoyable and about love letters.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Cuentos de Eva Luna
My readalike for Cuentos de Eva Luna by Isabel Allende is Arrancame la Vida because of the romance and story seen from a woman’s eye.

Cover of The Book of Lost Things
My readalike for The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly is any of the Brothers Grimms Tales books because it incorporates those tales in their original, dark versions (not as Disney did them).

Cover of Everybody's Got Something
My theme song for Everybody’s Got Something by Robin Roberts is “A Beautiful Day” because of its inspirational lyrics.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of The Stranger
The Stranger is Harlan Coben at his best, because the book will hold your interest to the last. Surprise ending– you won’t see it coming!

Cover of Objects of My Affection
My readalike for Objects of My Affection by Jill Smolinski is Me Before You because in both book the main character is contemplating suicide, with another character looking to change their minds.

Cover of The Residence
My theme song for The Residence is “Hail to the Chief” because the residence is the White House!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of The Dream LoverMy review for The Dream Lover by Elizabeth Berg is a it’s a wonderful fiction novel based on the life of author George Sand and her avant-garde life at the time.

Cover of Where the Heat Is
My review for Where the Heart Is by Billie Letts is heart touching because a young girl learns that not everyone is trustworthy.

Cover of Heat Rises
My review for Heat Rises by Richard Castle is that it is exciting and fast-paced because reading it feels similar to watching a good episode of the T.V. show Castle.

By Jenny, Readers' Advisor on June 19, 2015 Categories: 2015 Summer Reading, Books, Fantasy & Sci-Fi, Historical Fiction, Literary, Mysteries/Thrillers/Suspense, Nonfiction

Fiction: Hooked on Hockey Hunks

Congratulations to the Blackhawks on their latest Stanley Cup win this week! Sad to see the season end? Can’t make it to the parade today? Keep the season going for yourself and celebrate by adding a little spicy chill to your summer with a hockey romance.

Cover of IceBreaker
Icebreaker
by Deirdre Martin

Cover of Just In Time
Just in Time
by Addison Fox

Cover of Any Man of Mine
Any Man of Mine
by Rachel Gibson

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of True Love and Other Disasters
True Love and Other Disasters
by Rachel Gibson

Cover of It Had to be You
It Had to Be You
by Susan May Warren

Cover of Melting the Ice
Melting the Ice
by Jaci Burton

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of See Jane Score
See Jane Score
by Rachel Gibson

Cover of Fair Play
Fair Play
by Deirdre Martin

Cover of Nothing But Trouble
Nothing but Trouble
by Rachel Gibson

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of The Penalty Box
The Penalty Box
by Deirdre Martin

Cover of Summer Light
Summer Light
by Luanne Rice

Cover of Take a Shot
Taking a Shot
by Jaci Burton

 

By Jenny, Readers' Advisor on June 18, 2015 Categories: Books, Lists, Romance

Staff Pick: Say Anything

Picture of Diane“I don’t want to sell anything, buy anything, or process anything as a career. I don’t want to sell anything bought or processed, or buy anything sold or processed, or process anything sold, bought, or processed, or repair anything sold, bought, or processed,” said John Cusack as Lloyd Dobler in the smart and charming romantic comedy Say Anything.

By Jenny, Readers' Advisor on June 16, 2015 Categories: Movies and TV

Movies and TV: A Separation

Separation DVD coverCountless movies close with a couple coming together, but the exquisite A Separation opens as two people are pulling apart. Nader and Simin cannot agree on their family’s future, especially when staying in Tehran to care for an aging parent means sacrificing a new life for their daughter outside of Iran. When Simin moves out, a caregiver is hired, and the events that quickly follow place everyone in impossible situations. Asghar Farhadi’s riveting film, the first and only Oscar winner from his country, presents life in contemporary Iran through the lens of two struggling families. One of the most internationally honored movies of 2011, A Separation artfully employs one intimate story to expose a tapestry of flawed motivations and decisions that is anything but foreign.

The Library offers access to 57 remarkable winners of Best Foreign Film as honored by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, stretching back to 1948.  Which will you try?

Watching a World Language DVD is a bonus step for the 2015 Adult Summer Reading Program. Sign up for Summer Reading to participate and try something new!

By Cathleen, Readers' Advisor on June 15, 2015 Categories: 2015 Summer Reading, Movies and TV

What is the Mount Prospect Community Reading?

Picture of Response Display

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Displayed around the Library are the reviews, theme songs, and readalikes Adult Summer Reading participants are sharing! See what your fellow community members are reading and suggesting, and make sure you sign up for Summer Reading to add your voice!

Below are a few of the entries so far:

Cover of The Exile Exile by Diana Gabaldon is GREAT because I have read all the books in this series, but this is the only one told from the other main character’s point of view.

Cover of Hardest Peace
My theme song for The Hardest Peace by Kara Tibbetts is “It is Well with My Soul” because through her battle with cancer God was with her and carried her home.

Cover of Murder in Mesopotamia
Murder in Mesopotamia by Agatha Christie is favorable because the narrator of the story was so catty against all the other women. Also, Poirot does the best deconstruction of the crime.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Yes Please
Yes Please by Amy Poehler is FANTASTIC because it’s fun to listen to her observations on working moms.

Cover of Emily and Einstein
Emily and Einstein by Linda Francis Lee is a whimsical read because it has fantasy, romance, and human reflection all wrapped up in a thoughtful bundle.

Cover of Perfect Letter
The Perfect Letter by Chris Harrison is a well-written romance by The Bachelor host because the language is descriptive and the storyline flows. He even has a rose on the bottom of a page in the middle of the book!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Dare to Die
My theme song for Dare to Die by Carolyn Hart is “Better Days” by the Goo Goo Dolls because ten years after the deaths of two friends, everyone is still healing, especially Iris who meets her death trying to make amends for the past.

Cover of Finding Me
Finding Me by Michelle Knight is INSPIRING because the victim was brave and never gave up.

Cover of Vanishing Girls
Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver is thought-provoking because I wonder if you can ever really understand the relationship between sisters.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of The Martian
The Martian by Andy Weir is a big thumbs up because it is very exciting, thrilling, and fun science fiction for the non-science fiction reader.

Cover of The Middle Place
My theme song for The Middle Place by Kelly Corrigan is “The Remedy” by Jason Mraz because it’s a good reflection of the hardships combined with a solid sense of humor that Kelly faced in the book.

Cover of The Nightingale
My readalikes for The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah  are two WWII novels set in france: Sarah’s Key because it similarily goes from present to past and Suite Francaise because it has more of the same feel.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

By Jenny, Readers' Advisor on June 12, 2015 Categories: 2015 Summer Reading, Books, Fantasy & Sci-Fi, Mysteries/Thrillers/Suspense, Nonfiction, Romance

Movies and TV: Avenue Montaigne

Cover of Avenue MontaigneSet in Paris, Avenue Montaigne spins together the stories of four individuals trying to break out of their defined roles in society: a beloved day-time soap opera actress that wants to star in films, a high concert pianist who would rather play in hospitals than the concert hall, an older art collector auctioning off his lifelong collection, and finally Jessica, a young wide-eyed dreamer who acts as the common thread between these artists. Funny and breezy yet grounded in thought, this French film is an uplifting romantic comedy about new beginnings. Interested in more World Language Romantic Comedies? See what else the Library owns!

Watching a World Language DVD is a bonus step for the 2015 Adult Summer Reading Program. Sign up for Summer Reading to participate and try something new!

By Jenny, Readers' Advisor on June 11, 2015 Categories: 2015 Summer Reading, Movies and TV, Romance

Book Discussion Questions: Where’d You Go Bernadette by Maria Semple

Cover of Where'd You Go BernadetteTitle: Where’d You Go Bernadette
Author: Maria Semple
Page Count: 330 pages
Genre: Humorous Fiction
Tone: Offbeat, Exuberant

Summary:
Bernadette Fox is notorious. To her Microsoft-guru husband, she’s a fearlessly opinionated partner; to fellow private-school mothers in Seattle, she’s a disgrace; to design mavens, she’s a revolutionary architect, and to 15-year-old Bee, she is a best friend and, simply, Mom.

Then Bernadette disappears. It began when Bee aced her report card and claimed her promised reward: a family trip to Antarctica. But Bernadette’s intensifying allergy to Seattle—and people in general—has made her so agoraphobic that a virtual assistant in India now runs her most basic errands.

To find her mother, Bee compiles email messages, official documents, secret correspondence—creating a compulsively readable and touching novel about misplaced genius and a mother and daughter’s role in an absurd world.

SPOILER WARNING:
These book discussion questions are highly detailed and will ruin plot points if you have not read the book.

1. How did the epistolary format impact your reading? Did it make it more intimate?

2. Much of the beginning of the book focused on Bernadette’s relationship with Audrey Griffin. What did you think of Audrey? Why do you think she and Bernadette didn’t get along?

3. What did you think of Bernadette and Bea’s relationship?

4. When Bernadette “escaped” from the intervention, she asked Audrey to send all the emails to Bea, and said “I know it’s a lot, but she can handle it. I’d rather ruin her with the truth than ruin her with lies.” What did you think about that?

5. Did Audrey’s character change or did we just get a new perspective?

6. Did your opinion of Bernadette change when you found out she was a successful architect?

7. Paul Jellinak brought up the point that Bernadette only created 2 houses and both were for herself. Do you think she could have had a career in architecture with actual clients?

8. Who’s fault was it that the 20 mile house was destroyed? Did Bernadette have any extenuating circumstances in regards to her actions?

9. Ellie Sito criticized Bernadette for not being tough enough. She would knit as she worked. Do you think woman then or now need to take on male stereotypes to be successful?

10. Why didn’t she fix up her house in Seattle?

11. Did you find any of this novel to be spiritual?

12. In an email to Manjula, Bernadette was discussing how much she disliked Canadians because of how everybody was equal. She said, “Some people are extraordinary and should be treated as such”. What do you think of this statement?

13. Why do you think Bernadette didn’t discuss her feelings of failure with her husband? Why did she write that soul-bearing letter to Paul Jellinac instead?

14. What did you think of Paul’s response: “Are you done?  You can’t honestly believe any of this nonsense.  People like you must create.  If you don’t create, Bernadette, you will become a menace to society.”

15. What did you think of Elgin Branch’s character? Was there enough meat to him?

16. What were your thoughts on the TED talk?

17. Do you think Elgie loves Bernadette now? Did he love her in the past?

18. Elgie was furious with Bernadette for denuding the hillside and causing the cave-in that destroyed the Griffens house. Why was he so furious? Was he right to be that mad?

19. Why was Elgie so bent on getting Bernadette committed?

20. During the intervention, Elgin let Soo-Lin stay. What are your thoughts on that? Would you have done the same?

21. Why did Dr. Kurtz resign after the intervention?

22. What does the future hold for Bernadette and Elgie’s marriage?

23. How do you think Bernadette will react to Soo-Lin’s pregnancy ?

24. Do you think that there are any true victims in the novel, if so who and why?

25. What did you think of VAV (victims against victimhood)?

26. Do you identify with any of the characters?

Other Resources:

Lit Lovers’ Reading Guide
Book Club Companion Discussion Questions
Video Interview with Maria Semple
Q and A with Maria Semple
Semple’s exploration of Microsoft

If you like Where’d You Go Bernadette, you might like…

Cover of The Financial Lives of the Poets Cover of Man at the Helm Cover of The Family Fang

 

 

 

 

The Financial Lives of the Poets by Jess Walter
Man at the Helm by Nina Stibbe
The Family Fang by Kevin Wilson

Want help with your book discussion group? Check out tips, advice, and all the ways the Library can help support your group!

By Jenny, Readers' Advisor on June 10, 2015 Categories: Book Discussion Questions, Books, Humor

Staff Pick: Murder at the Brightwell by Ashley Weaver

Picture of MartaCrisp characters, witty dialogue, engaging mystery, and an excellent love triangle create a strong debut in Murder at the Brightwell by Ashley Weaver. When Amory Ames travels to a seaside resort in order to help an old beau, she never intended to reignite her husband’s interest, much less get involved in a murder investigation.

By Jenny, Readers' Advisor on June 9, 2015 Categories: Books, Mysteries/Thrillers/Suspense, Picks by Marta, Staff Picks

Books of the 2015 Tony Award Winners

Last night the American Theatre Wing handed out the 69th annual Tony Awards, and the biggest prizes went to gorgeous new interpretations of three inspiring works:

Best Musical: Fun Home
Fun Home book cover

Rummaging through a box of her father’s stuff, the memories of Alison’s uniquely dysfunctional family—her mother, brothers, and her volatile, brilliant, enigmatic father—connect with her in surprising, powerful and revealing new ways. Ingeniously adapted from Alison Bechdel’s acclaimed graphic memoir, Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic is a refreshingly honest coming-of-age story about seeing your parents through grown-up eyes.

 

Best Play: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time
Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time book cover

In Mark Haddon’s bestselling novel The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time, Christopher, 15 years old, has an extraordinary brain – exceptional at math while ill-equipped to interpret everyday life. When he falls under suspicion of killing Mrs. Shears’ dog Wellington, he records each fact about the event in the book he is writing to solve the mystery of the murder. However, his detective work, forbidden by his father, takes him on a frightening journey that upturns his world.

 

Best Revival of a Musical: The King and I
Anna and the King book cover

The classic Rodgers & Hammerstein show is based on the book Anna and the King of Siam. Weaving meticulously researched facts with beautifully imagined scenes, author Margaret Landon recreates the history of Anna Leonowens, a proper Englishwoman invited in the 1860s by King Mongkut of Siam to help him communicate with foreign governments and be the tutor to his children and favored concubines.

 

By Cathleen, Readers' Advisor on June 8, 2015 Categories: Awards, Books, Music, Nonfiction

New in Fantasy and Sci-Fi: Fairytales, Paranormal, Swords, and Beyond

Take a look at some of the newest fantasy and science fiction titles that have arrived at the Library! For these and other fresh reads, stop by the second floor Fiction/AV/Teen desk or email us at readers@mppl.org to talk to a Readers’ Advisor about new and old titles tailored to your taste.

Summer Reading has begun! Make sure to sign up and start logging what you’re reading!

Fairytales and Folklore

Cover of The GracekeepersThe Gracekeepers
by Kirsty Logan

Cover of UprootedUprooted
by Naomi Novik

Cover of From a High TowerFrom a High Tower
by Mercedes Lackey

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Imagining the Future

Cover of ArchangelArchangel
by Marguerite Reed

Cover of The AffinitiesThe Affinities
by Robert Charles Wilson

Cover of The Water KnifeThe Water Knife
by Paolo Bacigalupi

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Swords and Sorcery

Cover of The Invasion of the TearlingThe Invasion of the Tearling
by Erika Johansen

Cover of The Darkling ChildThe Darkling Child
by Terry Brooks

Cover of When the Heavens FallWhen the Heavens Fall
by Marc Turner

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Paranormal and Urban Fantasy

Cover of Shards of HopeShards of Hope
by Nailini Singh

Cover of Dead IceDead Ice
by Laurell K. Hamilton

Cover of Dreams of Shreds and TattersDreams of Shreds and Tatters
by Amanda Downum

 

 

By Jenny, Readers' Advisor on June 5, 2015 Categories: Books, Fantasy & Sci-Fi, New Arrivals