Lists and Suggestions for Teens

List: Manga: Readalikes for Fruits Basket

Sakisaka, Io, author, illustrator.

"Fast friends Yuna and Akari are complete opposites--Yuna is an idealist, while Akari is a rea...

Andō, Natsumi.

Najika left the rural orphanage she knows as home to attend Seika Academy in Tokyo in the hopes of ...

Takaya, Natsuki, 1973- author, illustrator.

"Sawa Mitoma, a nervous, skittish girl who prefers minimal human interaction, has just started...

Ayuko (Comic book artist)

Fairy doctor Lydia Carlton is rescued from kidnappers by Edgar Ashenbert, a descendent of the human...

Shirahama, Kamome, author, artist.

A beautifully-illustrated story about a girl who longs for magic in her life and learns that, on th...

Tōyama, Ema, 1981-

"Invisible to her classmates, Hikage Sumino is an eighth grader with no self-esteem. Her only ...

Nakahara, Aya.

Risa Koizumi is the tallest girl in class, and the last thing she wants is the humiliation of standi...

Minami, Maki, author, illustrator.

Hime Kino's dream is to one day do voice acting like her hero Sakura Aoyama from the Lovely Bl...

Oda, Tomohito, 1991- author, illustrator.

"Socially anxious high school student Shoko Komi would love to make friends, but her shyness i...

Nakamura, Yoshiki.

Kyoko followed her true love, Sho, to Tokyo and supported him while he made it big as an idol. Now,...