Whats New Category: Funny

Love the Movie!? Read the Book!!

…or did you like the book? Then watch the movie!

Me and EarlMe-And-Earl-movie-Poster

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews
YA ANDREWS, J.
Seventeen-year-old Greg has managed to become part of every social group at his Pittsburgh high school without having any friends, but his life changes when his mother forces him to befriend Rachel, a girl he once knew in Hebrew school who has leukemia.

PrincessDiariesPrincessDiariesMovie

The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot
YA CABOT, M.
Fourteen-year-old Mia, who is trying to lead a normal life as a teenage girl in New York City, is shocked to learn that her father is the Prince of Genovia, a small European principality, and that she is a princess and the heir to the throne.

IKnowWhatYouDidI know what you did movie

I Know What You Did Last Summer by Lois Duncan
YA DUNCAN, L.
Four teenagers who have desperately tried to conceal their responsibility for a hit-and-run accident are pursued by a mystery figure seeking revenge.

Paper TownsPaper Towns Movie

Paper Towns by John Green
YA GREEN, J.
One month before graduating from his Central Florida high school, Quentin “Q” Jacobsen basks in the predictable boringness of his life until the beautiful and exciting Margo Roth Spiegelman, Q’s neighbor and classmate, takes him on a midnight adventure and then mysteriously disappears.

sisterhoodpantsSisterhoodPantsMovie

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares
YA BRASHARES, A.
During their first summer apart, four teenage girls, best friends since earliest childhood, stay in touch through a shared pair of secondhand jeans that magically adapts to each of their figures and affects their attitudes to their different summer experiences.

PerksMovie

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
YA CHBOSKY, S.
A coming of age novel about Charlie, a freshman in high school who is a wallflower, shy and introspective, and very intelligent. He deals with the usual teen problems, but also with the suicide of his best friend.

Red Riding HoodRedRidingHoodMovie

Red Riding Hood by Sarah Blakely-Cartwright
YA CARTWRIGHT, S.
When Valerie learns that her sister has been killed by the legendary creature, she finds herself at the center of a dark mystery, one that has plagued her village for generations. It is revealed that the werewolf lives among them, and everyone in the village immediately becomes a suspect. As the men in the village hunt for the beast, Valerie turns to her grandmother for help. She gives Valerie a handmade red riding cloak, and guides her through the web of lies and deception that has held her town together for so long. Will Valerie discover the werewolf’s identity before the town is ripped apart?

if i stay book coverIfIStaymovie

If I Stay by Gayle Forman
YA FORMAN, G.
While in a coma following an automobile accident that killed her parents and younger brother, seventeen-year-old Mia, a gifted cellist, weighs whether to live with her grief or join her family in death.

alex rider Stormbreaker book coverStormbreakerMovie

Stormbreaker by Anthony Horowitz
YA HOROWITZ, A.
After the death of the uncle who had been his guardian, fourteen-year-old Alex Rider is coerced to continue his uncle’s dangerous work for Britain’s intelligence agency, MI6.

duffduffmovie

The D.U.F.F. by Kody Keplinger
YA KEPLINGER, K.
Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper starts sleeping with Wesley Rush, a notorious womanizer who disgusts her, in order to distract her from her personal problems, and to her surprise, the two of them find they have a lot in common and are able to help each other find more productive ways to deal with their difficulties.

I am Number Four book coverI_Am_Number_Four_Movie

I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore
YA SF LORE, P.
In rural Ohio, friendships and a beautiful girl prove distracting to a fifteen-year-old who has hidden on Earth for ten years waiting to develop the Legacies, or powers, he will need to rejoin the other six surviving Garde members and fight the Mogadorians who destroyed their planet, Lorien.

warmbodiesWarm_Bodies_Theatrical_Poster

Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion
YA MARION, I.
R is having a no-life crisis–he is a zombie. He has no memories, no identity, and no pulse, but he is a little different from his fellow Dead. He may occasionally eat people, but he’d rather be riding abandoned airport escalators, listening to Sinatra in the cozy 747 he calls home, or collecting souvenirs from the ruins of civilization. And then he meets a girl. First as his captive, then his reluctant house guest, Julie is a blast of living color in R’s gray landscape, and something inside him begins to bloom. He doesn’t want to eat this girl–although she looks delicious–he wants to protect her. But their unlikely bond will cause ripples they can’t imagine, and their hopeless world won’t change without a fight.

Vampire Academy book covervampire academy movie

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead
YA MEAD, R.
Two years after a horrible incident made them run away, vampire princess Lissa and her guardian-in-training Rose are found and returned to St. Vladimir’s Academy, where one focuses on mastering magic, the other on physical training, while both try to avoid the perils of gossip, cliques, gruesome pranks, and sinister plots.

Twilight book coverTwilightMoviePoster

Twilight by Stephenie Meyer
YA MEYER, S.
When seventeen-year-old Bella leaves Phoenix to live with her father in Forks, Washington, she meets an exquisitely handsome boy at school for whom she feels an overwhelming attraction and who she comes to realize is not wholly human.

Angus, Thongs, and full-frontal snogging book coverAngusThongsMovie

Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging by Louise Rennison
YA RENNISON, L.
Presents the humorous journal of a year in the life of a fourteen-year-old British girl who tries to reduce the size of her nose, stop her mad cat from terrorizing the neighborhood animals, and win the love of handsome hunk Robbie.

SpectacularNowSpectacularNowMovie

The Spectacular Now by Tim Tharp
YA THARP, T.
In the last months of high school, charismatic eighteen-year-old Sutter Keely lives in the present, staying drunk or high most of the time, but that could change when starts working to boost the self-confidence of a classmate, Aimee.

SoulSurfersoul-surfer-dvd

Soul Surfer by Bethany Hamilton
YA 797.3209 HAM
Soul Surfer is a moving account of Bethany’s life as a young surfer, her recovery in the wake of the shark attack, the adjustments she’s made to her unique surfing style, her unprecedented bid for a top showing in the World Surfing Championships, and, most fundamentally, her belief in God. It is a story of girl power and spiritual grit that shows that the body is no more essential to surfing-perhaps even less so-than the soul. The amazing story of the thirteen-year-old surfer girl who lost her arm in a shark attack but never lost her faith — and of her triumphant return to competitive surfing.

Aliens and UFO’s!: X-Files read-a-likes for Teens

the 5th Wave book cover

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey
YA YANCEY, R.
Cassie Sullivan, the survivor of an alien invasion, must rescue her young brother from the enemy with help from a boy who may be one of them.

Icons

Icons by Margaret Stohl
YA SF STOHL, M.
After an alien force known as the Icon colonizes Earth, decimating humanity, four surviving teenagers must piece together the mysteries of their pasts–in order to save the future.

Scan

Scan by Walter Jury and S. E. Fine
YA SF JURY, W.
Tate Archer outruns armed government officials as he tries to keep his now dead father’s strange invention out of the wrong hands, alien hands.

FirstDayEarth

First Day on Earth by Cecil Castelucci
YA SF CASTELUCCI, C.
Believing he was abducted by aliens several years earlier during a mysterious three-day disappearance he cannot remember, pensive misfit Mal meets Hooper at an abductee support group and learns otherworldly secrets that reveal profound possibilities for his future.

Rules

The Rules by Stacey Kade
YA KADE, S.
At sixteen, Ariane Tucker has been careful to elude those seeking her since her escape from a genetics lab ten years earlier, but the attention of classmate Zane, both frightening and intoxicating, tempts her to risk violating at least one of her adoptive father’s five simple rules.

I am Number Four book cover

I am Number Four by Pictacus Lore
YA SF LORE, P.
In rural Ohio, friendships and a beautiful girl prove distracting to a fifteen-year-old who has hidden on Earth for ten years waiting to develop the Legacies, or powers, he will need to rejoin the other six surviving Garde members and fight the Mogadorians who destroyed their planet, Lorien.

Hitchhikers

Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
YA SF ADAMS, D.
Chronicles the off-beat and occasionally extraterrestrial journeys, notions, and acquaintances of galactic traveler Arthur Dent.

Stuck on Earth

Stuck on Earth by David Klass
YA SF KLASS, D.
On a secret mission to evaluate whether the human race should be annihilated, a space alien inhabits the body of a bullied fourteen-year-old boy.

Obsidian

Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout
YA ARMENTROUT, J.
When seventeen-year-old Katy moves to West Virginia she expects to be bored, until she meets her neighbor who just happens to be an alien.

Invasion

Invasion by Jon S. Lewis
YA LEWIS, J.
After his parents are killed in an automobile accident, sixteen-year-old Colt McAllister moves to Arizona where he is recruited by a secret organization to join the battle against malevolent, supernatural creatures from another world.

LivingHell

Living Hell by Catherine Jinks
YA SF JINKS, C.
Chronicles the transformation of a spaceship into a living organism, as seventeen-year-old Cheney leads the hundreds of inhabitants in a fight for survival while machines turn on them, treating all humans as parasites.

Ender's Game

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
YA SF CARD, O.
A veteran of years of simulated war games, Ender believes he is engaged in one more computer war game when in truth he is commanding the last fleet of Earth against an alien race seeking the complete destruction of Earth.

DangerousDaysDanielX

The Dangerous Days of Daniel X by James Patterson
YA SF PATTERSON, J.
Fifteen-year-old Daniel has followed in his parents’ footsteps as the Alien Hunter, exterminating beings on The List of Alien Outlaws on Terra Firma, but when he faces his first of the top ten outlaws, the very existence of Earth and another planet are at stake.

TinStar

Tin Star by Cecil Castelucci
YA SF CASTELUCCI, C.
Beaten and left for dead, fourteen-year-old Tula Bane finds herself abandoned on a space station called Yertina Feray after traveling with the colonist group, Children of the Earth.

SpaceCowboy

Space Cowboy by Justin Stanchfield
YA SF STANCHFIELD, J.
Teenage cowboy Travis McClure is desperate for adventure. He’s bored with life on the remote planet of Aletha Three where he herds cattle all day. But everything changes when he comes face-to-face with a creature that should only exist in nightmares.

Host

The Host by Stephenie Meyer
YA MEYER, S.
A member of a species that takes over the minds of human bodies, Wanderer is unable to disregard her host’s love for a man in hiding, a situation that forces both possessor and host to become unwilling allies.

LifeMars

Life on Mars: tales from the new frontier edited by Jonathan Strahan
YA SF LIFE
Mars! The Red Planet! For generations, people have wondered what it would be like to travel to and live there. That curiosity has inspired some of the most durable science fiction, including Ray Bradbury’s The Martian Chronicles and the work of Isaac Asimov. Now the award-winning anthologist Jonathan Strahan has brought together thirteen original stories to explore the possibilities. After reading Life on Mars , readers will never look at the fourth planet from the sun the same way again.

PromGoers

The Prom Goer’s Interstellar Excursion by Chris McCoy
YA SF MCCOY, C.
Minutes after eighteen-year-old Bennett Bardo of Gordo, New Mexico, asks Sophie Gilkey, his dream girl, to prom and she says yes, she is abducted by aliens and Bennett catches a ride across the galaxy with a band of misfit musicians to find her.

8 Teen Novels for Those Who Love Math

NearlyGone

Nearly Gone by Elle Cosimano
YA MY COSIMANO, E.
A math-whiz from a trailer park discovers she’s the only student capable of unraveling complex clues left by a serial killer who’s systematically getting rid of her classmates.

An Abundance of Katherines book cover

An Abundance of Katherines by John Green
YA GREEN, J.
Disconsolate after being dumped for the nineteenth time by yet another girl named Katherine, Colin meets a non-Katherine named Lindsey who helps him figure out a mathematical theorem to determine the length of romantic relationships.

ForeverChanges

Forever Changes by Brendan Halpin
YA HALPIN, B.
Gifted in math and sure to be accepted at MIT if she’d only submit her application, Brianna knows her life expectancy is shortened because of cystic fibrosis but receives encouragement from her calculus teacher, who has his own health problems.

evil genius book cover

Evil Genius by Catherine Jinks
YA SF JINKS, C.
Computer genius Cadel doesn’t realize he’s being manipulated when his therapist warns him not to get caught when he puts his talent for destruction to use at the Axis Institute for World Domination.

HigherGeometry

A Higher Geometry by Sharelle Byars Moranville
YA MORANVILLE, S.
Not given credit by other students or her parents for her mathematical ability, Anna wavers about attending college until she dates Mike, who encourages her to follow her aptitude and zeal for math.

LastUniverse

The Last Universe by William Sleator
YA SLEATOR, W.
Susan and her wheelchair-bound brother Gary explore a garden designed by a physicist, and when they realize the maker used quantum physics for the layout, they wonder if there’s an alternate world where Gary could be well.

GoodEnough

Good Enough by Paula Yoo
YA YOO, P.
Although Patti tries to be a PKD, a Perfect Korean Daughter, and keeps her grades up to attend an Ivy League school, it’s really hard when her father loves math, her mother cooks Korean food with Spam, and Patti loves music.

InRealLife

In real life by Lawrence Tabak
YA TABAK, L.
Fifteen-year-old math prodigy Seth Gordon hopes to compete professionally playing Starfare, the world’s most popular computer game, but when he gets the chance to move to Korea and train full-time, he may not be ready for the culture shock and leaving his possible girlfriend, Hannah.

17 Teen Novels You Should Read If You Love Football!

Stupid Fast book cover

Stupid Fast by Geoff Herbach
YA HERBACH, G.
Just before his sixteenth birthday, Felton Reinstein has a sudden growth spurt that turns him from a small, jumpy, picked-on boy with the nickname of “Squirrel Nut” to a powerful athlete, leading to new friends, his first love, and the courage to confront his family’s past and current problems.

Food, Girls, And Other things I can't have book cover

Food, Girls, and Other Things I Can’t Have by Allen Zadoff
YA ZADOFF, A.
Fifteen-year-old Andrew Zansky, the second fattest student at his high school, joins the varsity football team to get the attention of a new girl on whom he has a crush.

roughnecks

Roughnecks by Thomas Cochran
YA COCHRAN, T.
Travis Cody prepares for the final game of his high school football career, a rematch with his school’s chief rival.

Crackback

Crackback by John Coy
YA COY, J.
Miles barely recalls when football was fun after being sidelined by a new coach, constantly criticized by his father, and pressured by his best friend to take performance-enhancing drugs.

PaybackTime

Payback Time by Carl Deuker
YA DEUKER, C.
Overweight, somewhat timid Mitch reluctantly agrees to be the sports reporter for the Lincoln High newspaper because he is determined to be a writer, but he senses a real story in Angel, a talented football player who refuses to stand out on the field–or to discuss his past.

CoverUp

Cover-Up by John Feinstein
YA MY FEINSTEIN, J.
Fledgling fourteen-year-old sports reporters Susan Carol and Stevie investigate suspicious activities at the Super Bowl after Stevie gets fired from his co-anchor job on a ground-breaking teen sports show.

OutofHisLeague

Out of His League by Pat Flynn
YA FLYNN, P.
In a small West Texas town, an Australian exchange student becomes a star on the football field and soon finds himself torn between the lure of America and the ties that bind him to his home in Australia.

Catching Jordan book cover

Catching Jordan by Miranda Kenneally
YA KENNEALLY, M.
Jordan Woods, captain and quarterback of her high school football team, seeks an athletic college scholarship, but when Ty Green joins the team and takes her position, her scholarship chances and her camaraderie with the team are threatened.

Pop

Pop by Gordon Korman
YA KORMAN, G.
Lonely after a midsummer move to a new town, sixteen-year-old high-school quarterback Marcus Jordan becomes friends with a retired professional linebacker who is great at training him, but whose childish behavior keeps Marcus in hot water.

Dairy Queen by Catherine Gilbert Murdock
YA MURDOCK, C.
After spending her summer running the family farm and training the quarterback for her school’s rival football team, sixteen-year-old D.J. decides to go out for the sport herself, not anticipating the reactions of those around her.

Troy High book cover

Troy High by Shana Norris
YA NORRIS, S.
Best friends Cassie and Greg get caught in the middle of a decades-old football rivalry between their high school teams, the Spartans and the Trojans, in this novel loosely based on Homer’s classic tale, The Iliad.

Always A Catch book cover

Always a Catch by Peter Richmond
YA RICHMOND, P.
After he joins the new football team, Jack, a new junior and a skilled piano player at a preparatory boarding school, must decide how far he is willing to go to fit in with his new teammates, and how much he is willing to compromise himself to play the kind of music the school expects him to.

Call Me By My Name book cover

Call Me by My Name by John Ed Bradley
YA BRADLEY, J.
Growing up in Louisiana in the late 1960s, where segregation and prejudice still thrive, two high school football players, one white, one black, become friends, but some changes are too difficult to accept.

the League book cover

The League by Thatcher Heldring
YA HELDRING, T.
Fourteen-year-old Wyatt, hoping to impress a girl and ward off a bully, decides to join his older brother’s summer football league, “The League of Pain,” against the advice of his parents, who think golf is the right sport for him.

HitCount

Hit Count by by Chris Lynch
YA LYNCH, C
Arlo Brodie loves being at the heart of the action on the football field, and while his dad cheers him on, his mother quotes head injury statistics and refuses to watch, but Arlo’s winning plays, the cheering crowds, and the adrenaline rush are enough to convince him that everything is OK–in spite of the pain, the pounding, the dizziness, and the confusion.

Muckers book cover

Muckers by Sandra Neil Wallace
YA WALLACE, S.
Felix O’Sullivan, standing in the shadow of his dead brother, an angry, distant father, and racial tension, must lead the last-ever Muckers high school football team to the state championship before a mine closing shuts down his entire town.

The Walk On book cover

The Walk On by John Feinstein
YA FEINSTEIN, J.
After moving to a new town his freshman year in high school, Alex Myers is happy to win a spot on the varsity team as a quarterback but must deal with idea of not playing for two years since the first-string quarterback is not only a local hero, he is also the son of the corrupt head coach.