News from Youth Services Category: Funny

Follow that Frog!

by Philip C. Stead

follow that frog book cover
E STEAD, P.

Follow That Frog! is an adventurous story about little Sadie’s elderly Aunt Josephine, who recounts the days when she was in the jungles of Peru on a scientific expedition. Well, while Aunt Josephine was busy cataloging amphibians, she came across a gigantic frog, the biggest frog she ever did see. That huge beast jumped right out from the deep forest, and proceeded to eat up her friend. And then, he hopped away! Oh goodness. 

Check this book out to see some of Aunt Josephine’s wild adventures, and find out if she could ever find that silly green frog again!

Chunky

by Yehudi Mercado

chunky book cover

J GRAPH MERCADO, Y.

Hudi’s doctor is concerned about his health, so his parents think he should try sports. This is not Hudi’s first choice and when he thinks about what he should try, he meets Chunky, his imaginary mascot. Chunky cheers Hudi’s choices when he tries baseball, soccer, and swimming, all with hilarious results. Hudi is the only Mexican and Jewish kid in his neighborhood, and he also needs to practice his prayer for his sister’s Bat Mitzvah. When Hudi is unsure what to do, he finds the humor in the situation and goes back to his dream of being on Saturday Night Live. I identify with Hudi in not being sports-minded and wanting to entertain people instead. 

Where are you Leopold? The Invisibility Game

Where are you Leopold? The Invisibility Game by Michel-Yves Scmitt and Vincent Caut 

where are you leopold - the invisibility game book cover

Leopold discovers he has the power to become invisible. He and his older sister Celine have various funny adventures as he uses his power in different places (home, school, just walking around). Leo’s nemesis is Alice, whose dog Scanner can find Leo even when he is invisible. Will Alice reveal his secret? Will Leo be discovered by someone else? Read to find out! First in a series. 

Perfect for fans of Dogman and other goofy graphic novels!

Also available on Hoopla.

What is Chasing Duck?

What Is Chasing Duck? (The Giggle Gang, #1) by Jan Thomas book cover

What is Chasing Duck? by Jan Thomas

A delightful, silly, cumulative story. Duck is being chased by something and runs away as fast as he can. Sheep and Donkey are scared too so they run with Duck. What creature could possibly be chasing them and why? Read the story to find out! Perfect for fans of Elephant and Piggie and other funny early readers.

What is Chasing Duck? is on the 2021 Monarch book list, an annual list of books for K-3 students created by Illinois librarians. Students all over Illinois read books from this list during the year and get to vote on their favorites. We have a display with all the 2021 Monarch books in the Youth Services Department, come check it out and read some excellent books!

Review by Anne W.

Next in Series and Sequels December 2020

If you have a favorite author or series, there are a lot of new books out for you to enjoy! If you’d like to place any of these items on hold, please do, and make sure to schedule a Parking Lot Pickup appointment to come and get your next read!

(Oh, and if you love books in series, you need to know about KDL What’s Next–it will give you all the books in every series you like to read, in order! It’s very useful!)

kids books display

If you’re a Dav Pilkey fan, you’ll definitely want to read the latest book in the series, Fetch-22.

Jerry Craft’s book New Kid won the 2020 Newbery award, and his new book, Class Act, is a companion title that features Jordan’s friend Drew as the main character.

And of course, if you love the Babysitter’s Club graphic novels, then you’ll definitely want to read Baby Sitters Little Sister, and the latest book is Karen’s Roller Skates.

kids books display

Fly on the Wall is the newest book from the author of Pie in the Sky, so if you love illustrated, funny novels, you’ll enjoy both of these titles!

Chris Grabenstein has another hilarious entry in the Mr. Lemencello’s series called Mr. Lemencello and the Titanium Ticket.

And a new Stick Dog adventure is always a reason to celebrate.

kids books display

The Princess in Black and the Giant Problem is the latest book in this perfect beginning chapter book series for any kid who loves equal parts humor and adventure.

Goodbye, Mr. Terupt is the fourth book about Mr. Terupt and a group of kids who bonded in fifth grade. Now in eighth grade, this emotional book explores friendship and growing up with warmth and humor.

Three Keys by Kelly Yang is a sequel to Front Desk and continues the story of Mia Tang and her family as they run a motel and try to fit in and make friends in their new community.

kids books display

Unicorn Bowling is the latest book in the Phoebe and her Unicorn series. If you love unicorns, friendship, or used to read Calvin and Hobbes, you need to start reading this series.

Logan Likes Mary Anne! is the latest graphic novel adaptation of the super popular Babysitters Club series.

If you enjoyed Cardboard Kingdom by Chad Sell, you enjoy his newest title, Doodleville, which also features a group of creative kids who end up making art that’s more than they bargained for.

So if you’re excited for a sequel, next in series, or a new book by a favorite author, go here and place a hold today!