Staff Picks 4 Kids Category: Funny

What is Chasing Duck?

What Is Chasing Duck? (The Giggle Gang, #1) by Jan Thomas book cover

What is Chasing Duck? by Jan Thomas

A delightful, silly, cumulative story. Duck is being chased by something and runs away as fast as he can. Sheep and Donkey are scared too so they run with Duck. What creature could possibly be chasing them and why? Read the story to find out! Perfect for fans of Elephant and Piggie and other funny early readers.

What is Chasing Duck? is on the 2021 Monarch book list, an annual list of books for K-3 students created by Illinois librarians. Students all over Illinois read books from this list during the year and get to vote on their favorites. We have a display with all the 2021 Monarch books in the Youth Services Department, come check it out and read some excellent books!

Review by Anne W.

Next in Series and Sequels December 2020

If you have a favorite author or series, there are a lot of new books out for you to enjoy! If you’d like to place any of these items on hold, please do, and make sure to schedule a Parking Lot Pickup appointment to come and get your next read!

(Oh, and if you love books in series, you need to know about KDL What’s Next–it will give you all the books in every series you like to read, in order! It’s very useful!)

kids books display

If you’re a Dav Pilkey fan, you’ll definitely want to read the latest book in the series, Fetch-22.

Jerry Craft’s book New Kid won the 2020 Newbery award, and his new book, Class Act, is a companion title that features Jordan’s friend Drew as the main character.

And of course, if you love the Babysitter’s Club graphic novels, then you’ll definitely want to read Baby Sitters Little Sister, and the latest book is Karen’s Roller Skates.

kids books display

Fly on the Wall is the newest book from the author of Pie in the Sky, so if you love illustrated, funny novels, you’ll enjoy both of these titles!

Chris Grabenstein has another hilarious entry in the Mr. Lemencello’s series called Mr. Lemencello and the Titanium Ticket.

And a new Stick Dog adventure is always a reason to celebrate.

kids books display

The Princess in Black and the Giant Problem is the latest book in this perfect beginning chapter book series for any kid who loves equal parts humor and adventure.

Goodbye, Mr. Terupt is the fourth book about Mr. Terupt and a group of kids who bonded in fifth grade. Now in eighth grade, this emotional book explores friendship and growing up with warmth and humor.

Three Keys by Kelly Yang is a sequel to Front Desk and continues the story of Mia Tang and her family as they run a motel and try to fit in and make friends in their new community.

kids books display

Unicorn Bowling is the latest book in the Phoebe and her Unicorn series. If you love unicorns, friendship, or used to read Calvin and Hobbes, you need to start reading this series.

Logan Likes Mary Anne! is the latest graphic novel adaptation of the super popular Babysitters Club series.

If you enjoyed Cardboard Kingdom by Chad Sell, you enjoy his newest title, Doodleville, which also features a group of creative kids who end up making art that’s more than they bargained for.

So if you’re excited for a sequel, next in series, or a new book by a favorite author, go here and place a hold today!

Staff Picks Best Books of 2020

The Youth Services staff at MPPL are happy to announce our picks for best books for kids published in 2020! Whether you need some great choices to meet your reading goal for the year, or want to buy some great books as gifts for the kids in your life, our selections have you covered! Check them out on our website.

Staff Picks Best Books of 2020

And for more great books you might have missed, here are some other end of year lists you will want to check out!

School Library Journal

Kirkus: Middle Grade

Kirkus: Picture books

Publishers Weekly Best Children’s and YA

Time Magazine: 10 Best Children’s and YA books of 2020

E-book – The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt

The-Day-The-Crayons-Quit-Cover-Image

This book is adorable.  Duncan goes to get his crayons out at school one day and finds a stack of letters.  Each one is written by a different color crayon. Each has his reasons for needing a break.  Red feels over used because of holidays like Christmas and Valentine’s Day. Gray doesn’t like to have to be used for such big animals like elephants and hippos. Black doesn’t like being use for outlining things while the other colors are used to fill in. Of course there is drama as well. Yellow and Orange crayons are arguing about who should be the color of the sun and are no longer speaking to each other. I love how Duncan makes all the crayons happy in the end.

The Day the Crayons Quit and other books in the series are available from Libby/Overdrive. 

E-audio and E-book-Clementine by Sarah Pennypacker

clementine book cover

Move over, Ramona, Junie B. Jones, and Gooney Bird Green! Clementine is here! Clementine, by Sarah Pennypacker, brings us into this 8 year old’s life, where she joins her father in fighting off pigeons, and “fixes” her friend’s hair by first cutting most of it off, and then coloring it using permanent marker (including little “squigglies” on her forehead for bangs). This is the first book of a series, so you’ll get to spend lots of time laughing and learning with Clementine.

Book reviewed by Loreen  S., Youth Services Assistant

The first book, Clementine, is available in e-audio from Overdrive/Libby, and book six, Clementine and the Spring Trip, is available as an e-book from Overdrive/Libby.