Lists and Suggestions for Kids

List: Novels for fans of Smile, Sisters, or Drama

Holm, Jennifer L.

The first year of middle school can be exciting, or scary, just ask Ginny....

Greenwald, Lisa.

Dina is used to being popular but starting a new school in eighth grade is difficult, especially whe...

Deriso, Christine Hurley, 1961-

Trying to fit in despite having a loud, embarrassing best friend, eleven-year-old Talia becomes a co...

Federle, Tim.

An eighth-grader who dreams of performing in a Broadway musical concocts a plan to run away to New Y...

Holm, Jennifer L., author.

Ellie's scientist grandfather has discovered a way to reverse aging, and consequently has turne...

Lord, Cynthia, author.

Lucy, with her mother and her photographer father, has just moved to a small rural community in New ...

Keating, Jess, author.

When twelve-year-old Ana's zoologist parents move the whole family into the zoo, the Sneers--th...

Martin, Ann M., 1955-

Nine-year-old Pearl and her popular, thirteen-year-old sister, Lexie, do not get along very well, bu...

Korman, Gordon.

Due to an administrative mix-up, troublemaker Donovan Curtis is sent to the Academy of Scholastic Di...

Kelly, Erin Entrada, author.

Bullied at school, eighth-grader Apple, a Filipino American who loves the music of the Beatles, deci...

Shevah, Emma, author.

Amber's Japanese father left when she was little, and her sister Bella was just a baby, so now ...

Hunt, Lynda Mullaly, author.

"Ally's greatest fear is that everyone will find out she is as dumb as they think she is b...

Stead, Rebecca, author.

As Bridge makes her way through seventh grade on Manhattan's Upper West Side with her best frie...

Bell, Cathleen Davitt.

Thirteen-year-old Genevieve's summer at a frontier family history camp in Laramie, Wyoming, wit...

Ignatow, Amy.

Two best friends embark on a project to study the behavior and taste of the popular girls at their e...