New for Book Clubs: Washington Black, The Bookish Life of Nina Hill, and The House of Broken Angels

We are excited to introduce a wealth of new titles to the 2020 Book Discussion collection. These are hand-picked reads ideal for personal enjoyment or for group conversation. Watch for new titles to be announced each week!

Washington BlackWashington Black book cover by Esi Edugyan

imaginative, lyrical, thought-provoking, dramatic
for fans of Colson Whitehead, Toni Morrison, and Ta-Nehisi Coates

Unexpectedly chosen to be a family manservant, an 11-year-old Barbados sugar-plantation slave is initiated into a world of technology and dignity before a devastating betrayal propels him throughout the world in search of his true self.

New York Times Best Books of the Year
Booker Prize shortlist
TIME Magazine’s Best Books of the Year

 

Bookish Life of Nina Hill book coverThe Bookish Life of Nina Hill by Abbi Waxman

snarky, sympathetic, heartwarming, quirky
for fans of Gabrielle Zevin, Jojo Moyes, and Helen Fielding

A confirmed introvert finds her simple life upended when the father she never knew passes away, revealing an enormous extended family that overwhelms her budding relationship with a fellow trivia buff.

Goodreads Choice nominee for Best Fiction

 

 

House of Broken Angels book coverThe House of Broken Angels by Luis Alberto Urrea

exuberant, bittersweet, relatable, moving
for fans of Sandra Cisneros, Tommy Orange, and Celeste Ng

Across one bittersweet weekend in their San Diego neighborhood, revelers mingle among the palm trees and cacti, celebrating the lives of family patriarch Miguel “Big Angel” De La Cruz and his mother, and recounting the many tales that have passed into family lore.

National Book Critics Circle Award finalist
ALA Notable Books for Adults
Chicago Public Library Best of the Best