New for Book Clubs: Pachinko, The Great Alone, and The Death of Mrs. Westaway

Books that transport to a thrilling environment are excellent sparks for discussion, and below are three recent additions to the Book Discussion collection, each crafted with an immersive sense of place. These are hand-picked reads ideal for personal enrichment or for group conversation. Check out earlier announcements, and watch for even more additions each week!

Pachinko book coverPachinko by Min Jin Lee

sweeping, emotional, family saga
for fans of Isabel Allende, Pearl S. Buck, and Khaled Hosseini

In early 1900s Korea, prized daughter Sunja finds herself pregnant and alone, bringing shame on her family until a young tubercular minister offers to marry her and move with her to Japan, in the saga of one family bound together as their faith and identity are called into question.

National Book Award Finalist
New York Times Best Book of the Year
ALA Notable Book

Great Alone book coverThe Great Alone by Kristin Hannah

descriptive, engaging, character-driven
for fans of Barbara Kingsolver, Jodi Picoult, and Anita Shreve

When her volatile, former POW father impulsively moves the family to mid-1970s Alaska to live off the land, young Leni and her mother are forced to confront the dangers of their lack of preparedness in the wake of a dangerous winter season.

Goodreads Choice Award Winner Best Historical Fiction
LibraryReads Favorite
New York Times Bestseller

The Death of Mrs. Westaway book coverThe Death of Mrs. Westaway by Ruth Ware

atmospheric, suspenseful, nonlinear
for fans of Paula Hawkins, Diane Setterfield, and Daphne Du Maurier

When Hal receives a mysterious letter bequeathing her a substantial inheritance, she recognizes that the letter was sent to the wrong person–but also that she might successfully claim the money. It is only when she attends the funeral that she realizes there is something very, very wrong about this strange situation and the inheritance at the center of it.

New York Times Bestseller
LibraryReads Favorite
Goodreads Choice Finalist Best Mystery and Thriller