Skip to content

Wednesday Night Book Group

Home » Book Discussions » Wednesday Night Book Group

The Wednesday Night Book Group meets the third Wednesday of each month at 7:00 pm via Zoom. Limited copies of featured titles are available from the Fiction-AV-Teen Services desk one month prior to the discussion.

Cover of True Biz

True Biz by Sara Novic

True biz? The students at the River Valley School for the Deaf just want to hook up, pass their history final, and have doctors, politicians, and their parents stop telling them what to do with their bodies. This revelatory novel plunges readers into the halls of a residential school for the deaf, where they’ll meet Charlie, a rebellious transfer student who’s never met another deaf person before; Austin, the school’s golden boy, whose world is rocked when his baby sister is born hearing; and February, the headmistress, who is fighting to keep her school open and her marriage intact, but might not be able to do both at the same time. As a series of crises both personal and political threaten to unravel each of them, Charlie, Austin, and February find their lives inextricable from one another-and changed forever.

Click Here to Register
Cover of Pachinko

Pachinko by Min Jin Lee

A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. Pachinko follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exile from its homeland and caught in the indifferent arc of history. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, its members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity.

Click Here to Register
Cover of Stay with Me

Stay with Me by Ayọ̀bámi Adébáyọ̀

Ilesa, Nigeria. Ever since they first met and fell in love at University, Yejide and Akin have agreed: polygamy is not for them. But four years into their marriage – after consulting fertility doctors and healers and trying strange teas and unlikely cures – Yejide is still not pregnant. She assumes she has time – until her in-laws arrive on her doorstep with a young woman they introduce as Akin’s second wife. Furious, shocked, and livid with jealousy, Yejide knows the only way to save her marriage is to get pregnant. Which, finally, she does – but at a cost far greater than she could have dared to imagine. The unforgettable story of a marriage as seen through the eyes of both husband and wife, Stay With Me asks how much we can sacrifice for the sake of family.

Click Here to Register

© Copyright 2024 Mount Prospect Public Library,
All RIghts Reserved

Mount Prospect Public Library

Install Mount Prospect Public Library

Install this application on your home screen for quick and easy access when you’re on the go.

Just tap then “Add to Home Screen”