Summer Book Talk Read-a-Likes!

Hearing some interesting book talks at your school?  Check out these read-a-likes for all the titles we are talking about this year. Chances are these hot books will all be checked out so you have even more options with these read-a-likes!

Fat Boy vs. the CheerleadersFat Boy vs the Cheerleaders book cover by Geoff Herbach
YA HERBACH, G.

Au Revoir crazy European chick book coverfat kit rules the world book coverStupid Fast book cover

 

 

 

 

 

Read-a-Likes

Au Revoir, Crazy European Chick by Joe Schreiber
YA SCHREIBER, J.

Fat Kid Rules the World by K.L. Going
YA GOING, K.

Stupid Fast by Geoff Herbach
YA HERBACH, G.

 

ConspiracyofUsThe Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall
YA HALL, M.

SecretSocietyBookBloodShdadowchangeling

Read-a-Likes

Secret Society by Tom Dolby
YA DOLBY, T.

The Book of Blood and Shadow by Robin Wasserman
YA WASSERMAN, R.

Changeling by Philippa Gregory
YA GREGORY, P.

 

the sound of letting go book coverThe Sound of Letting Go by Stasia Ward Kehoe
YA KEHOE, S.

LivvieOwenDJ rising book cover

Read-a-Likes

Livvie Owen Lived Here by Sarah Dooley
YA DOOLEY, S.

This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales
YA SALES, L.

DJ Rising by Love Maia
YA MAIA, L.

 

Out of Nowhere by Maria PadianOut of Nowhere book cover
YA PADIAN, M.

Now is the Time for Running book coverthe good braider book coverkick book cover

Read-a-Likes

Now is the Time for Running by Michael Williams
YA WILLIAMS, M.

The Good Braider by Terry Farish
YA FARISH, T.

Kick by Walter Dean Myers and Ross Workman
YA MYERS, W.

 

KidneyHypotheticalThe Kidney Hypothetical, or, How to Ruin Your Life in Seven Days by Lisa Yee
YA YEE, L.

curveball the year I lost my grip book coverpersonal effects book coverAfterEli

Read-a-Likes

Curveball: the Year I Lost My Grip by Jordan Sonnenblick
YA SONNENBLICK, J.

Personal Effects by E.M. Kokie
YA KOKIE, E.

After Eli by Rebecca Rupp
YA RUPP, R.

 

BlackDoveBlack Dove, White Raven by Elizabeth Wein
YA WEIN, E.

Code Name Verity book coverCall Me By My Name book covera Summer of Kings book cover

Read-a-Likes

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
YA WEIN, E.

Call Me by My Name by John Ed Bradley
YA BRADLEY, J.

A Summer of Kings by Han Nolan
YA NOLAN, H.

 

ZeroboxerZeroboxer by Fonda Lee
YA SF LEE, F.

WhyIFightSoulbound

Read-a-Likes

Blood Red Road by Moira Young
YA YOUNG, M.

Why I Fight by J. Adams Oaks
YA OAKS, J.

Soulbound by Heather Brewer
YA BREWER, H.

 

ChallengerDeepChallenger Deep by Neal Shusterman
YA SHUSTERMAN, N.

NightIDisappearedMeMyselfIkeKingPygmies

Read-a-Likes

The Night I Disappeared by Julie Reece Deaver
YA DEAVER, J.

Me, Myself and Ike by K.L. Denman
YA DENMAN, K.

King of the Pygmies by Jonathon Scott Fuqua
YA FUQUA, S.

 

EndangeredEndangered by Lamar Giles
YA MY GILES, L.

Wish you were deadmorgue and me book coverPicturePerfect

Read-a-Likes

Wish You Were Dead by Todd Strasser
YA STRASSER, T.

The Morgue and Me by John C. Ford
YA MY FORD, J.

Picture Perfect by Elaine Marie Alphin
YA ALPHIN, E.

 

An Ember in Ashes by Sabaa TahirAn Ember in the Ashes book cover
YA TAHIR, S.

Throne of Glass book coverOrphanQueenfalse prince book cover

Read-a-Likes

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
YA MAAS, S.

The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows
YA MEADOWS, J.

The False Prince by Jennifer A. Nielsen
YA NIELSEN, J.

 

GameLoveDeathThe Game of Love and Death by Martha Brockenbrough
YA BROCKENBROUGH, M.

the Other Side of Dark book coverRiverBetweenUsRuined book cover

Read-a-Likes

The Other Side of Dark by Sarah Smith
YA SMITH, S.

The River Between Us by Richard Peck
YA PECK, R.

Ruined by Paula Morris
YA MORRIS, P.

 

UndertowUndertow by Michael Buckley
YA BUCKLEY, M.

ViciousDeepTempestRisingTeam Human book cover

Read-a-Likes

The Vicious Deep by Zoraida Córdova
YA CORDOVA, Z.

Tempest Rising by Tracy Deebs
YA DEEBS, T.

Team Human by Justine Larbalestier
YA LARBALESTIER, J.

 

KillerEnemiesKiller of Enemies by Joseph Bruchac
YA SF BRUCHAC, J.

enclaveEveryOtherDay

Read-a-Likes

Rot & Ruin by Jonathan Maberry
YA MABERRY, J.

Enclave by Ann Aguirre
YA AGUIRRE, A.

Every Other Day by Jennifer Lynn Barnes
YA BARNES, J.

 

Eye of MindsThe Eye of Minds by James Dashner
YA SF DASHNER, J.

Insignia book coverfor the win book coverz book cover

Read-a-Likes

Insignia by S.J. Kincaid
YA SF KINCAID, S.

For the Win by Cory Doctorow
YA SF DOCTOROW, C.

Z by Michael Thomas Ford
YA SF FORD, M.

 

ShelterShelter by Harlan Coben
YA MY COBEN, H.

BodyWoodsWhereverNinaLiesRealityCheck

Read-a-Likes

The Body in the Woods by April Henry
YA MY HENRY, A.

Wherever Nina Lies by Lynn Weingarten
YA WEINGARTEN, L.

Reality Check by Peter Abrahams
YA ABRAHAMS, P.

 

FinisherFinisher by David Baldacci
YA BALDACCI, D.

SabrielRecklessHalfWorld

Read-a-Likes

Sabriel by Garth Nix
YA NIX, G.

Reckless by Cornelia Funke
YA FUNKE, C.

Half World by Hiromi Goto
YA GOTO, H.

 

WhiteSpaceWhite Space by Isla Bick
YA BICK, I.

the Secret Hour book coverthe Gathering Dark book coverdaughter of smoke and bone book cover

Read-a-Likes

The Secret Hour by Scott Westerfeld
YA SF WESTERFELD, S.

The Gathering Dark by Christine Johnson
YA JOHNSON, C.

Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor
YA TAYLOR, L.

 

The Falconerthe falconer book cover by Elizabeth May
YA MAY, E.

the clockwork scarab book covera great and terrible beauty book coverthe girl in the steel corset book cover

Read-a-Likes

The Clockwork Scarab by Colleen Gleason
YA MY GLEASON, C.

A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray
YA BRAY, L.

The Girl in the Steel Corset by Kady Cross
YA CROSS, K.

 

AfterworldsAfterworlds by Scott Westerfeld
YA WESTERFELD, S.

Fangirl book coverOtherNormalsSerendiptyMarket

Read-a-Likes

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
YA ROWELL, R.

The Other Normals by Ned Vizzini
YA VIZZINI, N.

Serendipity Market by Penny Blubaugh
YA BLUBAUGH, P.

 

MadmansDaughterThe Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd
YA SF SHEPHERD, M.

This Dark Endeavor book coverOrigin book coverDr. Franklin's Island book cover

Read-a-Likes

This Dark Endeavor by Kenneth Oppel
YA OPPEL, K.

Origin by Jessica Khoury
YA KHOURY, J.

Dr. Franklin’s Island by Ann Halam
YA SF HALAM, A.

 

WildflowerWildflower by Alicia Whitaker
YA WHITAKER, A.

SomebodyEverybodyopen road summer book coverRockStarSuperstar

Read-a-Likes

Somebody Everybody Listens To by Suzanne Supplee
YA SUPPLEE, S.

Open Road Summer by Emery Lord
YA LORD, E.

Rock Star Superstar by Blake Nelson
YA NELSON, B.

 

GoodSisterThe Good Sister by Jaime Kain
YA KAIN, J.

13 Reasons Why book coverPleaseIgnoreSummerLettingGo

Read-a-Likes

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher
YA ASHER, J.

Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King
YA KING, A.

The Summer of Letting Go by Gae Polisner
YA POLISNER, G.

 

The Story of Owen, Dragon Slayer of Trondheimthe Story of Owen book cover by E.K. Johnston
YA JOHNSTON, E.

SlayersThe Last Dragonslayer book coverFirstKill

Read-a-Likes

Slayers by C.J. Hill
YA HILL, C.

The Last Dragonslayer by Jasper Fforde
YA FFORDE, J.

First Kill by Heather Brewer
YA BREWER, H.

 

DontTouchDon’t Touch by Rachel Wilson
YA WILSON, R.

say what you will book coverthe Unlikely Hero of Room 13 B book coverWaitingForYou

Read-a-Likes

Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern
YA MCGOVERN, C.

The Unlikely Hero of Room 13 B by Teresa Toten
YA TOTEN, T.

Waiting For You by Susane Colasanti
YA COLASANTI, S.

 

IllusionsFateIllusions of Fate by Keirsten White
YA WHITE, K.

EvernightLegacyDeadBeautiful

Read-a-Likes

Evernight by Claudia Gray
YA GRAY, C.

Legacy by Molly Cochran
YA COCHRAN, M.

Dead Beautiful by Yvonne Woon
YA WOON, Y.

 

I'll Give You the Sun book coverI’ll Give You the Sun by Allison Jandy
YA JANDY, A.

Will Grayson, Will Grayson book coverNo Parking at the End Times book coverBeatle Meets Destiny book cover

Read-a-Likes

Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green & David Levithan
YA GREEN, J.

No Parking At the End Times by Bryan Bliss
YA BLISS, B.

Beatle Meets Destiny by Gabrielle Williams
YA WILLIAMS, G.

 

WhatsLeftWhat’s Left of Me by Kat Zhang
YA SF ZHANG, K.

the Host book coverStartersSoulprint

Read-a-Likes

The Host by Stephenie Meyer
YA MEYER, S.

Starters by Lissa Price
YA SF PRICE, L.

Soulprint by Megan Miranda
YA SF MIRANDA, M.

 

PreyThe Prey by Tom Isbell
YA ISBELL, T.

Ashes book coverPulsethe 5th Wave book cover

Read-a-Likes

Ashes by Ilsa J. Bick
YA BICK, I.

Pulse by Patrick Carman
YA SF CARMAN, P.

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey
YA SF YANCEY, R.