Summer Book Talk Read-a-Likes!

Hearing some interesting book talks at your school?  Check out these read-a-likes for all the titles we are talking about this year. Chances are these hot books will all be checked out so you have even more options with these read-a-likes!

 

Fat Boy vs. the CheerleadersFat Boy vs the Cheerleaders book cover by Geoff Herbach

YA HERBACH, G.

Au Revoir crazy European chick book coverfat kit rules the world book coverStupid Fast book cover

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Read-a-Likes

Au Revoir, Crazy European Chick by Joe Schreiber

YA SCHREIBER, J.

Fat Kid Rules the World by K.L. Going

YA GOING, K.

Stupid Fast by Geoff Herbach

YA HERBACH, G.

 

ConspiracyofUsThe Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall

YA HALL, M.

SecretSocietyBookBloodShdadowchangeling

Read-a-Likes

Secret Society by Tom Dolby

YA DOLBY, T.

The Book of Blood and Shadow by Robin Wasserman

YA WASSERMAN, R.

Changeling by Philippa Gregory

YA GREGORY, P.

 

 

the sound of letting go book coverThe Sound of Letting Go by Stasia Ward Kehoe

YA KEHOE, S.

LivvieOwenDJ rising book cover

Read-a-Likes

Livvie Owen Lived Here by Sarah Dooley

YA DOOLEY, S.

This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales

YA SALES, L.

DJ Rising by Love Maia

YA MAIA, L.

 

Out of Nowhere by Maria PadianOut of Nowhere book cover

YA PADIAN, M.

Now is the Time for Running book coverthe good braider book coverkick book cover

Read-a-Likes

Now is the Time for Running by Michael Williams

YA WILLIAMS, M.

The Good Braider by Terry Farish

YA FARISH, T.

Kick by Walter Dean Myers and Ross Workman

YA MYERS, W.

 

KidneyHypotheticalThe Kidney Hypothetical, or, How to Ruin Your Life in Seven Days by Lisa Yee

YA YEE, L.

curveball the year I lost my grip book coverpersonal effects book coverAfterEli

Read-a-Likes

Curveball: the Year I Lost My Grip by Jordan Sonnenblick

YA SONNENBLICK, J.

Personal Effects by E.M. Kokie

YA KOKIE, E.

After Eli by Rebecca Rupp

YA RUPP, R.

 

BlackDoveBlack Dove, White Raven by Elizabeth Wein

YA WEIN, E.

Code Name Verity book coverCall Me By My Name book covera Summer of Kings book cover

Read-a-Likes

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

YA WEIN, E.

Call Me by My Name by John Ed Bradley

YA BRADLEY, J.

A Summer of Kings by Han Nolan

YA NOLAN, H.

 

ZeroboxerZeroboxer by Fonda Lee

YA SF LEE, F.

WhyIFightSoulbound

Read-a-Likes

Blood Red Road by Moira Young

YA YOUNG, M.

Why I Fight by J. Adams Oaks

YA OAKS, J.

Soulbound by Heather Brewer

YA BREWER, H.

 

ChallengerDeepChallenger Deep by Neal Shusterman

YA SHUSTERMAN, N.

NightIDisappearedMeMyselfIkeKingPygmies

Read-a-Likes

The Night I Disappeared by Julie Reece Deaver

YA DEAVER, J.

Me, Myself and Ike by K.L. Denman

YA DENMAN, K.

King of the Pygmies by Jonathon Scott Fuqua

YA FUQUA, S.

 

EndangeredEndangered by Lamar Giles

YA MY GILES, L.

Wish you were deadmorgue and me book coverPicturePerfect

Read-a-Likes

Wish You Were Dead by Todd Strasser

YA STRASSER, T.

The Morgue and Me by John C. Ford

YA MY FORD, J.

Picture Perfect by Elaine Marie Alphin

YA ALPHIN, E.

 

An Ember in Ashes by Sabaa TahirAn Ember in the Ashes book cover

YA TAHIR, S.

Throne of Glass book coverOrphanQueenfalse prince book cover

Read-a-Likes

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

YA MAAS, S.

The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows

YA MEADOWS, J.

The False Prince by Jennifer A. Nielsen

YA NIELSEN, J.

 

GameLoveDeathThe Game of Love and Death by Martha Brockenbrough

YA BROCKENBROUGH, M.

 

the Other Side of Dark book coverRiverBetweenUsRuined book cover

Read-a-Likes

The Other Side of Dark by Sarah Smith

YA SMITH, S.

The River Between Us by Richard Peck

YA PECK, R.

Ruined by Paula Morris

YA MORRIS, P.

 

UndertowUndertow by Michael Buckley

YA BUCKLEY, M.

 

ViciousDeepTempestRisingTeam Human book cover

Read-a-Likes

The Vicious Deep by Zoraida Córdova

YA CORDOVA, Z.

Tempest Rising by Tracy Deebs

YA DEEBS, T.

Team Human by Justine Larbalestier

YA LARBALESTIER, J.

 

KillerEnemiesKiller of Enemies by Joseph Bruchac

YA SF BRUCHAC, J.

enclaveEveryOtherDay

Read-a-Likes

Rot & Ruin by Jonathan Maberry

YA MABERRY, J.

Enclave by Ann Aguirre

YA AGUIRRE, A.

Every Other Day by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

YA BARNES, J.

 

Eye of MindsThe Eye of Minds by James Dashner

YA SF DASHNER, J.

Insigniafor the win book coverz book cover

Read-a-Likes

Insignia by S.J. Kincaid

YA SF KINCAID, S.

For the Win by Cory Doctorow

YA SF DOCTOROW, C.

Z by Michael Thomas Ford

YA SF FORD, M.

 

ShelterShelter by Harlan Coben

YA MY COBEN, H.

BodyWoodsWhereverNinaLiesRealityCheck

Read-a-Likes

The Body in the Woods by April Henry

YA MY HENRY, A.

Wherever Nina Lies by Lynn Weingarten

YA WEINGARTEN, L.

Reality Check by Peter Abrahams

YA ABRAHAMS, P.

 

FinisherFinisher by David Baldacci

YA BALDACCI, D.

SabrielRecklessHalfWorld

Read-a-Likes

Sabriel by Garth Nix

YA NIX, G.

Reckless by Cornelia Funke

YA FUNKE, C.

Half World by Hiromi Goto

YA GOTO, H.

 

WhiteSpaceWhite Space by Isla Bick

YA BICK, I.

the Secret Hour book coverthe Gathering Dark book coverdaughter of smoke and bone book cover

Read-a-Likes

The Secret Hour by Scott Westerfeld

YA SF WESTERFELD, S.

The Gathering Dark by Christine Johnson

YA JOHNSON, C.

Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor

YA TAYLOR, L.

 

The Falconerthe falconer book cover by Elizabeth May

YA MAY, E.

the clockwork scarab book covera great and terrible beauty book coverthe girl in the steel corset book cover

Read-a-Likes

The Clockwork Scarab by Colleen Gleason

YA MY GLEASON, C.

A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray

YA BRAY, L.

The Girl in the Steel Corset by Kady Cross

YA CROSS, K.

 

AfterworldsAfterworlds by Scott Westerfeld

YA WESTERFELD, S.

Fangirl book coverOtherNormalsSerendiptyMarket

Read-a-Likes

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

YA ROWELL, R.

The Other Normals by Ned Vizzini

YA VIZZINI, N.

Serendipity Market by Penny Blubaugh

YA BLUBAUGH, P.

 

MadmansDaughterThe Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd

YA SF SHEPHERD, M.

This Dark Endeavor book coverOrigin book coverDr. Franklin's Island book cover

Read-a-Likes

This Dark Endeavor by Kenneth Oppel

YA OPPEL, K.

Origin by Jessica Khoury

YA KHOURY, J.

Dr. Franklin’s Island by Ann Halam

YA SF HALAM, A.

 

WildflowerWildflower by Alicia Whitaker

YA WHITAKER, A.

SomebodyEverybodyopen road summer book coverRockStarSuperstar

Read-a-Likes

Somebody Everybody Listens To by Suzanne Supplee

YA SUPPLEE, S.

Open Road Summer by Emery Lord

YA LORD, E.

Rock Star Superstar by Blake Nelson

YA NELSON, B.

 

GoodSisterThe Good Sister by Jaime Kain

YA KAIN, J.

13 Reasons Why book coverPleaseIgnoreSummerLettingGo

Read-a-Likes

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

YA ASHER, J.

Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King

YA KING, A.

The Summer of Letting Go by Gae Polisner

YA POLISNER, G.

 

The Story of Owen, Dragon Slayer of Trondheim by E.K. Johnston

YA JOHNSTON, E.

SlayersThe Last Dragonslayer book coverFirstKill

Read-a-Likes

Slayers by C.J. Hill

YA HILL, C.

The Last Dragonslayer by Jasper Fforde

YA FFORDE, J.

First Kill by Heather Brewer

YA BREWER, H.

 

DontTouchDon’t Touch by Rachel Wilson

YA WILSON, R.

say what you will book coverthe Unlikely Hero of Room 13 B book coverWaitingForYou

Read-a-Likes

Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern

YA MCGOVERN, C.

The Unlikely Hero of Room 13 B by Teresa Toten

YA TOTEN, T.

Waiting For You by Susane Colasanti

YA COLASANTI, S.

 

IllusionsFateIllusions of Fate by Keirsten White

YA WHITE, K.

EvernightLegacyDeadBeautiful

Read-a-Likes

Evernight by Claudia Gray

YA GRAY, C.

Legacy by Molly Cochran

YA COCHRAN, M.

Dead Beautiful by Yvonne Woon

YA WOON, Y.

 

I'll Give You the Sun book coverI’ll Give You the Sun by Allison Jandy

YA JANDY, A.

Will Grayson, Will Grayson book coverNo Parking at the End Times book coverBeatle Meets Destiny book cover

Read-a-Likes

Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green & David Levithan

YA GREEN, J.

No Parking At the End Times by Bryan Bliss

YA BLISS, B.

Beatle Meets Destiny by Gabrielle Williams

YA WILLIAMS, G.

 

WhatsLeftWhat’s Left of Me by Kat Zhang

YA SF ZHANG, K.

the Host book coverStartersSoulprint

Read-a-Likes

The Host by Stephenie Meyer

YA MEYER, S.

Starters by Lissa Price

YA SF PRICE, L.

Soulprint by Megan Miranda

YA SF MIRANDA, M.

 

PreyThe Prey by Tom Isbell

YA ISBELL, T.

Ashes book coverPulsethe 5th Wave book cover

Read-a-Likes

Ashes by Ilsa J. Bick

YA BICK, I.

Pulse by Patrick Carman

YA SF CARMAN, P.

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

YA SF YANCEY, R.