Month: November 2015

What's New Blog

Aliens and UFO’s!: X-Files read-a-likes for Teens

the 5th Wave book cover

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey
YA YANCEY, R.
Cassie Sullivan, the survivor of an alien invasion, must rescue her young brother from the enemy with help from a boy who may be one of them.

Icons

Icons by Margaret Stohl
YA SF STOHL, M.
After an alien force known as the Icon colonizes Earth, decimating humanity, four surviving teenagers must piece together the mysteries of their pasts–in order to save the future.

Scan

Scan by Walter Jury and S. E. Fine
YA SF JURY, W.
Tate Archer outruns armed government officials as he tries to keep his now dead father’s strange invention out of the wrong hands, alien hands.

FirstDayEarth

First Day on Earth by Cecil Castelucci
YA SF CASTELUCCI, C.
Believing he was abducted by aliens several years earlier during a mysterious three-day disappearance he cannot remember, pensive misfit Mal meets Hooper at an abductee support group and learns otherworldly secrets that reveal profound possibilities for his future.

Rules

The Rules by Stacey Kade
YA KADE, S.
At sixteen, Ariane Tucker has been careful to elude those seeking her since her escape from a genetics lab ten years earlier, but the attention of classmate Zane, both frightening and intoxicating, tempts her to risk violating at least one of her adoptive father’s five simple rules.

I am Number Four book cover

I am Number Four by Pictacus Lore
YA SF LORE, P.
In rural Ohio, friendships and a beautiful girl prove distracting to a fifteen-year-old who has hidden on Earth for ten years waiting to develop the Legacies, or powers, he will need to rejoin the other six surviving Garde members and fight the Mogadorians who destroyed their planet, Lorien.

Hitchhikers

Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
YA SF ADAMS, D.
Chronicles the off-beat and occasionally extraterrestrial journeys, notions, and acquaintances of galactic traveler Arthur Dent.

Stuck on Earth

Stuck on Earth by David Klass
YA SF KLASS, D.
On a secret mission to evaluate whether the human race should be annihilated, a space alien inhabits the body of a bullied fourteen-year-old boy.

Obsidian

Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout
YA ARMENTROUT, J.
When seventeen-year-old Katy moves to West Virginia she expects to be bored, until she meets her neighbor who just happens to be an alien.

Invasion

Invasion by Jon S. Lewis
YA LEWIS, J.
After his parents are killed in an automobile accident, sixteen-year-old Colt McAllister moves to Arizona where he is recruited by a secret organization to join the battle against malevolent, supernatural creatures from another world.

LivingHell

Living Hell by Catherine Jinks
YA SF JINKS, C.
Chronicles the transformation of a spaceship into a living organism, as seventeen-year-old Cheney leads the hundreds of inhabitants in a fight for survival while machines turn on them, treating all humans as parasites.

Ender's Game

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
YA SF CARD, O.
A veteran of years of simulated war games, Ender believes he is engaged in one more computer war game when in truth he is commanding the last fleet of Earth against an alien race seeking the complete destruction of Earth.

DangerousDaysDanielX

The Dangerous Days of Daniel X by James Patterson
YA SF PATTERSON, J.
Fifteen-year-old Daniel has followed in his parents’ footsteps as the Alien Hunter, exterminating beings on The List of Alien Outlaws on Terra Firma, but when he faces his first of the top ten outlaws, the very existence of Earth and another planet are at stake.

TinStar

Tin Star by Cecil Castelucci
YA SF CASTELUCCI, C.
Beaten and left for dead, fourteen-year-old Tula Bane finds herself abandoned on a space station called Yertina Feray after traveling with the colonist group, Children of the Earth.

SpaceCowboy

Space Cowboy by Justin Stanchfield
YA SF STANCHFIELD, J.
Teenage cowboy Travis McClure is desperate for adventure. He’s bored with life on the remote planet of Aletha Three where he herds cattle all day. But everything changes when he comes face-to-face with a creature that should only exist in nightmares.

Host

The Host by Stephenie Meyer
YA MEYER, S.
A member of a species that takes over the minds of human bodies, Wanderer is unable to disregard her host’s love for a man in hiding, a situation that forces both possessor and host to become unwilling allies.

LifeMars

Life on Mars: tales from the new frontier edited by Jonathan Strahan
YA SF LIFE
Mars! The Red Planet! For generations, people have wondered what it would be like to travel to and live there. That curiosity has inspired some of the most durable science fiction, including Ray Bradbury’s The Martian Chronicles and the work of Isaac Asimov. Now the award-winning anthologist Jonathan Strahan has brought together thirteen original stories to explore the possibilities. After reading Life on Mars , readers will never look at the fourth planet from the sun the same way again.

PromGoers

The Prom Goer’s Interstellar Excursion by Chris McCoy
YA SF MCCOY, C.
Minutes after eighteen-year-old Bennett Bardo of Gordo, New Mexico, asks Sophie Gilkey, his dream girl, to prom and she says yes, she is abducted by aliens and Bennett catches a ride across the galaxy with a band of misfit musicians to find her.

Science Fiction Reads for Teens

Gardener

The Gardener by S.A. Bodeen
YA SF BODEEN, S.
When high school sophomore Mason finds a beautiful but catatonic girl in the nursing home where his mother works, the discovery leads him to revelations about a series of disturbing human experiments that have a connection to his own life.

Rules

The Rules by Stacey Kade
YA KADE, S.
At sixteen, Ariane Tucker has been careful to elude those seeking her since her escape from a genetics lab ten years earlier, but the attention of classmate Zane, both frightening and intoxicating, tempts her to risk violating at least one of her adoptive father’s five simple rules.

TinStar

Tin Star by Cecil Castelucci
YA SF CASTELUCCI, C.
Beaten and left for dead, fourteen-year-old Tula Bane finds herself abandoned on a space station called Yertina Feray after traveling with the colonist group, Children of the Earth.

unidentified

The Unidentified by Rae Mariz
YA SF MARIZ, R.
In a futuristic alternative school set in a shopping mall where video game-playing students are observed and used by corporate sponsors for market research, Katey “Kid” Dade struggles to figure out where she fits in and whether she even wants to.

iboy

iBoy by Kevin Brooks
YA BROOKS, K.
Sixteen-year-old Tom Harvey was an ordinary Londoner until an attack that caused fragments of an iPhone to be embedded in his brain, giving him incredible knowledge and power, but using that power against the gang that attacked him and a friend could have deadly consequences.

Scan

Scan by Walter Jury and S. E. Fine
YA SF JURY, W.
Tate Archer outruns armed government officials as he tries to keep his now dead father’s strange invention out of the wrong hands, alien hands.

Icons

Icons by Margaret Stohl
YA SF STOHL, M.
After an alien force known as the Icon colonizes Earth, decimating humanity, four surviving teenagers must piece together the mysteries of their pasts–in order to save the future.

LongLongSleep

A Long, Long Sleep by Anna Sheehan
YA SHEEHAN, A.
Sixteen-year-old Rosalinda Fitzroy, heir to the multiplanetary corporation UniCorp, is awakened after sixty years in stasis to find that everyone she knew has died and as she tries to make a new life for herself, learns she is the target of a robot assassin.

cinder - the lunar chronicles book cover

Cinder by Marissa Meyer
YA MEYER, M.
As plague ravages the overcrowded Earth, observed by a ruthless lunar people, Cinder, a gifted mechanic and cyborg, becomes involved with handsome Prince Kai and must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect the world in this futuristic take on the Cinderella story.

the Adoration Jenna Fox book cover

The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary Pearson
YA SF PEARSON, M.
In the not-too-distant future, when biotechnological advances have made synthetic bodies and brains possible but illegal, a seventeen-year-old girl, recovering from a serious accident and suffering from memory lapses, learns a startling secret about her existence.

BlackHoleSun

Black Hole Sun by David Macinnis Gill
YA SF GILL, D.
On the planet Mars, sixteen-year-old Durango and his crew of mercenaries are hired by the settlers of a mining community to protect their most valuable resource from a feral band of marauders.

DrFranklinsIsland

Dr. Franklin’s Island by Ann Halam
YA SF HALAM, A.
When their plane crashes over the Pacific Ocean, three science students are left stranded on a tropical island and then imprisoned by a doctor who is performing horrifying experiments on humans involving the transfer of animal genes.

Feed book cover

Feed by M. T. Anderson
YA SF ANDERSON, M.T.
In a future where most people have computer implants in their heads to control their environment, a boy meets an unusual girl who is in serious trouble.

BarCodeTattoo

The Bar Code Tattoo by Suzanne Weyn
YA SF WEYN, S.
Things for Kayla progress from bad, as in being told her computer grades disqualify her from an art scholarship, to worse, when she refuses to accept an identification bar code tattoo on her seventeenth birthday.

Knife

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness
YA SF NESS, P.
Pursued by power-hungry Prentiss and mad minister Aaron, young Todd and Viola set out across New World searching for answers about his colony’s true past and seeking a way to warn the ship bringing hopeful settlers from Old World.

candor

Candor by Pam Bachorz
YA SF BACHORZ, P.
For a fee, “model teen” Oscar Banks has been secretly–and selectively– sabotaging the subliminal messages that program the behavior of the residents of Candor, Florida, until his attraction to a rebellious new girl threatens to expose his subterfuge.

AcrossUniverse

Across the Universe by Beth Revis
YA SF REVIS, B.
Teenaged Amy, a cryogenically frozen passenger on the spaceship Godspeed, wakes up to discover that someone may have tried to murder her.

HouseScorpion

The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer
YA SF FARMER, N.
In a future where humans despise clones, Matt enjoys special status as the young clone of El Patron, the 142-year-old leader of a corrupt drug empire nestled between Mexico and the United States.

Unwind book cover

Unwind by Neal Shusterman
YA SF SHUSTERMAN, N.
In a future world where those between the ages of thirteen and eighteen can have their lives “unwound” and their body parts harvested for use by others, three teens go to extreme lengths to uphold their beliefs–and, perhaps, save their own lives.

the Dangerous Days of Daniel X book cover

The Dangerous Days of Daniel X by James Patterson
YA SF PATTERSON, J.
Fifteen-year-old Daniel has followed in his parents’ footsteps as the Alien Hunter, exterminating beings on The List of Alien Outlaws on Terra Firma, but when he faces his first of the top ten outlaws, the very existence of Earth and another planet are at stake.

I am Number Four book cover

I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore
YA SF LORE, P.
In rural Ohio, friendships and a beautiful girl prove distracting to a fifteen-year-old who has hidden on Earth for ten years waiting to develop the Legacies, or powers, he will need to rejoin the other six surviving Garde members and fight the Mogadorians who destroyed their planet, Lorien.

Little Brother book cover

Little Brother by Cory Doctorow
YA DOCTOROW, C.
After being interrogated for days by the Department of Homeland Security in the aftermath of a major terrorist attack on San Francisco, California, seventeen-year-old Marcus, released into what is now a police state, decides to use his expertise in computer hacking to set things right.

Insignia book cover

Insignia by S.J. Kincaid
YA SF KINCAID, S.
Tom, a fourteen-year-old genius at virtual reality games, is recruited by the United States Military to begin training at the Pentagon Spire as a Combatant in World War III, controlling the mechanized drones that do the actual fighting off-planet.

free to fall book cover

Free to Fall by Lauren Miller
YA SF MILLER, L.
In a near-future world where everyone is controlled by their smartphones, sixteen-year-old Rory Vaughn suddenly begins listening to the voice within–which kids are taught to ignore–and discovers a terrible plot at the heart of the corporation that makes the devices.

Rush

Rush by Eve Silver
YA SF SILVER, E.
Rochester, New York, high schooler Miki Jones is pulled into a sort of a game in which she and other teens battle real-life aliens and the consequences of each battle could be deadly.

Throwback: Teen Novels set in the 80’s

Eleanor and Park book cover

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell
YA ROWELL, R.
Set over the course of one school year in 1986, this is the story of two star-crossed misfits–smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try.

aristotle-and-dante-discover-the-secrets-of-the-universe book cover

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz
YA Sáenz, B.
Fifteen-year-old Ari Mendoza is an angry loner with a brother in prison, but when he meets Dante and they become friends, Ari starts to ask questions he has never asked before about himself, his parents, and his family.

BitterMelon

Bitter Melon by Cara Chow
YA CHOW, C.
With the encouragement of one of her teachers, a Chinese American high school senior asserts herself against her demanding, old-school mother and carves out an identity for herself in late 1980s San Francisco.

the boy on the bridge book cover

The Boy on the Bridge by Natalie Standiford
YA STANDIFORD, N.
It is 1982 and nineteen-year-old Laura Reid is spending a semester in Leningrad studying Russian, but when she meets Alyosha she discovers the dissident Russia–a world of wild parties, underground books and music, love, and constant danger.

GoingOver

Going Over by Beth Kephart
YA KEPHART, B.
In the early 1980s Ada and Stefan are young, would-be lovers living on opposite sides of the Berlin Wall–Ada lives with her mother and grandmother and paints graffiti on the Wall, and Stefan lives with his grandmother in the East and dreams of escaping to the West.

Karma

Karma by Cathy Ostlere
YA OSTLERE, C.
In 1984, following her mother’s suicide, 15-year-old Maya and her Sikh father travel to New Delhi from Canada to place her mother’s ashes in their final resting place. On the night of their arrival, Prime Minister Indira Gandhi is assassinated, Maya and her father are separated when the city erupts in chaos, and Maya must rely on Sandeep, a boy she has just met, for survival.

Carrie Diaries

The Carrie Diaries by Candace Bushnell
YA BUSHNELL, C.
Tells the story of Manhattan columnist Carrie Bradshaw’s high school years, her relationships with her peers, and how she became a writer.

Butterfly book cover

Butterfly by Sonya Hartnett
YA HARTNETT, S.
In 1980s Australia, nearly fourteen-year-old Ariella “Plum” Coyle fears the disapproval of her friends, feels inferior to her older brothers, and hates her awkward, adolescent body but when her glamorous neighbor befriends her, Plum starts to become what she wants to be–until she discovers her neighbor’s ulterior motive.

PaperCoversRock

Paper Covers Rock by Jenny Hubbard
YA HUBBARD, J.
In 1982 Buncombe County, North Carolina, sixteen-year-old Alex Stromm writes of the aftermath of the accidental drowning of a friend, as his English teacher reaches out to him while he and a fellow boarding school student try to cover things up.

SummerILearnedFly

The Summer I Learned to Fly by Dana Reinhardt
YA REINHARDT, D.
Thirteen-year-old Drew starts the summer of 1986 helping in her mother’s cheese shop and dreaming about co-worker Nick, but when her widowed mother begins dating, Drew’s father’s book of lists, her pet rat, and Emmett, a boy on a quest, help her cope.

scarboys

The Scar Boys by Len Vlahos
YA VLAHOS, L.
Written as a college admission essay, eighteen-year-old Harry Jones recounts a childhood defined by the hideous scars he hid behind, and how forming a band brought self-confidence, friendship, and his first kiss.

ScreamingDivas

Screaming Divas by Suzanne Kamata
YA KAMATA, S.
A teenage girl band in 1980s South Carolina becomes a local sensation, but just as its members are about to achieve their rock girl dreams, tragedy strikes.

RevengeNotPrettyGrl

Revenge of a Not-So-Pretty Girl by Carolita Blythe
YA BLYTHE, C.
Fourteen-year-old Faye, an African American living in 1984 Brooklyn, New York, copes with her mother’s abuse by stealing with her friends, but when robbing an elderly woman almost turns to murder, she gains an opportunity to learn new truths about life.

SummerYesterday

Summer of Yesterday by Gaby Triana
YA TRIANA, G.
As she struggles with her parents’ divorce, seventeen-year-old Haley is mysteriously transported to a theme park in the past where she finds love and meets her teenaged mother and father.

November is Transgender Awareness Month

Check out some of the great nonfiction and fiction reads if you want to learn more, or read about characters who are transgender.

Nonfiction

Beyond Magenta: Transgender Teens Speak Out by Susan Kuklin
YA 306.768 KUK
Author and photographer Susan Kuklin met and interviewed six transgender or gender-neutral young adults and used her considerable skills to represent them thoughtfully and respectfully before, during, and after their personal acknowledgment of gender preference. Portraits, family photographs, and candid images grace the pages, augmenting the emotional and physical journey each youth has taken. Each honest discussion and disclosure, whether joyful or heartbreaking, is completely different from the other because of family dynamics, living situations, gender, and the transition these teens make in recognition of their true selves.

TransgenderLives

Transgender Lives: Complex Stories, Complex Voices by Kirstin Cronn-Mills
YA 306.768 CRO
Meet Katie, Hayden, Dean, Brooke, David, Julia, and Natasha. Each is transgender, and in this book, they share their personal stories. Through their narratives, you’ll get to know and love each person for their humor, intelligence, perseverance, and passion. You’ll learn how they each came to better understand, accept, and express their gender identities, and you’ll follow them through the sorrows and successes of their personal journeys.

SomeAssemblyRequired

Some Assembly Required: the Not-So-Secret Life of a Transgender Teen by Arin Andrews
YA 306.768 AND
Seventeen-year-old Arin Andrews shares all the hilarious, painful, and poignant details of undergoing gender reassignment as a high school student in this winning teen memoir.

RethinkingNormal

Rethinking Normal: a Memoir in Transition by Katie Rain Hill
YA 306.768 HIL
In this young adult memoir, a transgender girl shares her personal journey of growing up as a boy and then undergoing gender reassignment during her teens.

ThisBookGay

This Book is Gay by James Dawson
YA 306.766 DAW
Lesbian. Bisexual. Queer. Transgender. Straight. Curious. This book is for everyone, regardless of gender or sexual preference. This book is for anyone who’s ever dared to wonder.

Fiction

BeautifulMusic

Beautiful Music for Ugly Children by Kirstin Cronn-Mills
YA CRONN-MILLS, K.
Gabe has always identified as a boy, but he was born with a girl’s body. With his new public access radio show gaining in popularity, Gabe struggles with romance, friendships, and parents–all while trying to come out as transgender. An audition for a station in Minneapolis looks like his ticket to a better life in the big city. But his entire future is threatened when several violent guys find out Gabe, the popular DJ, is also Elizabeth from school.

Almost Perfect book cover

Almost Perfect by Brian Katcher
YA KATCHER, B.
With his mother working long hours and in pain from a romantic break-up, eighteen-year-old Logan feels alone and unloved until a zany new student arrives at his small-town Missouri high school, keeping a big secret.

CrossingLines

Crossing Lines by Paul Volponi
YA VOLPONI, P.
High school senior Adonis struggles to do the right thing when his fellow football players escalate their bullying of a new classmate, Alan, who is transgender.

Freakboy

Freakboy by Kristin Elizabeth Clark
YA CLARK, K.
Told from three viewpoints, seventeen-year-old Brendan, a wrestler, struggles to come to terms with his place on the transgender spectrum while Vanessa, the girl he loves, and Angel, a transgender acquaintance, try to help.

JumpstartWorld

Jumpstart the World by Catherine Ryan Hyde
YA HYDE, C.
Sixteen-year-old Elle falls in love with Frank, the neighbor who helps her adjust to being on her own in a big city, but learning that he is transgender turns her world upside-down.

HappyFamilies

Happy Families by Tanita S. Davis
YA DAVIS, T.
In alternating chapters, sixteen-year-old twins Ysabel and Justin share their conflicted feelings as they struggle to come to terms with their father’s decision to dress as a woman.