News from Youth Services Category: we need diverse books

Cece Rios and the Desert of Souls 

Cece Rios and the Desert of Souls by Kaela Rivera 

Cece Rios and Desert of Souls book cover

This is a story filled with magic, and spirits. Cece is growing up in a desert community that has to protect itself from dark criaturas that menace humans during a specific time every year. Cece’s sister Juana has been stolen by the the darkest criatura of all, and she will do anything to save her. There is danger, adventure, and Cece comes to learn that not all criaturas are dark. She finds out what her powers are and how she can help everyone, human and criatura alike. Will she be able to save Juana? Read more to find out! 

Perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and other myth/folklore inspired stories!

Explore more:

Read an interview with the author.

Participate in a Read Along (watch out for spoilers!)

The Able Fables Series

Louie's Together Playground, Lia's Kind Mind, and Gary's Gigantic Dream book covers (The Able Fables series)

In the Able Fables series by Dr. Nicole Julia, we meet new friends like Gary the Giraffe and Lia the Lion, and learn about what makes each of them unique. A great new series for learning about inclusion, exploring all of our beautiful differences, and learning how to appreciate what makes us exceptional.

Diverse Books for Your Classroom

We recently held a program titled Diverse Books to Share With Your Classroom for educators in our community. Thousands of books are published every year, making it hard sometimes to keep with all the great new titles that could be used in classrooms. Library staff are happy to help by narrowing down the choices and sharing the best of the best with teachers.

We have booklists and curriculum resources for you to keep and use and share with your colleagues. Clicking that link will automatically download a zip file with all the resources.

This program was actually suggested to us by a member of the school community. If you have any other ideas for ways we can support you in your teaching, please get in touch and let us know!

The Tulsa Race Massacre

This spring marks 100 years since the thriving Greenwood District in Tulsa, Oklahoma, sometimes called Black Wall Street, was burned down and many of its residents were killed in what became known as the Tulsa Race Massacre. While this is not an easy subject to discuss with children, acknowledging and learning from this violence in our history is important for all Americans to grapple with. These books are best shared and discussed with older children.

The New York Times has also published an interactive article that shows 3D renderings of what the Greenwood District likely looked like before it was destroyed. Survivors of the massacre also testified in Washington D.C. about what it was like to live through such an experience.

snapshot of books about the Tulsa race massacre