News from Youth Services Category: Staff Picks

Parent Category of Picks

Where are you Leopold? The Invisibility Game

Where are you Leopold? The Invisibility Game by Michel-Yves Scmitt and Vincent Caut 

where are you leopold - the invisibility game book cover

Leopold discovers he has the power to become invisible. He and his older sister Celine have various funny adventures as he uses his power in different places (home, school, just walking around). Leo’s nemesis is Alice, whose dog Scanner can find Leo even when he is invisible. Will Alice reveal his secret? Will Leo be discovered by someone else? Read to find out! First in a series. 

Perfect for fans of Dogman and other goofy graphic novels!

Also available on Hoopla.

Cece Rios and the Desert of Souls 

Cece Rios and the Desert of Souls by Kaela Rivera 

Cece Rios and Desert of Souls book cover

This is a story filled with magic, and spirits. Cece is growing up in a desert community that has to protect itself from dark criaturas that menace humans during a specific time every year. Cece’s sister Juana has been stolen by the the darkest criatura of all, and she will do anything to save her. There is danger, adventure, and Cece comes to learn that not all criaturas are dark. She finds out what her powers are and how she can help everyone, human and criatura alike. Will she be able to save Juana? Read more to find out! 

Perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and other myth/folklore inspired stories!

Explore more:

Read an interview with the author.

Participate in a Read Along (watch out for spoilers!)

The Able Fables Series

Louie's Together Playground, Lia's Kind Mind, and Gary's Gigantic Dream book covers (The Able Fables series)

In the Able Fables series by Dr. Nicole Julia, we meet new friends like Gary the Giraffe and Lia the Lion, and learn about what makes each of them unique. A great new series for learning about inclusion, exploring all of our beautiful differences, and learning how to appreciate what makes us exceptional.

Diverse Books for Your Classroom

We recently held a program titled Diverse Books to Share With Your Classroom for educators in our community. Thousands of books are published every year, making it hard sometimes to keep with all the great new titles that could be used in classrooms. Library staff are happy to help by narrowing down the choices and sharing the best of the best with teachers.

We have booklists and curriculum resources for you to keep and use and share with your colleagues. Clicking that link will automatically download a zip file with all the resources.

This program was actually suggested to us by a member of the school community. If you have any other ideas for ways we can support you in your teaching, please get in touch and let us know!