Staff Picks 4 Kids Category: Science Fiction

The Infinite Lives of Maisie Day by Christopher Edge

The Infinite Lives of Maisie Day Book CoverCombine Science Fiction with Realistic Fiction and you get The Infinite Lives of Maisie Day by Christopher Edge. The realistic portion features home-schooled science and math genius Maisie and the sometimes stormy relationship with her over-protective parents and angry older sister. The story begins on her 10thbirthday and Maisie can’t wait to hopefully receive materials to make her own nuclear reactor and to celebrate with her family. However, the sci-fi portion surfaces where she seems to be in an alternate universe complete with infinite stairways, missing family, broken things reassembling, and a black abyss. Chapters alternate between these “lives of Maisie” leaving the reader wondering what’s really going on and what will happen next!

Don’t get too confident in your predictions,  as this compact story takes you on some unexpected twists and turns keeping those pages turning until the very end…. and even then you can’t help but wonder!

I recommend this book for 5th grade and up, particularly for the science fans.

Book reviewed by Carol C., Elementary School Liaison

The Many Worlds of Albie Bright by Christopher Edge

The Many Worlds of Albie Bright Book CoverWhat if an infinite number of universes with an infinite number of possibilities exist? What if you’re the person you love the most? After Albie Bright’s mother dies, his famous scientist father tries to comfort him by telling him about parallel universes. He tells Albie that according to this theory, there is a universe where his mother is alive, healthy, and happy. Since his father seems to be too busy to spend time with him, Albie makes the decision to use his mom’s laptop and what he knows about quantum physics to create a way to transfer between universes. He’s not prepared for many of the differences he encounters, and he realizes things aren’t always better in these different universes. Albie learns a lot about himself and his family as he travels through space and time.

Book reviewed by Katie D., Youth Outreach Liaison

Astronaut Academy: Zero Gravity by Dave Roman

Cover image for Astronaut Academy : zero gravityHakata Soy is an intergalactic hero. However, that all changes when his parents send him to Astronaut Academy, a space school. Now, instead of saving worlds he has to take classes like Science, which by the way is taught by an elf, and anti-gravity gymnastics. With new friends and a new school, will Hakata ever be happy? This goofy graphic novel is fun to read. It’s not only told from Hakata’s point of view, but also his school friends. It is also broken down into small chapters and the illustrations are great. Check out this graphic novel if you are interested in reading about a crazy school with some very weird students.

Book reviewed by Laura B., Youth Technology Librarian

Jedi Academy by Jeffrey Brown

Cover image for Jedi AcademyRoan’s life is over. He is never going to leave Tatooine. He didn’t get accepted into the Pilot Academy like is father and big brother and is now going to have to go to plant school. However, that changes when he receives an acceptance letter to go to the Jedi Academy. Roan doesn’t think he is a jedi. He’s never done anything like a jedi before, but he decides to go. With the help of his new friends and his teachers, Roan is about to embark on a strange fun adventure at the Jedi Academy. Now, he just has to survive it. This book is part comic, part diary, and part chapter book. Fans of Origami Yoda and Diary of a Wimpy Kid will really like this book.

Book reviewed by Laura B., Youth Technology Librarian