Staff Picks 4 Kids Category: Read Right Now

Zoey & Sassafras: Dragons & Marshmallows by Asia Citro

Cover image for Dragons and marshmallows

Zoey discovers a secret when her mom leaves on a work trip. She can see magical animals! So can her mom, who helps sick magical animals in the barn behind their house. Since her mom is away, Zoey steps in to help when a baby dragon shows up at the barn. Zoey uses the scientific method and runs an experiment to figure out what the dragon likes to eat, which includes marshmallows. You can read Dragons & Marshmallows as an e-book on Libby/Overdrive.

Anti-racist Books and Resources for Families

In turbulent times, we realize it can be helpful to use literature as a way to discuss and explain difficult situations with your children. MPPL Youth Services staff have curated a collection of books and resources to assist you as you discuss events with the youngest members of your family.

Books @ MPPL

Anti-racist Books for Families
Anti-racist Books for Pre-K-K
Anti-racist Books for grades 2-4
Anti-racist Books for Tweens (4th-6th grade)

You can place holds on these items for parking lot pick up, or many of them are also available from Hoopla, Overdrive/Libby, and RBdigital.

Resources

These resources have been vetted by library staff, however, since they are outside sites, we are not responsible for the content.

31 Children’s books to support conversations on race, racism and resistance

How White Parents Can Use Media to Raise Anti-Racist Kids

RESOURCES FOR TALKING ABOUT RACE, RACISM AND RACIALIZED VIOLENCE WITH KIDS

Becoming Upended: Teaching and Learning about Race and Racism with Young Children and Their Families

Racial Equity Tools: Children, Families, and Youth Development

Talking to Kids About Race

Your Kids Aren’t Too Young to Talk About Race: Resource Roundup

E-book-Dragons in a Bag

Cover of Dragons in a Bag by Zetta Elliott

Dragons in a Bag is the first in a series, and is a great transitional chapter book for fans of The Magic Treehouse and The Unicorn Rescue Society series. You can check out the e-book from RBdigital!

From the publisher’s description: “The dragon’s out of the bag in this diverse, young urban fantasy from an award-winning author! When Jaxon is sent to spend the day with a mean old lady his mother calls Ma, he finds out she’s not his grandmother—but she is a witch! She needs his help delivering baby dragons to a magical world where they’ll be safe. There are two rules when it comes to the dragons: don’t let them out of the bag, and don’t feed them anything sweet. Before he knows it, Jax and his friends Vikram and Kavita have broken both rules! Will Jax get the baby dragons delivered safe and sound? Or will they be lost in Brooklyn forever? AN NPR BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR A CHICAGO PUBLIC LIBRARY BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR A KIRKUS REVIEWS BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR”

E-Book & E-Audiobook – A Drop of Hope by Keith Calabrese

A Drop of Hope EbookWho couldn’t use a bit of optimism these days, and in Keith Calabrese’s book, A Drop of Hope, we get that and more! In the small town of Cliffs Donnelly, Ohio we find families experiencing some very tough times whether it’s financial or personal, and they could all use a little bit hope and help. That’s where the wishing well and an attic full of old toys comes into play. An unlikely group of new friends try to help people in town and it may be the bit of magic that pushes them over the hurdles. The author adds a bit of a mystery and adventure so there’s something for everyone.   

A Drop of Hope E-audio

Is there really magic making things happen in their town? I’ll let you decide when you read this realistic fiction book with a touch of magical realism. There’s also a quote to inspire us all: “You can’t fix the world. But you do your best in your own little corner of it.” Let’s take that drop of hope and make our corner of the world even a tiny bit better. 

This book is available as an ebook on OverDrive Digital Library and as an e-audio on Hoopla. 

Book reviewed by Carol C., Elementary School Liaison 

E-book – The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt

This book is adorable.  Duncan goes to get his crayons out at school one day and finds a stack of letters.  Each one is written by a different color crayon. Each has his reasons for needing a break.  Red feels over used because of holidays like Christmas and Valentine’s Day. Gray doesn’t like to have to be used for such big animals like elephants and hippos. Black doesn’t like being use for outlining things while the other colors are used to fill in. Of course there is drama as well. Yellow and Orange crayons are arguing about who should be the color of the sun and are no longer speaking to each other. I love how Duncan makes all the crayons happy in the end.

The Day the Crayons Quit and other books in the series are available from Libby/Overdrive.