Staff Picks 4 Kids Category: rbdigital

Anti-racist Books and Resources for Families

In turbulent times, we realize it can be helpful to use literature as a way to discuss and explain difficult situations with your children. MPPL Youth Services staff have curated a collection of books and resources to assist you as you discuss events with the youngest members of your family.

Books @ MPPL

Anti-racist Books for Families
Anti-racist Books for Pre-K-K
Anti-racist Books for grades 2-4
Anti-racist Books for Tweens (4th-6th grade)

You can place holds on these items for parking lot pick up, or many of them are also available from Hoopla, Overdrive/Libby, and RBdigital.

Hoopla collection of Audiobooks, “Talking to Kids About Race”

Resources

These resources have been vetted by library staff, however, since they are outside sites, we are not responsible for the content.

31 Children’s books to support conversations on race, racism and resistance

How White Parents Can Use Media to Raise Anti-Racist Kids

RESOURCES FOR TALKING ABOUT RACE, RACISM AND RACIALIZED VIOLENCE WITH KIDS

Becoming Upended: Teaching and Learning about Race and Racism with Young Children and Their Families

Racial Equity Tools: Children, Families, and Youth Development

Talking to Kids About Race

Your Kids Aren’t Too Young to Talk About Race: Resource Roundup

Anti-racism Resources for All Ages, curated by Dr. Nicole Cooke

E-book-Dragons in a Bag

Dragons in a Bag book cover

Dragons in a Bag is the first in a series, and is a great transitional chapter book for fans of The Magic Treehouse and The Unicorn Rescue Society series. You can check out the e-book from RBdigital!

From the publisher’s description: “The dragon’s out of the bag in this diverse, young urban fantasy from an award-winning author! When Jaxon is sent to spend the day with a mean old lady his mother calls Ma, he finds out she’s not his grandmother—but she is a witch! She needs his help delivering baby dragons to a magical world where they’ll be safe. There are two rules when it comes to the dragons: don’t let them out of the bag, and don’t feed them anything sweet. Before he knows it, Jax and his friends Vikram and Kavita have broken both rules! Will Jax get the baby dragons delivered safe and sound? Or will they be lost in Brooklyn forever? AN NPR BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR A CHICAGO PUBLIC LIBRARY BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR A KIRKUS REVIEWS BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR”