Staff Picks 4 Kids Category: Picks by Julie J.

E-audio read-along book-Dragons Love Tacos and Dragons Love Tacos 2

dragons love tacos books
image of Dragons Love Tacos and Dragons Love Tacos 2 by Adam Rubin, illustrated by Daniel Salmieri

Dragons do love tacos, but they definitely do NOT love spicy salsa! Both Dragons Love Tacos and Dragons Love Tacos 2: The Sequel are available as e-audio books with a read-along option (the text will appear on the screen) from Hoopla Digital.

Books recommended by Julie J., Assistant Head of Youth Services 

Small Spaces by Katherine Arden

Small Spaces Book Cover“Avoid large places at night—keep to small.”

This is the warning that 11 year old Olivia “Ollie” Adler gets from a distraught woman trying desperately to throw a book in the river. Ollie, a lover of books, steals it from the woman, and finds the story within is one she can’t put down. It is the story of two brothers, the girl they love, and a bargain they’ve made with a sinister figure known only as “the smiling man.” Ollie dismisses it as a made up ghost story, until a field trip to Misty Valley Farm—the location of the story—ends in a broken down bus and a warning on her previously broken digital watch to “RUN.” Can Ollie help save her classmates from the horrors lurking in the woods? Maybe—if she remembers to stick to small spaces until sunrise. For fans of Mary Downing Hahn and Goosebumps, Small Spaces by Katherine Arden is a must-read.

Book reviewed by Julie J., Assistant Head of Youth Services