Staff Picks 4 Kids Category: Picks by Julie J.

E-book-Dragons in a Bag

Dragons in a Bag book cover

Dragons in a Bag is the first in a series, and is a great transitional chapter book for fans of The Magic Treehouse and The Unicorn Rescue Society series. You can check out the e-book from RBdigital!

From the publisher’s description: “The dragon’s out of the bag in this diverse, young urban fantasy from an award-winning author! When Jaxon is sent to spend the day with a mean old lady his mother calls Ma, he finds out she’s not his grandmother—but she is a witch! She needs his help delivering baby dragons to a magical world where they’ll be safe. There are two rules when it comes to the dragons: don’t let them out of the bag, and don’t feed them anything sweet. Before he knows it, Jax and his friends Vikram and Kavita have broken both rules! Will Jax get the baby dragons delivered safe and sound? Or will they be lost in Brooklyn forever? AN NPR BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR A CHICAGO PUBLIC LIBRARY BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR A KIRKUS REVIEWS BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR”

E-book & E-audio- The Good Egg

It’s hard to be a good egg when everyone else is so rotten! A companion to The Bad Seed, this funny, thought provoking book will surely cause you and your family to laugh out loud, or at the very least, crack a smile.

The Good Egg book cover

Available from Hoopla as e-audio and from Libby/Overdrive as an e-book.

Book reviewed by Julie J., Assistant Head of Youth Services. 

E-book Carnivores by Aaron Reynolds

Aaron Reynolds is a master at writing hilarious books, and Carnivores, illustrated by Dan Santat, is no exception. This book will make you laugh while you’re learning about how carnivores actually work! This book is available as an e-book and a read-along book from RBDigital.

Carnivores book cover

Description from the publisher: “The lion is king of the jungle! The great white shark is sovereign of the seas! The timber wolf is emperor of the forests! But . . . it’s lonely at the top of the food chain. It’s difficult to fit in when plant eaters can be so cruel—just because you ate a relative of theirs that one time! What’s a carnivore to do? Aaron Reynolds’s roaringly funny text is perfectly paired with Dan Santat’s mouthwatering illustrations, creating a toothsome book that’s sure to stand out from the herd.”

Books reviewed by Julie J., Assistant Head of Youth Services 

E-audio King & Kayla series

Several titles in the King & Kayla beginning chapter book series are available as audio books from RBDigital. This series is about Kayla and her dog King, who solve mysteries in their neighborhood. Great for fans of Nate the Great and The Chicken Squad books by Cronin.

King and Kayla series

Books recommended by Julie J., Assistant Head of Youth Services 

E-book-Are You Scared, Darth Vader?

Celebrate May the Fourth (Be With You!) by reading Are You Scared, Darth Vader? by Adam Rex with all your Jedis, big and small.

Available on Hoopla, along with many other great Star Wars titles!

Are you scared, Darth Vader? audiobook cover

Book recommended by Julie J., Assistant Head of Youth Services