Staff Picks 4 Kids Category: Picks by Julie J.

You get a bundle! And YOU get a bundle!

To save time and effort for our patrons, we offer several bundles of materials that make it easy for you to grab, go, and discover new materials!

Board Book Bundles

For our youngest readers we have board book bundles: five board books for babies and toddlers that are sure to delight you. These can be found on display above the board book shelves.

null

Storytime Bundles

For slightly older children (2-7) we have Storytime Bundles. These are books on a theme and include an extension activity. Currently we offer these themes to choose from:

  • ABC
  • Adventure
  • Animals
  • Counting
  • Dinosaurs
  • Diversity
  • Funny Stories
  • Let’s Pretend
  • Staff Favorites
  • STEAM
  • Transportation
  • Under the Sea
null

Leveled Reading Bundles

Finding a good book at your child’s reading level isn’t always easy. You can get started quickly by grabbing one of our pre-made bundles. But don’t forget, we can always give you personalized recommendations for a book your child is sure to love and will be able to read successfully! For personalized suggestions, you can stop by the Youth desk or send us an email at kidsread@mppl.org. But when you’re short on time, grabbing a leveled bundle is a great option.

null

Binge Bundles / DVD&BluRay

When you’re ready to enjoy some flicks with the fam, grab a themed DVD or BluRay bundle! Why endlessly scroll through Netflix or search through our vast collection when you can just take home a ready made film festival? Whether you have a preschooler who is obsessed with trains or the whole family wants to catch up on blockbusters you might have missed, we have you covered. Current themes include:

  • Adventure
  • Animals
  • Book Films (Weston Woods and Dreamscape titles)
  • Feature Films
  • Funny
  • Princess Power
  • Sports
  • Staff Picks
  • Throwback Movies
  • Superheroes
  • Exercise & Dance
  • Transportation
null

To request these special items for Parking Lot Pickup or for the hold shelf, you can email youthserv@mppl.org or call 847/253-5675 and ask for Youth Services.

Pride Reads for Families

Read the Rainbow! To celebrate Pride Month this June, Youth Services staff have curated a collection of books that feature diverse families, identities, and ways of living. Everyone needs to see themselves reflected in books (and the world around them), and we also grow when we learn about people who are different from us! 

Be proud of who you are!
Ms Claire’s rainbow filled message for everyone

Pride books for families to enjoy together (picture books)

Pride books for 2nd-4th graders

Pride books for Tweens (4th-6th grade)

Stonewall award winning books for children

Learn About Loving Day

Loving v. Virginia (1967) was a landmark decision of the U.S. Supreme Court that struck down laws banning interracial marriage. The decision was followed by an increase in interracial marriages in the U.S. and is remembered annually on June 12th, Loving Day.

Check out these resources to learn more about multi-racial families and friendships, Loving v. Virginia, and the couple at the heart of it, Richard and Mildred Loving.

Anti-racist Books and Resources for Families

In turbulent times, we realize it can be helpful to use literature as a way to discuss and explain difficult situations with your children. MPPL Youth Services staff have curated a collection of books and resources to assist you as you discuss events with the youngest members of your family.

Books @ MPPL

Anti-racist Books for Families
Anti-racist Books for Pre-K-K
Anti-racist Books for grades 2-4
Anti-racist Books for Tweens (4th-6th grade)

You can place holds on these items for parking lot pick up, or many of them are also available from Hoopla, Overdrive/Libby, and RBdigital.

Hoopla collection of Audiobooks, “Talking to Kids About Race”

Resources

These resources have been vetted by library staff, however, since they are outside sites, we are not responsible for the content.

31 Children’s books to support conversations on race, racism and resistance

How White Parents Can Use Media to Raise Anti-Racist Kids

RESOURCES FOR TALKING ABOUT RACE, RACISM AND RACIALIZED VIOLENCE WITH KIDS

Becoming Upended: Teaching and Learning about Race and Racism with Young Children and Their Families

Racial Equity Tools: Children, Families, and Youth Development

Talking to Kids About Race

Your Kids Aren’t Too Young to Talk About Race: Resource Roundup

Anti-racism Resources for All Ages, curated by Dr. Nicole Cooke

E-book-Dragons in a Bag

Dragons in a Bag book cover

Dragons in a Bag is the first in a series, and is a great transitional chapter book for fans of The Magic Treehouse and The Unicorn Rescue Society series. You can check out the e-book from RBdigital!

From the publisher’s description: “The dragon’s out of the bag in this diverse, young urban fantasy from an award-winning author! When Jaxon is sent to spend the day with a mean old lady his mother calls Ma, he finds out she’s not his grandmother—but she is a witch! She needs his help delivering baby dragons to a magical world where they’ll be safe. There are two rules when it comes to the dragons: don’t let them out of the bag, and don’t feed them anything sweet. Before he knows it, Jax and his friends Vikram and Kavita have broken both rules! Will Jax get the baby dragons delivered safe and sound? Or will they be lost in Brooklyn forever? AN NPR BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR A CHICAGO PUBLIC LIBRARY BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR A KIRKUS REVIEWS BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR”