Staff Picks 4 Kids Category: Mystery & Suspense

Zoey & Sassafras: Dragons & Marshmallows by Asia Citro

Cover image for Dragons and marshmallows

Zoey discovers a secret when her mom leaves on a work trip. She can see magical animals! So can her mom, who helps sick magical animals in the barn behind their house. Since her mom is away, Zoey steps in to help when a baby dragon shows up at the barn. Zoey uses the scientific method and runs an experiment to figure out what the dragon likes to eat, which includes marshmallows. You can read Dragons & Marshmallows as an e-book on Libby/Overdrive.

E-audio King & Kayla series

Several titles in the King & Kayla beginning chapter book series are available as audio books from RBDigital. This series is about Kayla and her dog King, who solve mysteries in their neighborhood. Great for fans of Nate the Great and The Chicken Squad books by Cronin.

King and Kayla series

Books recommended by Julie J., Assistant Head of Youth Services 

E-book – Frida, el misterio del anillo del pavo real, y yo (Me, Frida, and the Peacock Ring) por Angela Cervantes

Frida, el misterio del anillo del pavo real, y yo Aunque tenemos que quedarnos en casa, ¡todavía podemos viajar virtualmente a México! Éste es un cuento fantástico para los que se interesen por el misterio, el arte y los viajes. A Paloma le obligan a ir a México mientras su mama termina sus estudios. Su mamá decide que Paloma debería aprender español y le encuentra tutores de la misma edad pero ellos tienen un plan para ella que va más allá de la clase. Le piden que les ayuden a resolver el misterio de un anillo perdido en forma de pavo real que pertencía a Frida Kahlo, la famosa artista mexicana. Al mismo tiempo, Palmo conoce a Tavo, un niño lindo y un poco misterioso. La investigación revela hechos sobre Frida y México, pero también hace que Paloma se sienta recelosa de todos los que la rodean. Nadie le dice toda la verdad, y parece que todos están involucrados. ¿Por qué sus amigos están buscando el anillo de pavo real y quién puede estar buscando al mismo tiempo? 

Si te interesa Frida Kahlo, Google se ha unido a 30 museos de todo el mundo para una exhibición de su arte: https://artsandculture.google.com/project/frida-kahlo 

We might be stuck at home, but there is no reason we can’t travel virtually to Mexico! This is a great story for fans of mystery, art, and travel. Paloma gets dragged to Mexico with her mother while she finishes her studies. Her mother decides Paloma should learn Spanish, and finds tutors her age, but the tutors have a plan for Paloma beyond class. They ask her to help solve the mystery of a missing peacock ring that belonged to Frida Kahlo, the famous Mexican artist. Around the same time, Paloma meets Tavo, a cute and slightly mysterious boy. The investigation reveals facts about Frida and Mexico, but it’s also making Paloma suspicious of everyone around her; no one is telling her the full story and everyone seems to be involved. Why are her friends really looking for the peacock ring, and who else might be looking at the same time?  

If you’re interested in Frida Kahlo, Google has partnered with 30 museums from around the world to showcase her art: https://artsandculture.google.com/project/frida-kahlo. This is a really special opportunity to learn more about her life and artwork. 

This ebook is available in Spanish in OverDrive’s Digital Library.  

This title is also a Caudill Award nominee for 2021.

Reseña del libro escrito por Claire B., Bibliotecaria de Alcance a los Niños 

Book reviewed by Claire B., Youth Outreach Librarian 

E-Book & E-Audiobook – Spirit Hunters  by Ellen Oh

Spirit Hunters on HooplaSeventh grader Harper Raine knows something is wrong with the old fixer-upper house that her family now calls home. Different rooms are hot or cold, and her brother has started talking to someone only he can see.  After befriending a a neighbor and learning more about the history of her house, Harper realizes she must do something fast or else her family may be in trouble. But what can she do if her own parents don’t believe her? She knows she must first uncover the important mysteries in her own past, but can she do it in time?  

This book is also available as an ebook in Overdrive’s Digital Library. It is also available as an ebook and e-audiobook on Hoopla.   

Book reviewed by Amy M., Youth Services Assistant 

Ruby and Olivia by Rachel Hawkins

Ruby and Olivia by Rachel Hawkins book coverEeeeewwww, an old, abandoned, probably haunted house! Why would you want to go inside? Ruby and Olivia have to because they have gotten into trouble and are completing community service at a summer day camp. Live Oak House needs to be cleaned up so it can be turned into a museum. As Ruby and Olivia start their duties, they hear mysterious noises and see things. Are there ghosts in the house? If so, what do they want? Find out along with Ruby and Olivia, who learn to become friends.

Book reviewed by Anne W., Youth Services Assistant