News from Youth Services Category: Graphic Novels

Where are you Leopold? The Invisibility Game

Where are you Leopold? The Invisibility Game by Michel-Yves Scmitt and Vincent Caut 

where are you leopold - the invisibility game book cover

Leopold discovers he has the power to become invisible. He and his older sister Celine have various funny adventures as he uses his power in different places (home, school, just walking around). Leo’s nemesis is Alice, whose dog Scanner can find Leo even when he is invisible. Will Alice reveal his secret? Will Leo be discovered by someone else? Read to find out! First in a series. 

Perfect for fans of Dogman and other goofy graphic novels!

Also available on Hoopla.

Cece Rios and the Desert of Souls 

Cece Rios and the Desert of Souls by Kaela Rivera 

Cece Rios and Desert of Souls book cover

This is a story filled with magic, and spirits. Cece is growing up in a desert community that has to protect itself from dark criaturas that menace humans during a specific time every year. Cece’s sister Juana has been stolen by the the darkest criatura of all, and she will do anything to save her. There is danger, adventure, and Cece comes to learn that not all criaturas are dark. She finds out what her powers are and how she can help everyone, human and criatura alike. Will she be able to save Juana? Read more to find out! 

Perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and other myth/folklore inspired stories!

Explore more:

Read an interview with the author.

Participate in a Read Along (watch out for spoilers!)

Jewish American Heritage Month

Jewish-American heritage books

May is Jewish American Heritage Month The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the generations of Jewish Americans who helped form the fabric of American history, culture and society.

https://www.jewishheritagemonth.gov/

Learn more about famous Jewish Americans, their accomplishments, and Jewish life by checking out some great books we’ve curated for you!

Another good list to check out is the Sydney Taylor Award for Jewish Childrens’ Books Winners, 1990-Present. “The Sydney Taylor Book Award is presented annually to outstanding books for children and teens that authentically portray the Jewish experience. Presented by the Association of Jewish Libraries since 1968, the award encourages the publication and widespread use of quality Judaic literature.”

Next in Series and Sequels December 2020

If you have a favorite author or series, there are a lot of new books out for you to enjoy! If you’d like to place any of these items on hold, please do, and make sure to schedule a Parking Lot Pickup appointment to come and get your next read!

(Oh, and if you love books in series, you need to know about KDL What’s Next–it will give you all the books in every series you like to read, in order! It’s very useful!)

kids books display

If you’re a Dav Pilkey fan, you’ll definitely want to read the latest book in the series, Fetch-22.

Jerry Craft’s book New Kid won the 2020 Newbery award, and his new book, Class Act, is a companion title that features Jordan’s friend Drew as the main character.

And of course, if you love the Babysitter’s Club graphic novels, then you’ll definitely want to read Baby Sitters Little Sister, and the latest book is Karen’s Roller Skates.

kids books display

Fly on the Wall is the newest book from the author of Pie in the Sky, so if you love illustrated, funny novels, you’ll enjoy both of these titles!

Chris Grabenstein has another hilarious entry in the Mr. Lemencello’s series called Mr. Lemencello and the Titanium Ticket.

And a new Stick Dog adventure is always a reason to celebrate.

kids books display

The Princess in Black and the Giant Problem is the latest book in this perfect beginning chapter book series for any kid who loves equal parts humor and adventure.

Goodbye, Mr. Terupt is the fourth book about Mr. Terupt and a group of kids who bonded in fifth grade. Now in eighth grade, this emotional book explores friendship and growing up with warmth and humor.

Three Keys by Kelly Yang is a sequel to Front Desk and continues the story of Mia Tang and her family as they run a motel and try to fit in and make friends in their new community.

kids books display

Unicorn Bowling is the latest book in the Phoebe and her Unicorn series. If you love unicorns, friendship, or used to read Calvin and Hobbes, you need to start reading this series.

Logan Likes Mary Anne! is the latest graphic novel adaptation of the super popular Babysitters Club series.

If you enjoyed Cardboard Kingdom by Chad Sell, you enjoy his newest title, Doodleville, which also features a group of creative kids who end up making art that’s more than they bargained for.

So if you’re excited for a sequel, next in series, or a new book by a favorite author, go here and place a hold today!

Staff Picks Best Books of 2020

The Youth Services staff at MPPL are happy to announce our picks for best books for kids published in 2020! Whether you need some great choices to meet your reading goal for the year, or want to buy some great books as gifts for the kids in your life, our selections have you covered! Check them out on our website.

Staff Picks Best Books of 2020

And for more great books you might have missed, here are some other end of year lists you will want to check out!

School Library Journal

Kirkus: Middle Grade

Kirkus: Picture books

Publishers Weekly Best Children’s and YA

Time Magazine: 10 Best Children’s and YA books of 2020