Staff Picks 4 Kids Category: Digital Resources

Ruth Bader Ginsburg

With the passing of Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg, many families wish to learn more about her life and her work. Check out our resource list or come see our display in Youth Services.

“Fight for the things that you care about, but do it in a way that will lead others to join you.” – Ruth Bader Ginsburg

Picture books on Hoopla

Becca has some great new picture books to tell you about that you can read right away on Hoopla!

The books Becca talked are linked below! Happy reading!

Unstoppable by Adam Rex, illustrated by Laura Park

How to Put an Octopus to Bed by Sherri Duskey Rinker, Viviane Schwarz

Play Like An Animal! Why Critters Splash, Race, Twirl, and Chase by Maria Gianferrari

Tiny T. Rex And The Very Dark Dark by Jonathan Stutzman, Jay Fleck

Learn About Juneteenth

Look up information about Juneteenth using our databases Pebble GO, a database geared for beginning readers, World Book Student and Britannica Library Children .

Place a hold on Juneteenth by Vaunda Micheaux Nelson  , which is also available as an ebook on overdrive
Place a hold on All different now by Angela Johnson 
Place a hold on Juneteenth for Maize by Floyd Cooper, which is also available as a VOX book  with built-in audio.

Harry Potter at Home & The Ickabog by J.K. Rowling

Join Daniel Radcliffe, Eddie Redmayne, and others as they read chapters from the book, Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s/Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling. Videos of each chapter reading are posted on the Web site, Wizarding World, along with other fun activities that can be done at home. This book as well as the more in the Harry Potter series are also available as e-books and e-audios through OverDrive/Libby.

J.K. Rowling has also released a free new e-book, The Ickabog, which has new chapters posting weekly. Along with reading this new book, there is a drawing competition and selected artwork that wins will be featured in the print version of The Ickabog.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone
The Ickabog

E-book-Dragons in a Bag

Dragons in a Bag book cover

Dragons in a Bag is the first in a series, and is a great transitional chapter book for fans of The Magic Treehouse and The Unicorn Rescue Society series. You can check out the e-book from RBdigital!

From the publisher’s description: “The dragon’s out of the bag in this diverse, young urban fantasy from an award-winning author! When Jaxon is sent to spend the day with a mean old lady his mother calls Ma, he finds out she’s not his grandmother—but she is a witch! She needs his help delivering baby dragons to a magical world where they’ll be safe. There are two rules when it comes to the dragons: don’t let them out of the bag, and don’t feed them anything sweet. Before he knows it, Jax and his friends Vikram and Kavita have broken both rules! Will Jax get the baby dragons delivered safe and sound? Or will they be lost in Brooklyn forever? AN NPR BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR A CHICAGO PUBLIC LIBRARY BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR A KIRKUS REVIEWS BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR”