Staff Picks For Kids

Staff Picks For Kids Blog

E-book-Dragons in a Bag

Dragons in a Bag book cover

Dragons in a Bag is the first in a series, and is a great transitional chapter book for fans of The Magic Treehouse and The Unicorn Rescue Society series. You can check out the e-book from RBdigital!

From the publisher’s description: “The dragon’s out of the bag in this diverse, young urban fantasy from an award-winning author! When Jaxon is sent to spend the day with a mean old lady his mother calls Ma, he finds out she’s not his grandmother—but she is a witch! She needs his help delivering baby dragons to a magical world where they’ll be safe. There are two rules when it comes to the dragons: don’t let them out of the bag, and don’t feed them anything sweet. Before he knows it, Jax and his friends Vikram and Kavita have broken both rules! Will Jax get the baby dragons delivered safe and sound? Or will they be lost in Brooklyn forever? AN NPR BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR A CHICAGO PUBLIC LIBRARY BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR A KIRKUS REVIEWS BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR”

E-Book & E-Audiobook – A Drop of Hope by Keith Calabrese

A Drop of Hope EbookWho couldn’t use a bit of optimism these days, and in Keith Calabrese’s book, A Drop of Hope, we get that and more! In the small town of Cliffs Donnelly, Ohio we find families experiencing some very tough times whether it’s financial or personal, and they could all use a little bit hope and help. That’s where the wishing well and an attic full of old toys comes into play. An unlikely group of new friends try to help people in town and it may be the bit of magic that pushes them over the hurdles. The author adds a bit of a mystery and adventure so there’s something for everyone.   

A Drop of Hope E-audio

Is there really magic making things happen in their town? I’ll let you decide when you read this realistic fiction book with a touch of magical realism. There’s also a quote to inspire us all: “You can’t fix the world. But you do your best in your own little corner of it.” Let’s take that drop of hope and make our corner of the world even a tiny bit better. 

This book is available as an ebook on OverDrive Digital Library and as an e-audio on Hoopla. 

Book reviewed by Carol C., Elementary School Liaison 

E-book – The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt

The-Day-The-Crayons-Quit-Cover-Image

This book is adorable.  Duncan goes to get his crayons out at school one day and finds a stack of letters.  Each one is written by a different color crayon. Each has his reasons for needing a break.  Red feels over used because of holidays like Christmas and Valentine’s Day. Gray doesn’t like to have to be used for such big animals like elephants and hippos. Black doesn’t like being use for outlining things while the other colors are used to fill in. Of course there is drama as well. Yellow and Orange crayons are arguing about who should be the color of the sun and are no longer speaking to each other. I love how Duncan makes all the crayons happy in the end.

The Day the Crayons Quit and other books in the series are available from Libby/Overdrive. 

E-audio and E-book-Clementine by Sarah Pennypacker

clementine book cover

Move over, Ramona, Junie B. Jones, and Gooney Bird Green! Clementine is here! Clementine, by Sarah Pennypacker, brings us into this 8 year old’s life, where she joins her father in fighting off pigeons, and “fixes” her friend’s hair by first cutting most of it off, and then coloring it using permanent marker (including little “squigglies” on her forehead for bangs). This is the first book of a series, so you’ll get to spend lots of time laughing and learning with Clementine.

Book reviewed by Loreen  S., Youth Services Assistant

The first book, Clementine, is available in e-audio from Overdrive/Libby, and book six, Clementine and the Spring Trip, is available as an e-book from Overdrive/Libby.