Month: October 2021

News from Youth Services Blog

Happy Diwali!

happy diwali

Shubh Diwali! Happy Diwali!

Diwali is a holiday that is celebrated in Southeast Asia and all around the world at the end of the Hindu calendar. This year, that falls on November 1st-6th. At the Mount Prospect Public Library, we love learning, so we invited two members of the community, Trisha and Gina, to tell us more about Diwali, also known as the Festival of Lights.

During Diwali, families celebrate their prosperity, the family, and the triumph of good over evil. To get ready for Diwali, many people clean their house to get rid of negative energy. A tradition called puja is how people give thanks for what they have and look forward to continuing prosperity, or well-being. There are celebrations with family and friends that include a lot of food, and sometimes fireworks. The last day of Diwali is dedicated to the relationship between brothers and sisters, and appreciating everyone you consider family.

People also decorate their homes with artwork called rangoli. Rangoli is used to welcome people to your home and is usually in front of the house using something like colored sand, colored rice, flower petals, spices or lentils. To learn more about creating rangoli, check out this craft video:

We hope you’ll have a chance to try making your own rangoli, maybe using materials that you already have at home.

In honor of Diwali, visit us at the library to pick up some rainbow scratch paper (while supplies last) and try making mess free rangoli!

Where are you Leopold? The Invisibility Game

Where are you Leopold? The Invisibility Game by Michel-Yves Scmitt and Vincent Caut 

where are you leopold - the invisibility game book cover

Leopold discovers he has the power to become invisible. He and his older sister Celine have various funny adventures as he uses his power in different places (home, school, just walking around). Leo’s nemesis is Alice, whose dog Scanner can find Leo even when he is invisible. Will Alice reveal his secret? Will Leo be discovered by someone else? Read to find out! First in a series. 

Perfect for fans of Dogman and other goofy graphic novels!

Also available on Hoopla.

Cece Rios and the Desert of Souls 

Cece Rios and the Desert of Souls by Kaela Rivera 

Cece Rios and Desert of Souls book cover

This is a story filled with magic, and spirits. Cece is growing up in a desert community that has to protect itself from dark criaturas that menace humans during a specific time every year. Cece’s sister Juana has been stolen by the the darkest criatura of all, and she will do anything to save her. There is danger, adventure, and Cece comes to learn that not all criaturas are dark. She finds out what her powers are and how she can help everyone, human and criatura alike. Will she be able to save Juana? Read more to find out! 

Perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and other myth/folklore inspired stories!

Explore more:

Read an interview with the author.

Participate in a Read Along (watch out for spoilers!)

The Able Fables Series

Louie's Together Playground, Lia's Kind Mind, and Gary's Gigantic Dream book covers (The Able Fables series)

In the Able Fables series by Dr. Nicole Julia, we meet new friends like Gary the Giraffe and Lia the Lion, and learn about what makes each of them unique. A great new series for learning about inclusion, exploring all of our beautiful differences, and learning how to appreciate what makes us exceptional.