What is the Mount Prospect Community Reading?

Picture of Response Display

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Displayed around the Library are the reviews, theme songs, and readalikes Adult Summer Reading participants are sharing! See what your fellow community members are reading and suggesting, and make sure you sign up for Summer Reading to add your voice!

Below are a few of the entries so far:

Cover of The Exile Exile by Diana Gabaldon is GREAT because I have read all the books in this series, but this is the only one told from the other main character’s point of view.

Cover of Hardest Peace
My theme song for The Hardest Peace by Kara Tibbetts is “It is Well with My Soul” because through her battle with cancer God was with her and carried her home.

Cover of Murder in Mesopotamia
Murder in Mesopotamia by Agatha Christie is favorable because the narrator of the story was so catty against all the other women. Also, Poirot does the best deconstruction of the crime.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Yes Please
Yes Please by Amy Poehler is FANTASTIC because it’s fun to listen to her observations on working moms.

Cover of Emily and Einstein
Emily and Einstein by Linda Francis Lee is a whimsical read because it has fantasy, romance, and human reflection all wrapped up in a thoughtful bundle.

Cover of Perfect Letter
The Perfect Letter by Chris Harrison is a well-written romance by The Bachelor host because the language is descriptive and the storyline flows. He even has a rose on the bottom of a page in the middle of the book!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Dare to Die
My theme song for Dare to Die by Carolyn Hart is “Better Days” by the Goo Goo Dolls because ten years after the deaths of two friends, everyone is still healing, especially Iris who meets her death trying to make amends for the past.

Cover of Finding Me
Finding Me by Michelle Knight is INSPIRING because the victim was brave and never gave up.

Cover of Vanishing Girls
Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver is thought-provoking because I wonder if you can ever really understand the relationship between sisters.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of The Martian
The Martian by Andy Weir is a big thumbs up because it is very exciting, thrilling, and fun science fiction for the non-science fiction reader.

Cover of The Middle Place
My theme song for The Middle Place by Kelly Corrigan is “The Remedy” by Jason Mraz because it’s a good reflection of the hardships combined with a solid sense of humor that Kelly faced in the book.

Cover of The Nightingale
My readalikes for The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah  are two WWII novels set in france: Sarah’s Key because it similarily goes from present to past and Suite Francaise because it has more of the same feel.