What is the Mount Prospect Community Reading?

Displayed around the Library are the reviews, theme songs, and readalikes Adult Summer Reading participants are sharing! See what your fellow community members are reading and suggesting below! Friday, July 31 is the last day of the 2015 Summer Reading program. If you haven’t checked in make sure you stop by the Fiction/AV/Teen services desk on the second floor and enter to win a prize!

Cover of Colorless
My theme song for Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki is “Years of Pilgrimage.” The characters all had reasons to love a particular song by Lizst. MPPL has several variations available. I enjoyed listening to both and reading the history.

Gabi, A Girl in Pieces
Gabi, A Girl in Pieces by Isabel Quintero is rawwsome. Gabi is a strong, funny, and totally endearing heroine I love to read about.

Dr. Mutter's Marvel
Dr. Mütter’s Marvels by Cristin O’Keefe Aptowicz is awesome if you’re interested in both history and medicine and aren’t squeamish!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of The Left Hand of DarkenssMy readalike for The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. Le Guin is Woman on the Edge of Time. Both deal interestingly with gender roles in Utopian worlds.

Cover of 60 Hikes Within 60 Miles60 Hikes Within 60 Miles: Chicago by is helpful and informative. It gives a lot of detail on hiking trails that the average person wouldn’t know.

Cover of Coincidence of Coconut CakeMy theme song for The Coincidence of Coconut Cake is “Sugar.” The coconut cake in the title is a character itself.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Lizzy and JaneLizzy & Jane by Katherine Reay is an enjoyable read. References to Jane Austin, family relationships, and cooking ties the story together.

Cover of GeektasticGeektastic: Stories from the Nerd Herd is edited by Holly Black and Cecil Castellucci is two lightsabers up. It was a wonderful, witty collection of comic book/”nerd” anecdotes.

Cover of Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold FryMy readalike for The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce is Wild. Both main characters went on a solo journey of self-discovery and forgiveness.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of MausEveryone should read Maus by Art Spiegelman. It transformed both comics and Holocaust literature. It is poignant, heartbreaking, and eye-opening.

Cover of The America's Test Kitchen HEalthy Family CookbookMy readalike for The America’s Test Kitchen Healthy Family Cookbook is The America’s Test Kitchen Baking Book. It provides solutions to common baking problems as well as helpful tips for all levels of home bakers— the science behind baking!

Cover of The Dry Grass of AugustThe Dry Grass of August by Anna Jean Mayhew is a must read in today’s world. It’s amazing that in 60 years(+) not much has changed in our world. Segregation still exists.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of An Absent MindAn Absent Mind by Eric Rill is very similar to Still Alice. It profiles a family struggling with a new diagnosis of Alzheimer’s Disease and how each member of the family copes and finally accepts the fate of the disease.

Cover of The Clutter-Busting HandbookThe Clutter-Busting Handbook by Rita Emmett is motivating. It is written in a simple and lighthearted way, which helps guide you to clear things out and keep your life clutter free.

Cover of InuYashaMy theme song for the Anime book series InuYasha created by Rumiko Takahashi is “To Loves End.” It reminds me of the relationship of the main characters.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of The End of the AffairMy readalike for The End of the Affair by Graham Greene is A Widow for One Year. Both authors are incredibly profound while perfectly describing feelings that we’ve all had. Two of my literary favorites.

Cover of Playlist for the DeadMy theme song for Playlist for the Dead by Michelle Falkoff is “How to Disappear Completely.” The protagonist of the story was fighting to figure out why his best friend disappeared.

Cover of LilaLila by Marilynne Robinson is a sweet story of love, unexpected love.