What is the Mount Prospect Community Reading?

Picture of Response Display

Displayed around the Library are the reviews, theme songs, and readalikes Adult Summer Reading participants are sharing! See what your fellow community members are reading and suggesting, and make sure you sign up for Summer Reading to add your voice!

Below are a few of the entries so far:

Bitter is the New Black
My theme song for Bitter is the New Black by Jen Lancaster is “Speak Now” by Taylor Swift because Jen does not hold anything back. She says what most of us only think.

Cover of Blackwater Spirits
Blackwater Spirits by Mirriam Grace Monfredo is powerful because of the combination of racial and gender inequality in an educational mystery.

Cover of Love the Home You Have
My theme song for Love the Home You Have by Melissa Michaels is “Love the One You’re With” because it’s the same idea of just digging what you’ve got.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of A Man Apart
A Man Apart by Peter Forbes is inspiring because it suggest ways to live closer to nature and help the environment

Cover of Little Kitchen
Little Kitchen by Sabrina Parrini has easy creative food/recipes your kids will like!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Compulsion
My readalike for Compulsion by Martina Boone is Beautiful Creatures because they are both Southern Gothic stories.

Cover of Twenties Girl
Twenties Girl by Sophie Kinselle is is funny, sweet, and reminds you of the importance of family because it centers around a great aunt who dies, but comes back as a friendly ghost to her bewildered great niece.

Cover of Brothers
Brothers by Da Chen is a great book that should be on your bucket list and/or books you should read before you die list.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Revival
My readalike for Revival by Stephen King is Leaving Time because the two books are like two sides of the same coin. They deal with family, obsession and death. Who would have thought?

Cover of Hawaii
My theme song for Hawaii by James A. Michener is “Aloha Oe” or any soothing Hawaiian music because Michner is so descriptive in his storytelling, it felt like I was in Hawaii!

Cover of Girl Underwater
Girl Underwater by Claire Kells is the gripping story of a plane crash, survival, and overcoming your fears to find the ultimate strength to fight back and find the love of your life.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of To Timbuktu
To Timbuktu by Casey Scieszka and Steven Weinberg is a great adventure book because it tells a fantastic story of two travelers taking a chance.

Cover of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe
My readalike for Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz is I’ll Give You the Sun because both are great coming of age stories about the power of forgiveness and reconnection.

Cover of The Thirteenth Tale
The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield led me to read The Turn of the Screw because both are about governesses brought in to care for children in a country manor, although written over 100 years apart.