What is the Mount Prospect Community Reading?

Picture of Response Display
Displayed around the Library are the reviews, theme songs, and readalikes Adult Summer Reading participants are sharing! See what your fellow community members are reading and suggesting, and make sure you sign up for Summer Reading to add your voice!

Below are a few of the entries so far:

Cover of Pablo
My readalike for Pablo by Julie Birmant is Vincent because it’s another great book in this Masters of Art series.

Ordinary Grace book cover My review for Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger is to have a box of tissues close because readers will fall in love with narrator Frank Drumm who steals their hearts with his wit and loyalty.

My readalike for Master and Commander by Patrick O’Brian is His Majesty’s Dragon by Naomi Novik because they’re both rollicking good naval adventures– with added dragons in the Novik series!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


My theme song for Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan is “Just Got Paid” by Johnny Kemp because the book and song both make me laugh and jump around.

Cover of The Professor's House
I loved The Professor’s House by Willa Cather! My favorite character is Tom. In the middle of the book he tells the story of discovering a lost city that once belonged to Native Americans. I can’t stop looking at real pictures of lost cities like Cather described.

Cover of The Juliet Club
The Juliet Club by Suzanne Harper is a great book because the book is very enjoyable and about love letters.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Cuentos de Eva Luna
My readalike for Cuentos de Eva Luna by Isabel Allende is Arrancame la Vida because of the romance and story seen from a woman’s eye.

The Book of Lost Things book cover
My readalike for The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly is any of the Brothers Grimms Tales books because it incorporates those tales in their original, dark versions (not as Disney did them).

Cover of Everybody's Got Something
My theme song for Everybody’s Got Something by Robin Roberts is “A Beautiful Day” because of its inspirational lyrics.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of The Stranger
The Stranger is Harlan Coben at his best, because the book will hold your interest to the last. Surprise ending– you won’t see it coming!

Cover of Objects of My Affection
My readalike for Objects of My Affection by Jill Smolinski is Me Before You because in both book the main character is contemplating suicide, with another character looking to change their minds.

Cover of The Residence: Inside the Private World of the White House
My theme song for The Residence is “Hail to the Chief” because the residence is the White House!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of The Dream LoverMy review for The Dream Lover by Elizabeth Berg is a it’s a wonderful fiction novel based on the life of author George Sand and her avant-garde life at the time.

Cover of Where the Heart Is
My review for Where the Heart Is by Billie Letts is heart touching because a young girl learns that not everyone is trustworthy.

Cover of Heat Rises
My review for Heat Rises by Richard Castle is that it is exciting and fast-paced because reading it feels similar to watching a good episode of the T.V. show Castle.