Standouts Among the Fantastic

Yiddish Policemen's Union book coverThe Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America recently announced the 2008 Nebula Awards, and your library has the winning selections!  The much-celebrated best novel is Michael Chabon’s The Yiddish Policemen’s Union, an unusual and creative story of alternate history.  Ted Chiang earned his fourth Nebula for the novelette The Merchant and the Alchemist’s Gate.  In the category of best script, Pan’s Labyrinth by Guillermo del Toro was honored.  J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows won the Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy.  Veteran science fiction writer Michael Moorcock was named the Grand Master, and Ardath Mayhar was singled out as the year’s Author Emeritus.  Each year the SFWA publishes an anthology of the year’s best science fiction and fantasy writing, including the winning pieces of short fiction and several runners-up.  What better way to sample imaginative writing that is simply out-of-this-world?