Fiction: Sometimes I Lie and Sometimes I Don’t by Nadja Spiegel

Picture of Summer Reading House headerThere are 5 more days until the end of Summer Reading! Every day during our countdown we will be featuring slices of library life, books, and topics designed to help you out as you work through 2017 Summer Reading at Mount Prospect. Read more about how you can join in on this celebration of reading and enter to win prizes!

sometimes i lie and sometimes i don't book cover

“It’s like that feeling in church when you accidentally drop the car keys you’ve been fidgeting away with. It feels like breathing in and trembling and waiting and waiting until someone says you can breathe out. And that’s how it should be.”

In the vein of Miranda July and Lauren Holmes, Nadja Spiegel curiously pokes at the emotional side of living in her debut collection of stories, Sometimes I Lie and Sometimes I Don’t. Most of the stories in this collection don’t have much of a plot, rather choosing to spend it’s time weaving in and out of sharing observations and exploring relationships between family, friends, lovers, and acquaintances. If you were drawn to the experimental style of Jenny Offil’s Dept. of Speculation, Spiegel’s suave ability of playing with structure and narration will be an extra treat.

Read this for summer reading!

For the DIY Designers…
This book may be counted as a book of short stories or a book under 150 pages.

For the Master Class Designers…
This may count as a book that has been translated from another language, a book of short stories or as a book highlighted on the MPPL website.