Month: July 2017

Check It Out Blog

Fiction: Seven Minutes in Heaven by Eloisa James

Seven Minutes in Heaven book coverBestselling author Eloisa James is back with the latest entry in her “Desperate Duchesses” series, Seven Minutes in Heaven. After the death of his mother, Ward, an illegitimate son of an earl is desperately seeking a suitable governess to help him win a custody battle for his younger siblings. He sets his eyes on Eugenia, a widow who created and is running a successful governess company. No one is good enough except for her. An arrogant man used to getting what he wants, Ward doesn’t realize there is far more to Eugenia than he may realize and his budding attraction may have big consequences.

 

Nonfiction: We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

We Should All Be Feminists book cover

We Should All Be Feminists is not what you might think. This is no academic or political diatribe. It is declarative, yes, but it is also gentle. Adapted from her powerful TED Talk, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie calls out the dated understanding of the word feminist and uses personal stories to illustrate what feminism both is and should be in the 21st century. She seeks to open the discussion so that we listen to one another and then take steps to bring about positive change. As you might expect from the craft of a gifted novelist, these mere 52 pages are beautifully articulated and designed to meet the reader wherever he or she may be.

Graphic Novel: Eisner Award Winners 2017

The 2017 Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards were announced at the recent Comic-Con International in San Diego.  Try some of these outstanding graphic novels among this year’s winners:

Best Graphic Album (New)
Wonder Woman: The True Amazon
by Jill ThompsonA Princess Diana unlike any we’ve seen before. As a child, she is spoiled and free to exert her will without restraint — until her selfishness leads to tragic results. Before she can become a hero, she will first have to find redemption.
Best Graphic Album (Reprint)
Demon
by Jason ShigaNo matter how hard he tries, Jimmy Yee cannot die. A noose around his neck, a razor across his wrist, and even a bullet to his head all yield the same results: he awakes from each suicide attempt, miraculously unharmed, in his shabby room at the Sunbeam Motel. Has he gone mad? Or has he truly died and found himself in hell? Jimmy is willing to tear the world down around him to get at the truth.

 

Best Limited Series
The Vision
by Tom King, Gabriel WaltaThe Vision wants to be human, and what’s more human than family? So he heads back to the laboratory where Ultron created him and molded him into a weapon. There, he builds them. They look like him. They have his powers. What could possibly go wrong?
Best Continuing Series, Best Writer, Best Penciller/Inker, Best Cover Artist
Saga
by Brian K. Vaughan, Fiona StaplesWhen two soldiers from opposite sides of a never-ending galactic war fall in love, they risk everything to bring a fragile new life into a dangerous old universe.
Best U.S. Edition of International Material
The World of Edena
by MoebiusStel and Atan are interstellar repairmen searching for a lost space station and its crew. Their journey takes them to the mythical paradise planet Edena where they unwittingly and unwillingly join a multidimensional battle between good and evil.

 

Best U.S. Edition of International Material (Asia), Best Writer/Artist, Best Publication Design
The Art of Charlie Chan Hock Chye
by Sonny LiewMeet Charlie Chan Hock Chye. Now in his early 70s as he looks back on his career, Chan has spent a lifetime making comics in his native Singapore since he was a boy of 16, in 1954. The artist doubles here as both the narrator and the subject matter, as his life story parallels the changes in Singapore over five decades since the war.
Best Reality-Based Work
March (Book 3)
by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, Nate PowellWelcome to the stunning conclusion of the award-winning and best-selling MARCH trilogy. Congressman John Lewis, an American icon and one of the key figures of the civil rights movement, joins co-writer Andrew Aydin and artist Nate Powell to bring the lessons of history to vivid life for a new generation, urgently relevant for today’s world.
Best Publication for Teens
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl
by Ryan North and Erica HendersonOn a trip to Canada to visit her mom, Doreen teams up with Ant-Man when the Taskmaster strikes, but it turns out to be Mew, Nancy’s cat, who saves the day.

 

 

 

Best Humor Publication
Jughead
by Chip Zdarsky, Erica HendersonRiverdale High prides itself on providing a quality education. But to Jughead Jones, what matters most is meal time–and Riverdale delivers solid midday chow. But when that sacred time is tampered with by a hot-headed new principal, Jughead swears vengeance! Can the burger-loving beanpole curry enough favor (see what we did there?) to rollback the cuisine catastrophe?
Best Anthology
Love Is Love
edited by Sarah Gaydos and Jamie S. RichThe comic book industry comes together to support the survivors and honor those killed at the Pulse nightclub in Orlando, Florida, on June 12, 2016. Writers and artists from across the globe have created exclusive new material expressing their sorrow, compassion, frustration, and hope, all inspired by the tragic events.
Best Digital Comic
Bandette
by Paul Tobin, Colleen CooverBandette, greatest thief in all the lands, uncovers the greatest of all mysteries! A clue to the location of the legendary House of the Green Mask! But the sinister Voice is after the same treasure, and sent a deadly assassin after the same secrets! Worse, he’s stolen the dearest thing to Bandette’s heart. Now, she’s after revenge!

Fiction: Sometimes I Lie and Sometimes I Don’t by Nadja Spiegel

sometimes i lie and sometimes i don't book cover

“It’s like that feeling in church when you accidentally drop the car keys you’ve been fidgeting away with. It feels like breathing in and trembling and waiting and waiting until someone says you can breathe out. And that’s how it should be.”

In the vein of Miranda July and Lauren Holmes, Nadja Spiegel curiously pokes at the emotional side of living in her debut collection of stories, Sometimes I Lie and Sometimes I Don’t. Most of the stories in this collection don’t have much of a plot, rather choosing to spend it’s time weaving in and out of sharing observations and exploring relationships between family, friends, lovers, and acquaintances. If you were drawn to the experimental style of Jenny Offil’s Dept. of Speculation, Spiegel’s suave ability of playing with structure and narration will be an extra treat.

Audiobook: The Strange Library by Haruki Murakami

Strange Library audiobook cover

For most of us, the prospect of being imprisoned in a library seems more dream than nightmare, but in the hands of Haruki Murakami, we might have to think twice. The Strange Library, a surreal tale full of tentative wonder and vague dread, is an experience that lasts only a single hour. Narrator Kirby Heyborne plays the odd characters with just the right touch of near-caricature appropriate for this fable, which adds to the distorted fun house experience. This light introduction into Japanese magical realism may be the right portion to tempt fans of the series Twin Peaks.