Lists and Suggestions

List: Historical Fiction

Hoffman, Alice.

A tale inspired by the tragic first-century massacre of hundreds of Jewish people at Masada presents...

Joinson, Suzanne.

In 1923, devout Eva English and her not-so-religious sister Lizzie embark on a journey to be mission...

McFadden, Bernice L., author.

During World War II, two African American musicians, Harlan and Lizard, are captured by the Nazis in...

Rindell, Suzanne, author.

"Louis Thorn and Haruto "Harry" Yamada--Eagle and Crane--are the star attractions of ...

Tanabe, Karin, author.

"Since childhood, Anita Hemmings has longed to attend the country's most exclusive school ...

Perry, Sarah, 1979- author.

When Cora Seaborne's domineering husband dies, she steps into her new life as a widow with as m...

McBride, James, 1957-

Fleeing his violent master at the side of abolitionist John Brown at the height of the slavery debat...

Moran, Michelle, author.

"When the British Empire sets its sights on India in the mid-nineteenth century, it expects a q...

Rees, Tracy, author.

It is 1831 when eight-year-old Aurelia Vennaway finds a naked baby girl abandoned in the snow on the...

George, Margaret, 1943- author.

"New York Times bestselling author Margaret George has brought history to vivid life with her c...

Randel, Weina Dai.

A concubine at the palace learns quickly that there are many ways to capture the Emperor's att...

Earling, Debra Magpie.

Louise White Elk dreams of both belonging and escape, and of discovering love and freedom on her own...

Lico Albanese, Laurie, 1959- author.

"From the dawn of the twentieth century to the devastation of World War II, this exhilarating n...

Montefiore, Santa, 1970- author.

In the green hills of West Cork, Ireland, Castle Deverill has burned to the ground. But young Celia ...

Wang, Daren, 1965- author.

Rooted in the history of the only secessionist town north of the Mason Dixon Line, Daren Wang's...

Andrews, Mesu, 1963- author.

"In this epic Biblical narrative, ideal for fans of The Bible miniseries, a young woman taken i...

Doctorow, E. L., 1931-2015.

Recounts the interrelated early twentieth-century lives of the families of a New Rochelle manufactur...

Iggulden, Conn.

After gentle Henry VI takes the throne and is promised a royal bride from France, the rival royal li...

Hickson, Joanna.

Her beauty fuelled a war. Her courage captured a king. Her passion would launch the Tudor dyna...

Macallister, Greer, author.

Widowed and in need of a job, Kate Warne convinces Allan Pinkerton that a female detective can go pl...

Kutsukake, Lynne, author.

An emotionally gripping portrait of post-war Japan, where a newly repatriated girl must help a class...

Parker, Michael, 1959-

Set along the Outer Banks of North Carolina in the 1800's and the 1970s, the novel follows Theo...

Holloway, Meghan, author.

"Rhys Gravenor, Great War veteran-turned-farmer, arrives in Paris in the midst of the city'...

Waters, Sarah, 1966-

Nancy Astley, a fishmonger in Whitstable, becomes smitten by male impersonator Kitty Butler and atte...

Edugyan, Esi, author.

Eleven-year-old George Washington Black - or Wash - a field slave on a Barbados sugar plantation, is...

Silko, Leslie Marmon, 1948- author.

Tayo, a young Native American, has been a prisoner of the Japanese during World War II, and the hor...

Mathis, Ayana.

In 1923, fifteen-year-old Hattie Shepherd flees Georgia and settles in Philadelphia, hoping for a c...