Lists and Suggestions

List: Women's History Month: Groundbreaking Women Authors

Wilkinson, Lauren, 1984- author.

1986, the heart of the Cold War. A young black woman working in an old boys' club, Marie Mitch...

Braithwaite, Oyinkan, author.

"Satire meets slasher in this short, darkly funny hand grenade of a novel about a Nigerian wom...

Jemisin, N. K.

Three terrible things happen in a single day. Essun, masquerading as an ordinary schoolteacher in a...

Tartt, Donna, author.

"The author of the classic bestsellers The Secret History and The Little Friend returns with a...

Miller, Madeline, author.

Follows Circe, the banished witch daughter of Helios, as she hones her powers and interacts with fa...

Locke, Attica.

In the tradition of Greg Iles and Dennis Lehane comes a powerful new voice in American fiction. Loc...

Evaristo, Bernardine, 1959- author.

The twelve central characters of this multi-voiced novel lead vastly different lives: Amma is a new...

Garrett, Kellye, 1978- author.

Dayna Anderson doesn't set out to solve a murder. All the semi-famous, mega-broke actress want...

Thomas, Angie, author.

After witnessing her friend's death at the hands of a police officer, Starr Carter's life...

Mandel, Emily St. John, 1979-

"An audacious, darkly glittering novel about art, fame, and ambition set in the eerie days of ...

See, Lisa.

In nineteenth century China, in a remote Hunan county, a girl named Lily, at the tender age of seve...

Ware, Ruth, author.

When reclusive writer Leonora is invited to the English countryside for a weekend away, she relucta...

Adichie, Chimamanda Ngozi, 1977-

With the effortless grace of a natural storyteller, Adichie weaves together the lives of five chara...

Steel, Danielle, author.

When her life of privilege is upended by a terrorist attack that ends her parents' lives, a co...

Morrison, Toni.

In exchange for a bad debt, an Anglo-Dutch trader takes on Florens, a young slave girl, who feels a...

Lahiri, Jhumpa.

Stories about Indians in India and America. The story, A Temporary Matter, is on mixed marriage, Mr...

Allende, Isabel, author.

"In the late 1930s, civil war gripped Spain. When General Franco and his Fascists succeed in o...

Emezi, Akwaeke, author.

An extraordinary debut novel, Freshwater explores the surreal experience of having a fractured self...

Erdrich, Louise.

"One Sunday in the spring of 1988, a woman living on a reservation in North Dakota is attacked...

Solomon, Rivers, author.

"Aster has little to offer folks in the way of rebuttal when they call her ogre and freak. She...

Kaur, Rupi, author.

Milk and honey is a collection of poetry and prose about survival. About the experience of violence...

Jalaluddin, Uzma, author.

Ayesha Shamsi has a lot going on. Her dreams of being a poet have been set aside for a teaching job...

Ng, Celeste, author.

From the bestselling author of Everything I Never Told You, the intertwined stories of the picture-...

Han, Kang, 1970- author.

"Before the nightmares began, Yeong-hye and her husband lived an ordinary, controlled life. Bu...

Ward, Jesmyn, author.

Living with his grandparents and sister on a Gulf Coast farm, Jojo navigates the challenges of his ...

Hoang, Helen, author.

"A heartwarming and refreshing debut novel that proves one thing: there's not enough data...

Acevedo, Elizabeth, author.

"Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her b...

Rooney, Sally, author.

"At school Connell and Marianne pretend not to know each other. He's popular and well-adj...

Gyasi, Yaa, author.

"Two half sisters, Effia and Esi, unknown to each other, are born into two different tribal vi...