Find
10 South Emerson, Mount Prospect, IL 60056 | 847/253-5675
Font:

Teen Blog

Book Trailer of the Week– Ketchup Clouds by Annabel Pitcher

This week’s book trailer of the week is for Ketchup Clouds by Annabel Pitcher.  Originally published in the UK, this novel centers on 15-year-old Zoe.  She writes to a Death Row inmate in Texas, because she believes she is also a murderer and wants to tell someone about it.  Her letters chronicle her relationships with two brothers, Max and Aaron, and how the romances she developed with each brother ended in tragedy.  It isn’t until the end of the novel that you find out what happened, which brother dies, and if Zoe is really a murderer.  Click here to find Ketchup Clouds in the Library!

 

By Colleen, Teen Services Librarian on January 17, 2014 Categories: Book Trailer, Fiction, Mystery, Realistic Fiction, Romance

Book Trailer of the Week– Paper Towns by John Green

This week’s book trailer of the week is for Paper Towns by John GreenPaper Towns is not a new novel by John Green, it was published in 2008, but Bloomsbury Publishing just released a pretty cool trailer for the novel.  So, if you really liked The Fault in Our Stars, then you should definitely check out Paper Towns.  It centers on Quinten or Q, who has been in love with his next store neighbor, Margo, since they were kids.  So when she disappears, Q is determined to follow the clues she has left to find out whether or not she has just run away or if she has actually committed suicide.  Click here to find Paper Towns in the Library!

By Colleen, Teen Services Librarian on January 10, 2014 Categories: Book Trailer, Fiction, High School, Issues, Mystery, Realistic Fiction, Romance

Book Trailer of the Week– Teardrop by Lauren Kate

This week’s book trailer of the week is for Teardrop by Lauren Kate.  Eureka’s world changed when she and her mother were involved in a freak accident that left her mother dead.  Left to try and make sense of her new life living with her stepmother and father, Eureka is both physically and emotionally scarred.  As she tries to heal, Eureka finds solace in two different guys.  One, her childhood best friend, Brooks, has always been there for her.  Another, is the mysterious new guy, Ander, who Eureka can’t help feeling connected to.  Ander also leads Eureka to a discovery about her family’s history that will change her life forever.  Click here to find Teardrop in the Library today!

By Colleen, Teen Services Librarian on January 4, 2014 Categories: Book Trailer, Fantasy, Fiction, Romance, Supernatural/Paranormal

Book Trailer of the Week– the first clip released from Divergent the movie!

Interesting choice for the first official clip from the upcoming Divergent movie, since it is a quiet and emotional moment between Tris and four.  But it is a great look at what to expect from the two actors who will portray the two main characters.  Here it is:

What did you think!?  Divergent will hit movie theaters in March 2014.  If you haven’t read any of the books in the trilogy or you want to re-read them, follow the links below to find them in the Library!

Divergent trilogy by Veronica Roth

  1. Divergent
  2. Insurgent
  3. Allegiant

 

By Colleen, Teen Services Librarian on December 27, 2013 Categories: Action/Adventure, Book Trailer, Dystopian, Fiction, Movies

Book Trailer of the Week– Belle Epoque by Elizabeth Ross

This week’s book trailer of the week is for Belle Epoque by Elizabeth Ross.  Set in Paris in the late 1800’s, this novel centers on Maude, who is so plain and even some would say ugly, that she lands a job as a repoussoir.  As a repoussoir, Maude is hired to be friend to Isabel by her mother to make Isabel appear, in contrast to Maude,  more attractive and appealing to suitors.  However, it is hard for Maude to separate her job from the friendship and soon she is tangled in drama and deceit.  Click here to find Belle Epoque in the Library today!

By Colleen, Teen Services Librarian on December 20, 2013 Categories: Book Trailer, Fiction, Historical Fiction

Book Trailer of the Week– After the Snow by S.D. Crockett

This week’s book trailer of the week is for After the Snow by S.D. Crockett.  The United States has plunged into a new Ice Age, and Willo has never known a world that hasn’t been covered in snow and ice and cold.  After returning from a hunt, Willo finds that his family is missing and can only assume that they have been taken away.  He sets out to find them, but he instead finds a girl about his age who has also lost her family.  Willo can’t just leave her in the cold to die, so he commits to helping her just until she can get to a safe place.  What Willo doesn’t know, however, is that fate will tie him to her as they discover the world is not at all what they thought it is.  This is definitely a great winter read, if you’re OK with embracing the cold weather! Click here to find After the Snow in the Library!

By Colleen, Teen Services Librarian on December 13, 2013 Categories: Action/Adventure, Book Trailer, Fiction, Science Fiction

Book Trailer of the Week– Blood Red Road by Moira Young

This week’s book trailer of the week is for Blood Red Road by Moira Young.  Fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent will enjoy this post-apocalyptic novel that centers on Saba, whose father has just been murdered and brother kidnapped.  Saba sets off (tailed by her younger sister) to retrieve her twin brother and to do so she has to cross a brutal desert.  She and her sister survive the trek, only to be captured themselves, and Saba is forced to become a female gladiator, fighting for her life in an arena for the entertainment of others.  Can Saba escape and save her family?  Click here to find Blood Red Road in the Library!

By Colleen, Teen Services Librarian on December 6, 2013 Categories: Action/Adventure, Book Trailer, Fiction

Book Trailer of the Week– The Burning Sky by Sherry Thomas

This week’s book trailer of the week is for The Burning Sky by Sherry Thomas.  Iolanthe and Titus have a great destiny.  The two mages will overthrow the evil Bane.  Titus has been searching and waiting to find the mage that is the key in helping him overthrow the tyrant.  When he finally finds her (seeing the sign of a powerful lightning bolt) he discovers Iolanthe, who is woefully unprepared for her destiny.  To keep her safe until she is ready, Titus hides her in disguise at a London school for boys, until they are both ready to do whatever it takes to fulfill their destinies. Click here to find The Burning Sky in the Library!

By Colleen, Teen Services Librarian on November 29, 2013 Categories: Action/Adventure, Book Trailer, Fantasy, Fiction, Supernatural/Paranormal

Book Trailer of the Week– The Miseducation of Cameron Post by emily m. danforth

This week’s book trailer of the week is for The Miseducation of Cameron Post by emily m. danforth.  Set in the early 90’s, The Miseducation of Cameron Post, tells the emotionally packed coming of age story of Cam.  The day before Cam’s parents died in a car accident, Cam shared a life change kiss with her best friend Irene.  Cam’s conservative aunt moves her to Minnesota and chooses to raise Cam in a very strict and structured way.  As Cam grows up she definitely identifies herself as a lesbian and eventually falls in love with a bisexual girl named Corey.  When Cam’s aunt discovers their relationship she sends Cam to a religious conversion school.  Ironically, it is through the friendships she makes there, and not the teachings, that allow Cam to come to terms with her true identity and feel comfortable in her own skin.  Click here to find The Miseducation of Cameron Post in the Library!

By Colleen, Teen Services Librarian on November 22, 2013 Categories: Book Trailer, Fiction, GLBTQ, Realistic Fiction, Romance

Book Trailer of the Week– The Way We Fall by Megan Crewe

This week’s book traile of the week is for The Way We Fall by Megan Crewe.  Kaelyn lives with her family on a small remote island in Canada.  A disease has broken out on the island and though it starts like an ordinary flu, it turns someone crazy before it ends up killing them.  Kaelyn is watching everyone around her get sick and is chronicling what happens in letters to her good friend Leo, who has gone away to attend school on the mainland.  Soon the island is quarantined and as people die around her, Kaelyn has to fight to survive.  Click here to find The Way We Fall in the Library!

By Colleen, Teen Services Librarian on November 15, 2013 Categories: Action/Adventure, Book Trailer, Fiction, Horror, Mystery, Science Fiction