Find
10 South Emerson, Mount Prospect, IL 60056 | 847/253-5675
Font:

Archive for December, 2013

Best Teen Books of the Year

Today is the last day of 2013!  What was your favorite teen book published this year?  Can’t decide?  Take a look at what some of the book, news, and media outlets thought were the best books from 2013:

School Library Journal

Winding down a list of hundreds of books, here’s a few highlighted titles that the editors of School Library Journal selected as best fiction from 2013.  Click on the covers to find them in the Library!

All the truth that's in meReality BoyYaquiMore Than This

Also checkout SLJ’s list of best 2013 nonfiction and adult books for teens!

Goodreads

Goodreads has their Choice Awards every year, where users get to vote for their favorite titles of the year.

The winner for best Young Adult Fiction of 2013: Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell!

eleanor and park

The winner for best Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy: Allegiant by Veronica Roth!

allegiant

The winner for best Graphic Novels & Comics: Beautiful Creatures: the Manga by Kami Garcia , Maragaret Stohl, and Cassandra Jean!

Beautiful Creatures manga

The winner for best Middle Grade and Children’s: The House of Hades by Rick Riordan!

House of Hades

Publishers Weekly

Publisher’s Weekly’s list highlight their editor’s picks of the yearThey also have a nonfiction list.  Below are a few highlights from PW’s picks.  Click on the cover to find the titles in the Library!

Bad MachineryMaggot MoonInfinite Moment of Us

Amazon

Amazon’s pick for the best teen book of 2013 is Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor & Park, but they also put out a list of what their editors pick as the top 20 books of the year for teens.  Click here to see that list and click on the cover below to find Eleanor & Park at the Library!

eleanor and park

Mashable

Mashable is an online news source for the Connected Generation.  Earlier this month they posted their top 11 books for teens of 2013.  Click on the cover to find the highlighted titles from Mashable’s list in the Library!

Forgive Me Leaonard Peacockwhen you were hereBeing Henry DavidDr. Bird's Advice

The Horn Book

The Horn Book’s staff and reviewers put out their Fanfare list every year.  Click on the covers below to find some of the teen books that made The Horn Book’s 2013 Fanfare list:

Far Far AwayCorner of WhiteBoxersSaints

NPR

NPR puts out a guide to the best books every year, click on the covers below to find some of their picks for the best teen books of 2013:

summer princegorgeousColdest Girl in ColdtownRose Under Fire

Buzzfeed

Buzzfeed is a great site for all things pop culture!  A week ago they posted their picks for the top 21 YA books of 2013.  Click on the covers below to find some of the highlighted suggestions at the Library:

This song will save your lifeJust One Day5th WaveOut of the Easy

I hope some of your favorites of this year made a list!  These lists are also a great way to find a really good book to read next!!!

By Colleen, Teen Services Librarian on December 31, 2013 Categories: Fiction, Nonfiction, Trending

Book Trailer of the Week– the first clip released from Divergent the movie!

Interesting choice for the first official clip from the upcoming Divergent movie, since it is a quiet and emotional moment between Tris and four.  But it is a great look at what to expect from the two actors who will portray the two main characters.  Here it is:

What did you think!?  Divergent will hit movie theaters in March 2014.  If you haven’t read any of the books in the trilogy or you want to re-read them, follow the links below to find them in the Library!

Divergent trilogy by Veronica Roth

  1. Divergent
  2. Insurgent
  3. Allegiant

 

By Colleen, Teen Services Librarian on December 27, 2013 Categories: Action/Adventure, Book Trailer, Dystopian, Fiction, Movies

Book Trailer of the Week– Belle Epoque by Elizabeth Ross

This week’s book trailer of the week is for Belle Epoque by Elizabeth Ross.  Set in Paris in the late 1800’s, this novel centers on Maude, who is so plain and even some would say ugly, that she lands a job as a repoussoir.  As a repoussoir, Maude is hired to be friend to Isabel by her mother to make Isabel appear, in contrast to Maude,  more attractive and appealing to suitors.  However, it is hard for Maude to separate her job from the friendship and soon she is tangled in drama and deceit.  Click here to find Belle Epoque in the Library today!

By Colleen, Teen Services Librarian on December 20, 2013 Categories: Book Trailer, Fiction, Historical Fiction

Join us for Giftable Crafts this Saturday!

Need gifts for the holidays? Want them to be unique and handmade? We’ve got you covered. Join us for this craftstravaganza where you can make a no-sew scarf, a wood-block painting, or a paper snowflake or ornament. Click here to register for the program!

For teens in grades 6 – 12.

By Colleen, Teen Services Librarian on December 19, 2013 Categories: Crafts, Events

Book Trailer of the Week– After the Snow by S.D. Crockett

This week’s book trailer of the week is for After the Snow by S.D. Crockett.  The United States has plunged into a new Ice Age, and Willo has never known a world that hasn’t been covered in snow and ice and cold.  After returning from a hunt, Willo finds that his family is missing and can only assume that they have been taken away.  He sets out to find them, but he instead finds a girl about his age who has also lost her family.  Willo can’t just leave her in the cold to die, so he commits to helping her just until she can get to a safe place.  What Willo doesn’t know, however, is that fate will tie him to her as they discover the world is not at all what they thought it is.  This is definitely a great winter read, if you’re OK with embracing the cold weather! Click here to find After the Snow in the Library!

By Colleen, Teen Services Librarian on December 13, 2013 Categories: Action/Adventure, Book Trailer, Fiction, Science Fiction

Winter Break is coming up– check out some of our gaming suggestions for teens!

Looking for ways to spend your days relaxing this winter break?  Check out this Mental Floss post about 11 Classic Video Games You Can Play Online.  Personally, we can never get tired of Pacman! Also, be sure to check in at the Library, where we have an extensive video game collection for teens.  Click on some of the images below to see if some of these staff favorites are checked in today!

WWE-Smackdown-vs-Raw-2010SuperSmashBrosBrawlBeatles Rock BandLegend of Zelda

batman arkham originsMortal Kombat vs DC UniverseInjusticeSuper Street Fighter Arcade edNeed For Speed Most Wanted

Sims3Dragon ball zJust Dance 2014

By Colleen, Teen Services Librarian on December 12, 2013 Categories: Action/Adventure, Staff Pics, Trending

Book Trailer of the Week– Blood Red Road by Moira Young

This week’s book trailer of the week is for Blood Red Road by Moira Young.  Fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent will enjoy this post-apocalyptic novel that centers on Saba, whose father has just been murdered and brother kidnapped.  Saba sets off (tailed by her younger sister) to retrieve her twin brother and to do so she has to cross a brutal desert.  She and her sister survive the trek, only to be captured themselves, and Saba is forced to become a female gladiator, fighting for her life in an arena for the entertainment of others.  Can Saba escape and save her family?  Click here to find Blood Red Road in the Library!

By Colleen, Teen Services Librarian on December 6, 2013 Categories: Action/Adventure, Book Trailer, Fiction

Join us for the Teen Knitting/Crocheting Club!

Are you an expert with knitting or crochet needles, just learning, or want to learn?  Then join us on Friday, December 6, from 4 – 6 p.m. for the monthly Teen Knitting/Crocheting Club meeting at the Library.  We have yarn, needles, and the know-how to teach the basics of knitting and crocheting. You can also bring your own supplies – and your friends – for an afternoon of sharing ideas and conversation. Refreshments will be served.

Click here to register for the Teen Knitting/Crocheting Club!

By Colleen, Teen Services Librarian on December 5, 2013 Categories: Crafts, Events