Find
10 South Emerson, Mount Prospect, IL 60056 | 847/253-5675
Font:

Staff Picks 4 Kids

The Humming Room by Ellen Potter

Humming RoomThe Humming Room byEllen Potter was inspired by The Secret Garden, but is really more of a modern retelling of the story.  After her father dies, Roo moves in with her reclusive uncle on an island and discovers mysterious humming noises coming from a forbidden wing of the house.  Soon she discovers a dying, walled-up garden and tries to bring it back to life.  Fans of the classic will enjoy this new shorter tale, as well as those unfamiliar with or intimidated by the size of The Secret Garden.

Book reviewed by Keary B., Youth Collection Specialist

By bjones on October 29, 2012 Categories: For Grades 4-6, Picks by Keary B.

The Humming Room by Ellen Potter

Humming RoomThe Humming Room byEllen Potter was inspired by The Secret Garden, but is really more of a modern retelling of the story.  After her father dies, Roo moves in with her reclusive uncle on an island and discovers mysterious humming noises coming from a forbidden wing of the house.  Soon she discovers a dying, walled-up garden and tries to bring it back to life.  Fans of the classic will enjoy this new shorter tale, as well as those unfamiliar with or intimidated by the size of The Secret Garden.

Book reviewed by Keary B., Youth Collection Specialist

By MPPL on Categories: For Grades 4-6, Picks by Keary B.

The Trouble with Chickens by Doreen Cronin

Trouble with ChickensThe Trouble with Chickens by Doreen Cronin. J.J. Tully, a retired search-and-rescue dog, hopes to enjoy a peaceful afternoon. But instead, he is called to the aid of Moosh, a worried mother hen, and her chicks, Dirt and Sugar, who need help tracking down some missing members of the family!  It seems that the missing chicks have been chicknapped by Vince the Funnel, but who knows what will happen when Tully plans a rescue mission!  Cartoon illustrations only add to the fun making this fast-paced mystery a good choice for beginner chapter book readers. Also makes a great family read aloud!

 Book reviewed by Keary B., Youth Collection Specialist

By bjones on September 24, 2012 Categories: For Grades 2-4, Funny, Mystery & Suspense, Picks by Keary B.

Charlie Joe Jackson’s Guide to Not Reading by Tommy Greenwald

Charlie Joe Jackson's Guide to Not ReadingCharlie Joe Jackson’s Guide to Not Reading by Tommy Greenwald. Charlie Joe does NOT like reading, in fact he will do practically anything to get out of reading. So how will Charlie Joe finish his big year-end project when his best friend won’t read his books for him anymore?  Not to worry, Charlie Joe comes up with a crazy scheme that will keep him safe from reading, for now at least.  Complete with tips about reading and how to avoid it! Recommended for fans of Big Nate, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, or anyone who enjoys a good laugh.

Book reviewed by Keary B., Youth Collection Specialist

By bjones on July 9, 2012 Categories: For Grades 4-6, Funny, Picks by Keary B.

Emily’s Fortune by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor

Emily's FortuneTry Emily’s Fortune by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor for a rootin’ tootin’ good read.  Follow Emily’s adventure after she is suddenly orphaned and has to head out west to live with her aunt.  Along the way Emily has to outsmart Child Catching Services and hide from a greedy Uncle who is after her fortune. But how in tumblin’ tarnation could she do that? Well, with the help of fellow orphan Jackson that’s how. So hold on to your hat for a wild ride through the wild west filled with crazy cliffhangers and exciting illustrations.  Recommended for cowboys and girls looking for a fast fun read.

Book reviewed by Keary B., Youth Collection Specialist

 

 

By bjones on February 10, 2012 Categories: For Grades 4-6, Historical Fiction, Picks by Keary B.

Super Chicken Nugget Boy and the Furious Fry by Josh Lewis

Super Chicken Nugget Boy and the Furious Fry In Super Chicken Nugget Boy and the Furious Fry by Josh Lewis, Fern faces a terrible bully at his new school and decides to do something about it. He invents a superhero to stand up to the bully, but when the plan goes astray, Fern gets turned into the superhero for real.  Is he stuck as a giant chicken nugget forever? Can he stop the bully?  You’ll have to read to find out!  Like any good superhero story, there’s plenty of action, a good dose of comedy, and even cartoon pictures on most pages. A good pick for boys seeking early chapter books.  Stay tuned for other adventures of Super Chicken Nugget boy, since this is the first in a series.

Book reviewed by Keary B., Youth Collection Specialist

By MPPL on April 25, 2011 Categories: For Grades 2-4, Funny, Picks by Keary B.

The Wide-awake Princess by E.D. Baker

The Wide-awake Princess Did you know that Sleeping Beauty had a younger sister? Well, Wide-awake Princess by E.D. Baker is her story.  Instead of falling asleep like everyone else in the castle when Princess Gwendolyn, otherwise known as Sleeping Beauty, pricks her finger, Annie stayed awake.  It’s up to her to break the spell and save the day.  Only true-love’s kiss will wake Princess Gwendolyn. So, Annie sets of to find all the princes she can and bring them back to the castle in hopes that one of the kisses will lift the curse.  Along the way she’ll meet familiar characters from other fairy tales and maybe even find her own happily ever after.

Book reviewed by Keary B., Youth Collection Specialist

By MPPL on February 21, 2011 Categories: Fantasy, For Grades 4-6, Picks by Keary B.

The Ring of Rocamadour By Michael Beil

Ring of RocamadourThis first book in the Red Blazer Girls series by Michael Beil involves a group of smart school girls who aren’t about to give up the chance to solve a 20-year-old mystery, no matter what it takes or how much homework they have.  Working together, the girls race to finish a scavenger hunt and find a mysterious ring before a strange man gets it.  See if you can solve the puzzles with the gang and test your own knowledge! And stay tuned for the next exciting adventure in the series–The Vanishing Violin!

Book reviewed by Keary B., Youth Collection Specialist

 

By MPPL on November 29, 2010 Categories: For Grades 4-6, Mystery & Suspense, Picks by Keary B.

The Cabinet of Wonders by Maria Rutkoski

The Cabinet of Wonders In The Cabinet of Wonders  by Maria Rutkoski, Petra goes on a quest to get back her father’s eyes from the cruel prince.  A magical mechanical spider and a gypsy boy help her along the way.  I enjoyed this fantasy that mixed magic and technology together.  Other fans of fantasy should enjoy this one, too.

Book reviewed by Keary B., Youth Collection Specialist

 

By MPPL on September 27, 2010 Categories: Fantasy, For Grades 4-6, Picks by Keary B.

Never Glue Your Friends to Chairs (Roscoe Riley Rules #1) by Katherine Applegate

Never Glue Your Friends If you’ve ever tried to help out but ended up making things worse, you know how Roscoe feels in Never Glue Your Friends to Chairs.  This is the first book in the Roscoe Riley Rules Series.  Trouble is brewing before the big recital when the drummers can’t sit still, and the bee antennae won’t stay on the kids’ heads.  Roscoe steps in with his super-duper strong glue, and soon everything is sticking in place.  I laughed the whole time reading about how Roscoe used super glue to glue his class to their chairs for their concert.  If you like funny stories about school, you’d like this book.

Book reviewed by Keary B., Youth Collection Specialist

By MPPL on July 20, 2010 Categories: For Grades 2-4, Funny, Picks by Keary B.