Find
10 South Emerson, Mount Prospect, IL 60056 | 847/253-5675
Font:

Staff Picks 4 Kids

How Do You Burp in Space? by Susan E. Goodman

syndetics-lcAre you looking for a vacation getaway?  Do you want to travel somewhere far away?  Why not consider going into outer space!

Your generation will be among the first to travel into space as tourists floating high above the Earth.

In the book entitled How Do You Burp in Space? by Susan E. Goodman, you can learn the basics of planning your trip, the actual space flight, and your trip back to your home planet.

What should you pack?  How will you eat, sleep, exercise and shower while on the ship? What kind of preflight training will you need because of g-force and gravity?

For the answers to these and many other questions (including the title question), check out this fun and informational book.

Book reviewed by Carol C., Elementary School Liaison

By lbos on June 16, 2014 Categories: For Grades 4-6, Non-fiction, Picks by Carol C.

I Feel Better with a Frog in My Throat: History’s Strangest Cures by Carlyn Beccia

syndetics-lcIn the 2014 Bluestem nominee entitled I Feel Better with a Frog in My Throat: History’s Strangest Cures by Carlyn Beccia, many unusual health remedies are discussed. Take a nasty sore throat for example: Should you put a frog in your mouth, rub skunk oil on your chest, wear a necklace made from earthworms, or tie a dirty sock around your neck? I bet you are wondering where these remedies came from and if they actually work. For the answers to these questions, you’ll have to read this fun yet informative book! But I will tell you that while one of these remedies might actually help your throat, they will all give you a stomach ache!

Book reviewed by Carol C., Elementary School Liaison

By lbos on August 26, 2013 Categories: For Grades 2-4, For Grades 4-6, Non-fiction, Picks by Carol C.

Love, Aubrey by Suzanne LaFleur

syndetics-lcIn Love, Aubrey by Suzanne LaFleur, 11-year-old Aubrey thinks she can live on her own. She pretends everything is fine and survives on Cheerios, Spaghetti-Os, crackers, and cheese and even buys a pet fish to keep her company!  In time, her grandmother learns that she is living alone and takes Aubrey back with her to Vermont for some healing, love, and structured family life.  While learning how to heal, Aubrey makes a best friend and receives some good advice.

Will she find her mother?  Will her physical and mental pain ever subside? Can she overcome the terrible tragedy that has turned her life upside down?  This 4-tissue book is heartfelt and beautifully written!  Recommended for grades 4-6.

Book reviewed by Carol C., Elementary School Liaison 

By lbos on December 10, 2012 Categories: For Grades 4-6, Picks by Carol C., Realistic Stories

Greetings From Nowhere by Barbara O’Connor

Greetings From NowhereMost people send postcards from fun and exciting places they have visited such as Florida, Hawaii, or Australia.  In the book entitled Greetings From Nowhere by Barbara O’Connor, you probably wouldn’t find anyone sending a postcard from the Sleepy Time Motel in the Great Smoky Mountains.  Even the name sounds dull!

It is a run-down motel in the middle of nowhere, and there has not been a visitor there in almost three months!  But something very interesting happens when four families meet under somewhat unusual circumstances.  Read this book to find out how sometimes with a little bit of hope, you can find exactly what you need even in the middle of nowhere.

Book reviewed by Carol C., Elementary School Liaison

By bjones on January 16, 2012 Categories: For Grades 4-6, Picks by Carol C., Realistic Stories

The Reinvention of Moxie Roosevelt by Elizabeth Kimmel

syndetics-lc Moxie Roosevelt Kipper is a pretty ordinary girl with an extraordinary name.  In The Reinvention of Moxie Roosevelt by Elizabeth Kimmel, Moxie decides to reinvent herself when she starts at a new boarding school.  She uses many different personalities depending on the group of friends she encounters.  She is earthy and green for the environmental friends, cool when she is with her cool group, and sporty to fit in with the athletes.  It can get pretty confusing keeping track of these numerous personalities, so she writes all of her notes in a journal which may not be the best idea.  This is a funny and realistic book that may make you realize that it is easier to just be yourself!

Book reviewed by Carol C., Elementary School Liaison

 

By MPPL on March 23, 2011 Categories: For Grades 4-6, Funny, Picks by Carol C., Realistic Stories

After Ever After by Jordan Sonnenblick

syndetics-lc Fans of Drums, Girls, and Dangerous Pie by Jordan Sonnenblick (2008 Rebecca Caudill winner) will enjoy the continuing story in the new release entitled After Ever After.  In this book, Jeffrey is now in 8th grade and struggling with the effects of his cancer treatment, standardized school testing, girls, and his best friend Tad.  What makes matters worse is that his big brother Steven is away in Africa and can’t be reached for brotherly advice!  Life after cancer can be quite difficult and confusing, but his best friend and fellow cancer patient inspires him to do something selfless and “completely magnificent!”  Sonnenblick has a way of inspiring readers and making them laugh and cry right along with the characters.  This is an excellent book on its own and even better if read as a sequel.
Recommended for 5th grade and up.

Book reviewed by Carol C., Elementary School Liaison

 

By MPPL on May 14, 2010 Categories: For Grades 4-6, Picks by Carol C., Realistic Stories

After Ever After by Jordan Sonnenblick

syndetics-lc Fans of Drums, Girls, and Dangerous Pie by Jordan Sonnenblick (2008 Rebecca Caudill winner) will enjoy the continuing story in the new release entitled After Ever After.  In this book, Jeffrey is now in 8th grade and struggling with the effects of his cancer treatment, standardized school testing, girls, and his best friend Tad.  What makes matters worse is that his big brother Steven is away in Africa and can’t be reached for brotherly advice!  Life after cancer can be quite difficult and confusing, but his best friend and fellow cancer patient inspires him to do something selfless and “completely magnificent!”  Sonnenblick has a way of inspiring readers and making them laugh and cry right along with the characters.  This is an excellent book on its own and even better if read as a sequel.
Recommended for 5th grade and up.

Book reviewed by Carol C., Elementary School Liaison

 

My Life in Pink and Green by Lisa Greenwald

My Life in Pink and Green Never underestimate the difference that one person can make in the world!  In My Life in Pink and Green by Lisa Greenwald, 12-year-old Lucy surprises the reader with her determination, business sense, environmental awareness, and talent.  Her family’s pharmacy is on the brink of going out of business, but Lucy is not willing to let that happen.  Since she is only in 7th grade and most adults don’t take her ideas seriously, what will happen when her grandmother ignores her suggestions and attempts to sell their house and possibly the pharmacy?  Find out how Lucy handles problems with her friends and uses her talents in ways she never imagined!  Pick up some beauty, business, and environmental tips as well…Go Green!  Recommended for 4th grade and up.

Book reviewed by Carol C., Elementary School Liaison

By MPPL on March 9, 2010 Categories: For Grades 4-6, Picks by Carol C., Realistic Stories

My Life in Pink and Green by Lisa Greenwald

My Life in Pink and Green Never underestimate the difference that one person can make in the world!  In My Life in Pink and Green by Lisa Greenwald, 12-year-old Lucy surprises the reader with her determination, business sense, environmental awareness, and talent.  Her family’s pharmacy is on the brink of going out of business, but Lucy is not willing to let that happen.  Since she is only in 7th grade and most adults don’t take her ideas seriously, what will happen when her grandmother ignores her suggestions and attempts to sell their house and possibly the pharmacy?  Find out how Lucy handles problems with her friends and uses her talents in ways she never imagined!  Pick up some beauty, business, and environmental tips as well…Go Green!  Recommended for 4th grade and up.

Book reviewed by Carol C., Elementary School Liaison

A Crooked Kind of Perfect by Linda Urban

Crooked Kind of PerfectI’ll admit that the striped socks on the cover of A Crooked Kind of Perfect by Linda Urban caught my attention. I’m certainly glad that I read it!  Ten year old Zoe is a believable and lovable character who longs to play the piano but to her dismay, receives an organ instead. She has a mother who works too much, a father who rarely leaves the safety of home, troubles with friends, yet enough T.P. stockpiled in the basement to last the entire family until she goes to college!  This is a humorous and touching story that makes you realize that even the craziest of lives can be surprisingly perfect.

Book read and reviewed by Carol C., Elementary School Liaison

 

By MPPL on September 28, 2009 Categories: For Grades 4-6, Funny, Picks by Carol C.