Find
10 South Emerson, Mount Prospect, IL 60056 | 847/253-5675
Font:

Staff Picks 4 Kids

The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt

Cover image for The day the crayons quitThis book is adorable.  Duncan goes to get his crayons out at school one day and finds a stack of letters.  Each one is written by a different color crayon. Each has his reasons for needing a break.  Red feels over used because of holidays like Christmas and Valentine’s Day. Gray doesn’t like to have to be used for such big animals like elephants and hippos. Black doesn’t like being use for outlining things while the other colors are used to fill in. Of course there is drama as well. Yellow and Orange crayons are arguing about who should be the color of the sun and are no longer speaking to each other. I love how Duncan makes all the crayons happy in the end.

Book reviewed by Barb M., Youth Outreach and Programming Assistant

By lbos on July 13, 2015 Categories: For Grades 2-4, Funny, Picks by Barb M., Picture Books

Chomp by Carl Hiaasen  

Cover image for ChompTo those that enjoy a book with lots of action and reptiles:  this book is for you! Wahoo is a normal middle-schooler living in Florida with his parents. What’s not normal about him is that his dad is a professional animal wrangler, and they have Alice, an alligator, living in their backyard. Once his dad suffers a freak accident, Wahoo needs to assist his dad with wrangling animals for the filming of a survival reality show. It turns out the reality show star, Derek, is a self-absorbed jerk and is incredibly difficult to work with. Things get even more hairy once Derek goes missing in the swampy Everglades. It’s up to Wahoo and his dad to locate the reality star in the wilderness, but a gun-toting man makes a dramatic entrance and makes the stakes suddenly much higher.

Book reviewed by Amy S., Youth Services Assistant

By lbos on June 29, 2015 Categories: Adventure, For Grades 4-6, Funny, Picks by Amy S.

The True Blue Scouts of Sugar Man Swamp by Kathi Appelt

Cover image for The true blue scouts of Sugar Man SwampBeing a swamp scout in the Sugar Man Swamp is not an easy job. Just ask Bingo and J’miah, the newest raccoon swamp scouts. Bingo and J’miah are in charge of making sure the swamp is safe and if there is a danger, the need to wake up the Sugar Man who is a cousin of Bigfoot. When Bingo and J’miah hear a rumbling in the distance, they know it’s time to wake the Sugar Man. Can the Sugar Man save the swamp and all the animals that live there? Find out in this really great book. Each chapter is told from different points of view. If you’re looking for a fun read or have already read The One and Only Ivan, this might be the next book to choose.

Book reviewed by Laura B., Youth Technology Librarian

By lbos on June 22, 2015 Categories: For Grades 4-6, Funny, Picks by Laura B.

Rhyme Schemer by K.A. Holt

Cover image for Rhyme schemerIf you liked Love That Dog, you’ll love Rhyme Schemer by K.A. Holt, another verse novel from the perspective of a boy who says he’s not crazy about poetry… but his cleverly-written stanzas tell us otherwise. Kevin rants about a bully at school, his complicated family, and just about everything that is going wrong in his life. One way he deals is by masquerading as a sort of poetry bandit, anonymously plastering the school with torn out pages of library books, on which he’s circled, blacked out, and doodled on the letters and words to compose a poem. If Kevin is found out, the kids would make him “King of the School,” but on the other hand he could also get himself suspended.

Book reviewed by Erin E., Youth Services Programming Coordinator

By lbos on June 1, 2015 Categories: For Grades 4-6, Funny, Picks by Erin E.

Charlie Joe Jackson’s Guide to Summer Vacation by Tommy Greenwald

Cover image for Charlie Joe Jackson's guide to summer vacationIf you don’t already know who Charlie Joe Jackson is, the first thing he’ll tell you is how much he hates to read and the lengths he has gone to in the past to avoid reading, including bribing his best friend with ice cream sandwiches to read books for him. So how did he end up at a summer camp for kids who love to read? Well, in a moment of weakness, Charlie Joe agreed to go to Camp Rituhbukkee to make his parents happy. So now he is stuck away from most of his friends at camp for three weeks where most people don’t act anything like him. At least there is basketball, and for once Charlie Joe is the best player on the team! Fans of Origami Yoda, Big Nate, and Diary of a Wimpy Kid will want to check out Charlie Joe Jackson.

Book reviewed by Keary B., Youth Collection Specialist Librarian

By lbos on January 12, 2015 Categories: For Grades 4-6, Funny, Picks by Keary B., Realistic Stories

Leroy Ninker Saddles Up by Kate DiCamillo

Cover image for Leroy Ninker saddles upIf you like Kate DiCamillo’s Mercy Watson series you will love this spin-off.  It stars Leroy Ninker, a wanna-be cowboy, who works at a drive-in theater.  When his co-worker mentions he has everything he needs to be a real cowboy except the horse he answers a want ad looking for a buyer of a horse “really cheap”. Well, it is love at first sight.  Of course, Leroy has no idea how to take care of a horse so the adventure begins.

Book reviewed by Barb M., Youth Outreach and Programming Assistant

By lbos on November 24, 2014 Categories: For Grades 2-4, Funny, Picks by Barb M.

Zombiekins by Kevin Bolger

Cover image for ZombiekinsIn Zombiekins by Kevin Bolger, fourth-grader Stanley Nudelman stops by his creepy neighbor Imavitch’s yard sale. There he ends up buying Zombiekins, a creepy stuffed animal that looks part bear, part bunny, and part zombie. After failing to read the directions, Stanley unknowingly unleashes Zombiekins at his school turning classmates into the undead. Nowhere in the school is safe from the plush terror! Stanley has to find a way to stop Zombiekins and turn his classmates back into less terrifying versions of themselves before it’s too late and all the teachers notice the school is full of zombies. Can he do it? Read this story that is equal parts funny and frightening to find out! You might also want to check out the cool black and white illustrations throughout the book.

Book reviewed by Keary B., Youth Collection Specialist Librarian

By lbos on October 27, 2014 Categories: For Grades 2-4, Funny, Picks by Keary B.

Timmy Failure: Mistakes Were Made by Stephen Pastis

Cover image for Mistakes were madeIf you liked Diary of a Wimpy Kid or the Big Nate books, this book is right up your alley! Timmy Failure is a detective with a sidekick, Total (who is a lazy 1,500 pound polar bear). Timmy illustrates his stories (Total tried, but he does not draw as well as Timmy). This book is very funny, and there are more in this series if you like this first book. Fun fact: The author, Stephen Pastis, draws the comic strip “Pearls Before Swine” that appears in newspapers.

Book reviewed by Anne W., Youth Services Assistant

By lbos on September 29, 2014 Categories: For Grades 4-6, Funny, Mystery & Suspense, Picks by Anne W.

Fake Mustache by Tom Angleberger

syndetics-lcIn Fake Mustache by Tom Angleberger, all Casper has to do to become president of the United States is buy a fake mustache and a fancy suit. Did I mention that the mustache once belonged to an evil villain and has mind-control powers? With this mustache, he convinces teachers and fast food restaurant employees to rob banks and do his bidding, and he’s convinced the whole world that he should be in charge! It seems nothing can stop Casper and his mustache from taking over the world…but there are two people who aren’t fooled. One is Lenny Flem Jr, Casper’s best friend, and the other is Jodie O’Rodeo, famous yodeling child TV star. Can they thwart the evil plan and bring the world back to normal? You’ll just have to read to find out! Tom Angleberger’s books are really fun to read, with adventure, mystery, and a lot of laughs along the way.

Book reviewed by Claire B., Youth Outreach Coordinator and Volunteen Coordinator

By lbos on July 28, 2014 Categories: For Grades 4-6, Funny, Picks by Claire B

Ungifted by Gordon Korman

syndetics-lcWhat a heap of trouble Donavon Curtis is in this time! Didn’t think things were going to turn out THAT bad, eh? Now what to do, and where to hide? However, by some incredible stroke of luck, Donovan is accepted into the well-admired Academy for Scholastic Distinction Gifted School. What everybody is wondering, though, is just HOW did he get in? Read this amazingly funny book, to “find out” what happens when Donavon Curtis is “found out!”

Book reviewed by Darice C., Youth Services Assistant

By lbos on June 23, 2014 Categories: For Grades 4-6, Funny, Picks by Darice C., Realistic Stories