Find
10 South Emerson, Mount Prospect, IL 60056 | 847/253-5675
Font:

After Ever After by Jordan Sonnenblick

syndetics-lc Fans of Drums, Girls, and Dangerous Pie by Jordan Sonnenblick (2008 Rebecca Caudill winner) will enjoy the continuing story in the new release entitled After Ever After.  In this book, Jeffrey is now in 8th grade and struggling with the effects of his cancer treatment, standardized school testing, girls, and his best friend Tad.  What makes matters worse is that his big brother Steven is away in Africa and can’t be reached for brotherly advice!  Life after cancer can be quite difficult and confusing, but his best friend and fellow cancer patient inspires him to do something selfless and “completely magnificent!”  Sonnenblick has a way of inspiring readers and making them laugh and cry right along with the characters.  This is an excellent book on its own and even better if read as a sequel.
Recommended for 5th grade and up.

Book reviewed by Carol C., Elementary School Liaison

 

By MPPL on May 14, 2010 Categories: For Grades 4-6, Picks by Carol C., Realistic Stories

One Response

  1. Anne W. says:

    I loved this book too. I did not realize this was the sequel to Drums, Girls, and Dangerous Pie (which I still need to read). I think you all will enjoy this too.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.