Check It Out

New Book Spotlight: Page-Turners Featuring Twins

If you want a thriller, try…

Beside Myself book cover

Beside Myself by Ann Morgan

Already at six, Helen and Ellie have found their roles as a twin. Helen is the older, stronger and favored twin, while Ellie is slower as a result of a complication at birth and thus often ignored. The twins switch places as a funny prank, but once Ellie is in the coveted role of Helen, she refuses to switch back.

 

 

 

If you want a fantastical look at grief, try…

eleanor book cover

Eleanor by Jason Gurley

After the death of her identical twin, Eleanor is left picking up the pieces of her family’s grief. She begins slipping into other worlds which leads her to new discoveries about the tragedies that have affected her family over time.

 

 

 

Learn how you can win a prize for reading books during February!

Staff Pick: The Clockwork Scarab by Colleen Gleason

Picture of ColleenThe niece of Sherlock Holmes meets the half-sister of Bram Stoker in this steampunk mystery by Colleen Gleason! Filled with action, snark, fascinating characters, Egyptian mythology, and a mystery that keeps you reading until the last page, The Clockwork Scarab is perfect for anyone who enjoys alternate history novels with a great mystery!

Adult Winter Reading Program

Picture of prizes

February 1, 2016-February 29, 2016

Winter Reading has begun! For every book you read in February you can enter to win a prize. E-books and audiobooks are included.

How?

There is no need to sign-up! Read a book and stop by the Fiction/AV/Teen desk on the second floor to fill out a ticket and enter to win a prize. The more you read this month, the more chances you have to win!

Prizes available for participants to win:

-$75 Gift card to Bahama Breeze (2 winners)
-$75 Gift card to Jack Alexander Salon and Spa
-A Mira French Press Stainless Travel Mug+Coffee/Tea (3 winners)
-$10 Starbucks gift card (3 winners)

I don’t know what to read!

Good news, we can help!

-Take a look at staff favorites
-Explore the reading lists the Library has developed
-Ask in-person or online

Bonus Fun:

See into what books MPPL staff would be interested in escaping
Check out the 2016 Winter Reading video

Books with a Man Wearing a Tie on the Cover

Did you know during the month of February, you can enter to win prizes for every book you read? Stop by the Fiction/AV/Teen desk to fill out a ticket for every book you finish (including e-books and audiobooks) and you might win a gift card! Why not try one of these books featuring a man with a tie on the cover?

The Mark and the Void book cover Finale by Thomas Mallon book cover Meatspace book cover

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Mark and the Void by Paul Murrary

Claude, an investment banker in Ireland, becomes the subject of an author’s next novel and finds his boring average life turning out to be filled with more excitement than he realized in the darkly comedic tale of economics.

Finale by Thomas Mallon

A richly detailed exploration of the Reagan Administration shares insights into the 40th President’s character and decisions while evaluating key historical events and the influences of such figures as Margaret Thatcher, Jimmy Carter and Richard Nixon. (summary from Novelist)

Meatspace by Nikesh Shukla

After losing his job and his girlfriend, Kitab spends his days immersed in the internet, maintaining his various social media presences along with a very mature blog. His life takes a new direction, when a boy with the same name as him shows up on his door step declaring that they should be friends.

Books: Leave Behind Winter and Escape into a Book!

If you could escape into any book, which one would you want to escape into_

Would you love to be Elizabeth Bennet’s best friend in Pride and Prejudice? How about going on a date with Don Tillman in The Rosie Project or moving into your own hobbit hole? In celebration of Winter Reading, we asked Library staff what book they would like to escape into! Join in on the fun and tell us what book you’d like to escape into when you sign up for Winter Reading. Winter Reading for all ages lasts February 1-February 29!

 

Magic Strings of Frankie Presto cover and Miriam quote

 

 

 

 

 

 

Miriam would love to escape into The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto by Mitch Albom
David would love to escape into Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

 

The Rook cover and Jennifer quote

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jennifer would love to escape into The Rook by Daniel O’Malley
Cathleen would love to escape into Lost in a Good Book by Jasper Fforde

 

The Mists of Avalon and Anne quoteThe Paris Wife and Carol quote

 

 

 

 

 

 

Anne would love to escape into The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley
Carol would love to escape into The Paris Wife by Paula McLain

A Week in Winter cover and Cathleen quoteWild Cards cover and Joe quote

 

 

 

 

 

 

Denise would love to escape into A Week in Winter by Maeve Binchy
Joe would love to escape into Wild Cards by George R.R. Martin

Anna and the French Kiss cover and Janine quote

Jenny(1)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Janine would love to escape into Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
Jenny would love to escape into How to Build a Girl by Caitlin Moran

Mary Jane Jenny

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mary Jane would love to escape into Dragonriders of Pern by Anne McCaffrey
Barb would love to escape into The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

Want to keep on experiencing the fun? Take a look at MPPL staff starring in the video Winter Reading 2016 as they escape to Mordor, the wild, from zombies, and more.

Asked At the Desk: Looking for Something Good to Read Part 2

Picture of Fiction/AV/Teen desk

One of the most popular questions at the desk is,

What is something good to read?

Since good is subjective, if you stop by the desk with this question and have time to talk we will try to narrow down what would be good specifically for you with questions like: What did you read last that you liked? Do you prefer your books to be set during a certain time period? What are you in the mood for today?

However, if you are looking to quickly glance at what’s been popular and/or notable recently, one good stop is the 2016 Reading List: Year’s Best in Genre Fiction for Adult Readers, created by The Reading Council. The award list is divided up by 8 different genres, with one title winning for each genre and 3-4 titles chosen for the short list.

Browse below what was chosen for mystery, science fiction, horror, and romance. Want to see what won for fantasy, historical fiction, woman’s fiction, and adrenaline? Check out our post from last Friday!

Mystery


Winner: The Long and Faraway Gone by Lou Berney

Shortlist:
Little Black Lies by Sharon Bolton
Land of Careful Shadows by Suzanne Chazin
Gun Street Girl by Adrian McKinty
Last Ragged Breath by Julia Keller

Romance

Winner: Taking the Heat by Victoria Dahl

When a Scot Ties the Knot book cover

Shortlist:
When a Scot Ties the Knot by Tessa Dare
Rumor Has It by Cheris Hodges
A Desperate Fortune by Susanna Kearsley
Ever After by Jude Deveraux

Horror

The Fifth House of the Heart book cover

Winner: The Fifth House of the Heart by Ben Tripp

Little Girls book cover When We Were Animals book cover The Silence book coverA Head Full of Ghosts book cover

Shortlist:
Little Girls by Ronald Malfi
When We Were Animals by Joshua Gaylord
The Silence by Tim Lebbon
A Head Full of Ghosts by Paul Tremblay

Science Fiction

Golden Son book cover

Winner: Golden Son by Pierce Brown

Seveneves book coverSlow Bullets book cover  Futuristic Violence and Fancy Suits book coverThe Water Knife book cover

Shortlist:
Seveneves by Neal Stephenson
Slow Bullets by Alastair Reynolds
Futuristic Violence and Fancy Suits by David Wong
The Water Knife by Paolo Bacigalupi

Have a question about books, movies, or music you’d like answered? Stop by the Fiction/AV/Teen desk on the second floor, or ask online!

Book Discussion Questions: The Other Boleyn Girl by Philippa Gregory

The Other Boleyn Girl book coverTitle: The Other Boleyn Girl
Author: Philippa Gregory
Page Count: 664 pages
Genre: Historical Fiction
Tone: Dramatic, Romantic, Suspenseful

Summary:
The daughters of a ruthlessly ambitious family, Mary and Anne Boleyn are sent to the court of Henry VIII to attract the attention of the king, who first takes Mary as his mistress, in which role she bears him an illegitimate son, and then takes Anne as his wife.

 

SPOILER WARNING:
These book discussion questions are highly detailed and will ruin plot points if you have not read the book.

Questions composed by MPPL Staff

1. On p. 54 Anne said to Mary, “You are all ready for the pleasures of bed and board, but the woman who manages Henry will know that her pleasures must be in managing his thoughts every minute of the day? Do you think a young girl of 14 has the capability to be so calculating, much less the sexual prowess to seduce him?

2. On p. 59. Anne talked about the family’s strategy of using Mary to catch the king’s desire. Her Uncle Howard asked why Anne didn’t try for the king herself. She said, “I thought of it, but I’m a Howard. What matters most is that one of us catches the king. It hardly matters which one.” Do you think Anne meant what she said at the time? How did she change?

3. Describe Mary’s relationship with Queen Katharine. On pg. 29 she professes her love and admiration for the Queen and feels she can’t betray her. How could Mary then have an affair with the King?

4. Did Mary truly love the king – when she first began her affair with him? What about the king attracted Mary? How did that attraction change – and when?

5. On p. 144 Did Anne ever really love Lord Henry Percy? Or was she using him to become Duchess of Northumberland?

6. Henry was first and foremost a spoiled child; when he was given a present, he loved the giver (p. 177). Do you think that is an accurate description of Henry? Was he a good king?

7. How does Anne’s rein as Queen parallel that of Katharine’s? Did you feel sorry for Anne at all?

8. How would you describe Anne and Mary’s relationship? In what ways were they the same? In what ways were they different?

9. Anne tells Mary, “You can’t desire the king like an ordinary man and forget the crown on his head.” What does this statement reveal about the difference between Anne and Mary’s nature?

10. Were you surprised that George flaunted his relationship with Sir Francis Weston, knowing that homosexuality was a crime?

11. Was George a loyal brother? How was his relationship different with Mary than Anne? What did you make of the intimate kiss between George and Anne that Mary witnessed? Did you believe that Anne’s deformed premature baby was George’s?

12. Describe Mary’s relationship with William Stafford. Did she love him like he loved her? Did their relationship change Mary and how she viewed her family and the court? Knowing the kind of man William was, how could he tolerate George and Anne? How could he not argue with Mary when she said that no matter what, they were still family?

13. After Anne is arrested, Mary pleads for her by saying, “We did nothing more than that was ordered. We only ever did as we were commanded. Is she to die for being an obedient daughter? (p. 650) What is your reaction to these arguments? Did Henry have no choice but to sentence her death?

14. How would you describe the parents of Mary, Anne and George. Were you surprised by their actions, particularly their mother’s?

15. How many of you were familiar with the history of King Henry VIII’s court? Were you familiar with the degree of corruption in the court? Did reading this novel change your view of what you already knew? Were you familiar with Mary Boleyn – or just Anne?

16.How would you rate this novel compared to other historical novels?

Want help with your book discussion group? Check out tips, advice, and all the ways the Library can help support your group!

Other Resources:

Lit Lovers’ discussion questions
Author website
AV Club’s comparison of the book vs. the film
About Philippa Gregory
Video interview with Gregory

Readalikes:
Nefertiti book cover Wolf Hall book cover The Sister Queens book cover

Nefertiti by Michelle Moran
Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel
The Sister Queens by Sophie Perinot

Staff Pick: Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers

Cathleen staff pick photoThis unlikely frontier love story (based on the biblical story of Hosea, of all things!) has stayed with me for years. Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers is a narrative of unconditional commitment that breaks through terrible brokenness and betrayal to invite real trust. Somewhat controversial, but absolutely rewarding.

Asked At the Desk: Looking for Something Good to Read

Picture of Fiction/AV/Teen desk

One of the most popular questions at the desk is,

What is something good to read?

Since good is subjective, if you stop by the desk with this question and have time to talk we will try to narrow down what would be good specifically for you with questions like: What did you read last that you liked? Do you prefer your books to be set during a certain time period? What are you in the mood for today?

However, if you are looking to quickly glance at what’s been popular and/or notable recently, one good stop is the 2016 Reading List: Year’s Best in Genre Fiction for Adult Readers, created by The Reading Council. The award list is divided up by 8 different genres, with one title winning for each genre and 3-4 titles chosen for the short list.

Browse below what was chosen for fantasy, historical fiction, woman’s fiction, and adrenaline. Want to see what won for mystery, science fiction, horror, and romance? Check back here next Friday or stop by the Reading List award page!

Fantasy

Uprooted book cover
Winner: Uprooted by Naomi Novik

Sorcerer to the Crown book cover The Aeronaut’s Windlass The Fifth Season book coverA Darker Shade of Magic book cover

Shortlist:
Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho
The Aeronauts Windlass by Jim Butcher
The Fifth Season by N.K. Jemisin
A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

Historical Fiction

Crooked Heart book cover

Winner: Crooked Heart by Lissa Evans

Girl Waits with Gun book cover Jam on the Vine book cover Paradise Sky book coverThe Truth According to Us book cover

Shortlist:
Girl Waits with Gun by Amy Stewart
Jam on the Vine by LaShonda Katrice Barnett
Paradise Sky by Joe R. Lansdale
The Truth According to Us by Annie Barrows

Women’s Fiction

Re Jane book cover

Winner: Re Jane by Patricia Park

This Is Your Life, Harriet Chance book cover A Touch of Stardust book cover The Royal We book coverDays of Awe book cover

Shortlist:
This is Your Life, Harriet Chance! by Jonathan Evison
A Touch of Stardust by Kate Alcott
The Royal We by Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan
Days of Awe by Lauren Fox

Adrenaline

Pretty Girls book cover

Winner: Pretty Girls by Karin Slaughter

Descent book coverThe Killing Lessons book cover  The Cartel book coverPalace of Treason book cover

Shortlist:
Descent by Tim Johnston
The Killing Lessons  by Saul Black
The Cartel by Don Winslow
Palace of Treason by Jason Matthews

Have a question about books, movies, or music you’d like answered? Stop by the Fiction/AV/Teen desk on the second floor, or ask online!

New Book Spotlight: American Housewife: Stories by Helen Ellis

American Housewife book coverContrary to modern opinion, housewife is not a dirty word. It does, however, inspire a different picture than the ladies who populate the tartly incisive new collection of vignettes by Helen Ellis.  In American Housewife, be introduced to the deciphering of Southern lady code, to a most disturbing book club, and to the reality show Dumpster Diving with the Stars. Identify with neighbor battles that veer from passive-aggressive to outright aggressive. Look over the shoulder of a writer whose next novel is sponsored by the good people at Tampax. Delight in stories that are caustically funny but contain the grit of truth, but be on your guard. Just when you find yourself chuckling at the odd practices of the best bra-fitter south of the Mason Dixon line, an entirely different story-behind-the-story is there to prick your heart.

In the mood for a new non-fiction title instead? Try here!