Find
10 South Emerson, Mount Prospect, IL 60056 | 847/253-5675
Font:

Check It Out

What is the Mount Prospect Community Reading?

Picture of Response Display

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Displayed around the Library are the reviews, theme songs, and readalikes Adult Summer Reading participants are sharing! See what your fellow community members are reading and suggesting, and make sure you sign up for Summer Reading to add your voice! Below are a few of the entries so far:

 

Cover of Where Woman Are KingsWhere Women Are Kings by Christie Watson is an interesting story of a young Nigerian child adopted by a loving interracial couple, but the scars of his early life never leave.

Cover of GulpMy readalike for Gulp by Mary Roach is Fast Food Nation by Eric Schlosser. They are both richly detailed and deal with food.

Cover of The Boys in the BoatMany readers would enjoy The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown because it’s a well-written, moving, true story. Working-class rowers make it to the 1936 Olympics. Fast-paced and tons of great detail!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Nantucket SistersMy readalike for Nantucket Sisters by Nancy Thayer is The Matchmaker by Erin Hilderbrand. Both are heartwarming reads about friendship and love set in Nantucket. Perfect for summer!

Cover of The Next Time You See MeThe Next Time You See Me by Holly Goddard Jones is a real page-turner because you get absorbed into each of the characters– I couldn’t put this book down.

Cover of The Book of ForgivingThe Book of Forgiving by Desmond and Mpho Tutu is an excellent book to read because it is inspiring. It tells stories that reflect our own lives and how people forgive those who harm the mentally and physically.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Going HomeMy theme song for Going Home by Nora Roberts is “Hometown” by Eric Church. Both are about their hometowns and how sad/happy they are to be back.

Cover of The Forgotten PlagueThe Forgotten Plague by Frank Ryan is shocking as it is informative… also the disease was a lot more deadly and common than I thought.

Cover of The Book of Unknown AmericansMy readalike for the The Book of Unknown Americans by Cristina Henriquez is Unaccustomed Earth because both are rich, character-driven vignettes about family, culture, and consequences of our choices.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of My Old Man and the Sea
My theme song for My Old Man and the Sea by David and Daniel Hays is “A Pirate Looks at Forty” by Jimmy Buffett. It’s a true sailing story, it’s short, and you feel like you’re on the ocean.

Cover of A Dangerous PlaceThere is a lingering sense of sorrow and dread in A Dangerous Place by Jacqueline Winspear but the heroine, Maisie Dobbs, finds a way to ease her personal burden and that of others as she faces grief and war head on.

Cover of Alive
Alive by Piers Paul Read is about finding strength in the most primary state of survival, of letting go of things that are part of life but not essential, and just focus on living to another day.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Dad is Fat
Dad is Fat by Jim Gaffigan is hilarious. Real life fatherhood needs a sense of humor at the risk of insanity.

Cover of Bessie Smith
Any blues song is my theme song for Bessie Smith by Jackie Kay because she was the epitome of sadness, tragedy, and blues.

Cover of The Haunted Lady
The Haunted Lady by Mary Roberts Rinehart is cunning and clever. Only Hilda Adams can untangle the web created by Mrs. Fairbanks’ unusual clan to discover the truth and the murderer.

By Jenny, Readers' Advisor on July 3, 2015 Categories: 2015 Summer Reading, Books, Literary, Mysteries/Thrillers/Suspense, Nonfiction, Romance

What is the Mount Prospect Community Reading?

Picture of Response Display

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Displayed around the Library are the reviews, theme songs, and readalikes Adult Summer Reading participants are sharing! See what your fellow community members are reading and suggesting, and make sure you sign up for Summer Reading to add your voice!

Below are a few of the entries so far:

Bitter is the New Black
My theme song for Bitter is the New Black by Jen Lancaster is “Speak Now” by Taylor Swift because Jen does not hold anything back. She says what most of us only think.

Cover of Blackwater Spirits
Blackwater Spirits by Mirriam Grace Monfredo is powerful because of the combination of racial and gender inequality in an educational mystery.

Cover of Love the Home You Have
My theme song for Love the Home You Have by Melissa Michaels is “Love the One You’re With” because it’s the same idea of just digging what you’ve got.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of A Man Apart
A Man Apart by Peter Forbes is inspiring because it suggest ways to live closer to nature and help the environment

Cover of Little Kitchen
Little Kitchen by Sabrina Parrini has easy creative food/recipes your kids will like!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Compulsion
My readalike for Compulsion by Martina Boone is Beautiful Creatures because they are both Southern Gothic stories.

Cover of Twenties Girl
Twenties Girl by Sophie Kinselle is is funny, sweet, and reminds you of the importance of family because it centers around a great aunt who dies, but comes back as a friendly ghost to her bewildered great niece.

Cover of Brothers
Brothers by Da Chen is a great book that should be on your bucket list and/or books you should read before you die list.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Revival
My readalike for Revival by Stephen King is Leaving Time because the two books are like two sides of the same coin. They deal with family, obsession and death. Who would have thought?

Cover of Hawaii
My theme song for Hawaii by James A. Michener is “Aloha Oe” or any soothing Hawaiian music because Michner is so descriptive in his storytelling, it felt like I was in Hawaii!

Cover of Girl Underwater
Girl Underwater by Claire Kells is the gripping story of a plane crash, survival, and overcoming your fears to find the ultimate strength to fight back and find the love of your life.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of To Timbuktu
To Timbuktu by Casey Scieszka and Steven Weinberg is a great adventure book because it tells a fantastic story of two travelers taking a chance.

Cover of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe
My readalike for Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz is I’ll Give You the Sun because both are great coming of age stories about the power of forgiveness and reconnection.

Cover of The Thirteenth Tale
The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield led me to read The Turn of the Screw because both are about governesses brought in to care for children in a country manor, although written over 100 years apart.

By Jenny, Readers' Advisor on June 26, 2015 Categories: 2015 Summer Reading, Books, Humor, Literary, Mysteries/Thrillers/Suspense, Nonfiction, Romance

What is the Mount Prospect Community Reading?

Picture of Response Display

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Displayed around the Library are the reviews, theme songs, and readalikes Adult Summer Reading participants are sharing! See what your fellow community members are reading and suggesting, and make sure you sign up for Summer Reading to add your voice!

Below are a few of the entries so far:

Cover of Pablo
My readalike for Pablo by Julie Birmant is Vincent because it’s another great book in this Masters of Art series.

Cover of Ordinary Grace My review for Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger is to have a box of tissues close because readers will fall in love with narrator Frank Drumm who steals their hearts with his wit and loyalty.

Cover of Master and Commander My readalike for Master and Commander by Patrick O’Brian is His Majesty’s Dragon by Naomi Novik because they’re both rollicking good naval adventures– with added dragons in the Novik series!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Crazy Rich Asians
My theme song for Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan is “Just Got Paid” by Johnny Kemp because the book and song both make me laugh and jump around.

Cover of The Professor's House
I loved The Professor’s House by Willa Cather! My favorite character is Tom. In the middle of the book he tells the story of discovering a lost city that once belonged to Native Americans. I can’t stop looking at real pictures of lost cities like Cather described.

Cover of The Juliet Club
The Juliet Club by Suzanne Harper is a great book because the book is very enjoyable and about love letters.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Cuentos de Eva Luna
My readalike for Cuentos de Eva Luna by Isabel Allende is Arrancame la Vida because of the romance and story seen from a woman’s eye.

Cover of The Book of Lost Things
My readalike for The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly is any of the Brothers Grimms Tales books because it incorporates those tales in their original, dark versions (not as Disney did them).

Cover of Everybody's Got Something
My theme song for Everybody’s Got Something by Robin Roberts is “A Beautiful Day” because of its inspirational lyrics.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of The Stranger
The Stranger is Harlan Coben at his best, because the book will hold your interest to the last. Surprise ending– you won’t see it coming!

Cover of Objects of My Affection
My readalike for Objects of My Affection by Jill Smolinski is Me Before You because in both book the main character is contemplating suicide, with another character looking to change their minds.

Cover of The Residence
My theme song for The Residence is “Hail to the Chief” because the residence is the White House!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of The Dream LoverMy review for The Dream Lover by Elizabeth Berg is a it’s a wonderful fiction novel based on the life of author George Sand and her avant-garde life at the time.

Cover of Where the Heat Is
My review for Where the Heart Is by Billie Letts is heart touching because a young girl learns that not everyone is trustworthy.

Cover of Heat Rises
My review for Heat Rises by Richard Castle is that it is exciting and fast-paced because reading it feels similar to watching a good episode of the T.V. show Castle.

By Jenny, Readers' Advisor on June 19, 2015 Categories: 2015 Summer Reading, Books, Fantasy & Sci-Fi, Historical Fiction, Literary, Mysteries/Thrillers/Suspense, Nonfiction

What is the Mount Prospect Community Reading?

Picture of Response Display

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Displayed around the Library are the reviews, theme songs, and readalikes Adult Summer Reading participants are sharing! See what your fellow community members are reading and suggesting, and make sure you sign up for Summer Reading to add your voice!

Below are a few of the entries so far:

Cover of The Exile Exile by Diana Gabaldon is GREAT because I have read all the books in this series, but this is the only one told from the other main character’s point of view.

Cover of Hardest Peace
My theme song for The Hardest Peace by Kara Tibbetts is “It is Well with My Soul” because through her battle with cancer God was with her and carried her home.

Cover of Murder in Mesopotamia
Murder in Mesopotamia by Agatha Christie is favorable because the narrator of the story was so catty against all the other women. Also, Poirot does the best deconstruction of the crime.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Yes Please
Yes Please by Amy Poehler is FANTASTIC because it’s fun to listen to her observations on working moms.

Cover of Emily and Einstein
Emily and Einstein by Linda Francis Lee is a whimsical read because it has fantasy, romance, and human reflection all wrapped up in a thoughtful bundle.

Cover of Perfect Letter
The Perfect Letter by Chris Harrison is a well-written romance by The Bachelor host because the language is descriptive and the storyline flows. He even has a rose on the bottom of a page in the middle of the book!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Dare to Die
My theme song for Dare to Die by Carolyn Hart is “Better Days” by the Goo Goo Dolls because ten years after the deaths of two friends, everyone is still healing, especially Iris who meets her death trying to make amends for the past.

Cover of Finding Me
Finding Me by Michelle Knight is INSPIRING because the victim was brave and never gave up.

Cover of Vanishing Girls
Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver is thought-provoking because I wonder if you can ever really understand the relationship between sisters.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of The Martian
The Martian by Andy Weir is a big thumbs up because it is very exciting, thrilling, and fun science fiction for the non-science fiction reader.

Cover of The Middle Place
My theme song for The Middle Place by Kelly Corrigan is “The Remedy” by Jason Mraz because it’s a good reflection of the hardships combined with a solid sense of humor that Kelly faced in the book.

Cover of The Nightingale
My readalikes for The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah  are two WWII novels set in france: Sarah’s Key because it similarily goes from present to past and Suite Francaise because it has more of the same feel.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

By Jenny, Readers' Advisor on June 12, 2015 Categories: 2015 Summer Reading, Books, Fantasy & Sci-Fi, Mysteries/Thrillers/Suspense, Nonfiction, Romance

Staff Pick: Murder at the Brightwell by Ashley Weaver

Picture of MartaCrisp characters, witty dialogue, engaging mystery, and an excellent love triangle create a strong debut in Murder at the Brightwell by Ashley Weaver. When Amory Ames travels to a seaside resort in order to help an old beau, she never intended to reignite her husband’s interest, much less get involved in a murder investigation.

By Jenny, Readers' Advisor on June 9, 2015 Categories: Books, Mysteries/Thrillers/Suspense, Picks by Marta, Staff Picks

We Asked Staff: What Do You Hope to Read This Summer?

Summer is growing closer! To some this means filling these warm sunny days up with activity after activity, while for others this means pausing all non-imminent responsibilities and relaxing. Regardless of how you choose to set the tempo of your days, we hope you make time for reading!

In honor of Read to the Rhythm, our Summer Reading Program running June 1-July 31, we asked Mount Prospect Library Staff what their reading hopes and dreams are for the summer. We’re planning on sharing the reading experiences of other Mount Prospect readers as well, so make sure you stop back here to see what your fellow community members are reading or follow us on Facebook or Twitter.

 

Anne S.
Research Services
Cover of Dead Wake
Dead Wake by Erik Larson—I hope I get to it, because I’m on the waiting list!

Nancy
Fiction/AV/Teen
Cover of The Secret History
I recently enjoyed Donna Tartt’s The Goldfinch, so this summer I am finally going to read The Secret History

Mary Jane
Research Services
Cover of Bad Monkey
I want to listen to the audio of Carl Hiaasen’s Bad Monkey on my husband’s and my driving trip to Alaska. It’s a new author for both of us so it will be fun to explore together.

Mary Jane
Research ServicesCover of The Lighthouse
I want to listen to P.D. James on our trip because I love a good mystery!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Carol
Community Services
Cover of West of Sunset
The first book on my summer list is Stewart O’Nan’s West of Sunset, a fictionalization of F. Scott Fitzgerald’s time in Hollywood. I love reading about the 1920s and 1930s.

Carol
Community ServicesCover of Casual Vacancy
I might try J.K. Rowling’s Casual Vacancy. The plot looks interesting.

Carol
Community ServicesCover of Alexandria Quartet
I’d really like to finally finish Lawrence Durell’s Alexandria Quartet. It is four short novels in one large book, so I have been taking my time with it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Donna
Fiction/AV/Teen
Cover of The Residence: Inside the Private World of the White House
This summer I hope to read Kate Andersen Brower’s non-fiction book, The Residence: Inside the Private World of the White House. The title is what peaked my interest

Elaine
Collection ManagementCover of On the Move
I am planning to read On the Move: A Life by Oliver Sacks because I think the author must be as fascinating as the stories he has written!

Diane
Fiction/AV/TeenCover of Uprooted
Uprooted by Naomi Novik! According to the many, many rave reviews on amazon.com, it looks like it will be a fantasy classic.

Mary
Youth ServicesCover of The Rosie Project
The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion. I’ve been meaning to read this forever!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Janine
Circulation
Cover of Where'd You Go, Bernadette
I’m going to re-read Where’d You Go, Bernadette on audiobook. I loved the book the first time around, and have heard amazing things about the audiobook.

Janine
Circulation
Cover of The Sound and the Fury
I’m going to try to read The Sound and the Fury by William Faulkner. I’ve been too scared to attempt it in the past, but this summer I’ll rope my cousin in and we’ll get through it!

Janine
Circulation
Cover of The Sky is Everywhere
I want to read The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson, because I LOVED I’ll Give You the Sun and want to read more by her!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Joyce
Fiction/AV/Teen
Cover of The Girl on the Train
I hope to listen to The Girl on the Train in audiobook because I love psychological thrillers.

Joyce
Fiction/AV/Teen
Cover of The Husband's Secret
I hope to listen to The Husband’s Secret in audiobook because I haven’t read Liane Moriarty previously.

John
IT Services
Cover of Wheel of Time series
I’ve been meaning to read the Wheel of Time series because my friend has been bugging me to for years. It’s a fantasy series similar to LotR but written more casually like ASoIaF (without a lot of the backstabbing and scheming).

John
IT Services
Cover of The Martian
I like science fiction and The Martian has accrued so much hype I figure at this point it’s essentially a must-read.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cathleen
Fiction/AV/Teen
Cover of Wolf Hall
I’m overdue for meaty historical fiction, and this will be the season I finally lose myself in the world of Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel.

Cathleen
Fiction/AV/Teen
Cover of Armada
For pure fun, imagination, action, and heart, Armada, Ernest Cline’s follow-up to Ready Player One, is at the top of my list.

Cathleen
Fiction/AV/Teen
Cover of X
As much as I adore Sue Grafton’s character of Kinsey Millhone, she is most vivid when voiced by Judy Kaye. Can’t wait for X!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mary
Technical Services
Cover of The Girl Next DoorI will be reading one of the last books by my favorite author, Ruth Rendell: The Girl Next Door.

Kathi
Registration
Cover of Pirate HuntersThis summer I plan to read Pirate Hunters by Robert Kurson. His first two books (Crashing Through and Shadow Divers) were awesome; I met him and he’s a great guy!

Rebeca
Collection Management
Cover of The Night Manager The Night Manager is a must read for me as it’s soon to be a miniseries starring Tom Hiddleston.

Joe
Research Services
Cover of The CircleI’m going to try and read The Circle by Dave Eggers, because my boss has been recommending it for months!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Linda
IT Services
Cover of The Thirteenth Tale
I am intrigued by reviews praising the atmospheric, historic thriller The Thirteenth Tale for “lovers of books about book lovers” about a famous, reclusive author known for fictionalizing her biography but who claims she will reveal her true family story now that she is dying.

Linda
IT Services
Cover of Sapiens
Earning great reviews as thoughtful, readable non-fiction, Sapiens explores how homo sapiens became the sole surviving human species and came to dominate all life on the planet and the consequences.

Linda
IT Services
Cover of The Silkworm
Having read Rowling/Galbraith’s first book in her new adult series, The Cuckoo’s Calling, I expect to also enjoy this second one, The Silkworm, as anyone who’s read Harry Potter knows her masterful writing skills.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Carla
Administration
Cover of Marissa Mayer and the Fight to Save Yahoo
The American Institute of CPAs recommended Marissa Mayer and the Fight to Save Yahoo by Nicholas Carlson.

Carla
Administration
Cover of Good Leaders Ask Great Questions
Good Leaders Ask Great Questions by John Maxwell was also recommended by the American Institute of CPAs

Jenny
Fiction/AV/Teen
Cover of Half a King
I’m drawn to long epic fantasies during the summer, and have heard fantastic things about Joe Abercrombie’s Half a King.

Jenny
Fiction/AV/Teen
Cover of The First Bad Man
Miranda July has a knack for striking the perfect balance of offbeat hilarity and gut wrenching truths, which I’m hoping translates into The First Bad Man!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jo
Research Services
Cover of Foxcatcher
I’ve been meaning to read Foxcatcher by Mark Schultz ever since I saw the movie. The movie was so bizarre – I just want to find out more about the characters and the situation.

Jo
Research Services
Cover of The Rosie Effect
I’m looking forward to listening to The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion. I just finished The Rosie Project and it actually made me laugh out loud! Perfect for a long road trip!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Interested in joining in on the reading fun? You can register for the Adult Summer Reading Program online or at the Fiction/AV/Teen Desk on the second floor, starting Monday, June 1st.

By Jenny, Readers' Advisor on May 29, 2015 Categories: Audiobooks, Books, Fantasy & Sci-Fi, Literary, Mysteries/Thrillers/Suspense, Nonfiction, Romance, Staff Picks

Discussion Questions: The Ritual Bath by Faye Kellerman

Cover of The Ritual BathTitle: The Ritual Bath
Author: Faye Kellerman
Page Count: 374 pages
Genre:  Mystery
Tone: Atmospheric, Suspenseful

Summary:
Detective Peter Decker is stunned when he learns one of the women in a remote yeshiva community in the California hills was brutally raped as she returned from the mikvah, the bathhouse where the cleansing ritual is performed and Rina Lazarus is also the only one in the sheltered community willing to speak of this unspeakable violation. As Rina tries to steer Decker through the maze of religious laws the two grow closer. Before they get to the bottom of this horrendous crime, revelations come to light that are so shocking that they threaten to come between the hard-nosed cop and the deeply religious woman with whom he has become irrevocably linked.

SPOILER WARNING:
These book discussion questions are highly detailed and will ruin plot points if you have not read the book.

1. Did the author do a good job describing the yeshiva and the mikvah? Did you learn something about the Orthodox Jewish faith that you didn’t know before?

2. What was it about Rina Lazarus that Detective Decker was attracted to? What did you think of him when he fantasized about her being out of yeshiva context?

3. Did the author do a good job of describing the feelings of attraction that both Rina and Detective Decker had toward each other?

4. How did Rina try to discourage Detective Decker from being involved with her? Were there any ways she encouraged him?

5. Were you surprised at how open Rina was with Decker about her religion and why it wouldn’t be a good idea for them to go out with each other?

6. How do Rina and Detective Decker’s decisions affect their own lives and the lives of other characters in the book?

7. Was it believable that Decker’s biological parents were Jewish? Or does it seem too contrived?

8. Did you suspect that Moshe was the rapist/murderer? Were the Jewish people in the Yeshiva blinded by their faith while searching for clues/suspects?

9. Did the author do a good job of planting clues and developing the suspects?

10. Did you guess who the rapist was? Was the rapist a surprise?

11. Was it necessary to have Mrs. Marley, the security guard, murdered?

12. What was the author trying to accomplish with this mystery novel? (Begin a series? Provide entertainment? Send a message?)

13. Is the novel believable?

14. This is classified as a mystery novel. Do you think the mystery was the main point of the novel, or was it the relationship between Rina and Detective Decker?

15. What was the books greatest strength or most serious flaw?

16. How has the author set the book up to continue the series? Have any of you read further in the series? Do you plan on reading other books in this series?

Other Resources

What is a ritual bath?
Article: Reclaiming and re-imagining the ritual bath in 2015
Book discussion resources
Detective Decker and Rina Lazarus series order

If you liked The Ritual Bath, try

Cover of In the Bleak Midwinter Cover of Friday the Rabbi Slept Late Cover of When the Bough Breaks

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In the Bleak Midwinter by Julia Spencer-Fleming
Friday the Rabbi Slept Late by Harry Kemelman
When the Bough Breaks by Jonathan Kellerman

By Jenny, Readers' Advisor on May 20, 2015 Categories: Book Discussion Questions, Mysteries/Thrillers/Suspense

Nonfiction: Ghettoside: A True Story of Murder in America by Jill Leovy

Ghettoside book coverDetective John Skaggs could be the intrepid hero cop of your favorite mystery novel. He has an imposing physical presence, he is an extreme perfectionist working within an ailing system, and he is equally compassionate and relentless. Murder may be his beat, but he believes in investigating every homicide, no matter the victim, as if it were the biggest media event of the year. In Ghettoside: A True Story of Murder in America, Jill Leovy reports one tragic case in gripping true-crime style and exposes the larger sociological issues we as a nation have allowed to take root. Few nonfiction crime books tell the story equally well from both sides of the crime tape. This one does, and it doesn’t stop there.

By Cathleen, Readers' Advisor on May 18, 2015 Categories: Books, Mysteries/Thrillers/Suspense, Nonfiction

Staff Pick: The Awakening of Miss Prim by Natalia Sanmartin Fenollera

Cover of The Awakening of Miss PrimMarta of Fiction/AV/Teen services suggests The Awakening of Miss Prim by Natalia Sanmartin Fenollera.

Step with Miss Prim into the village of San Ireneo de Arnois and enjoy the stores filled with luscious chocolates, beautiful flowers and well-chosen books.   Meet the intelligent children who have been carefully educated by their parents in the classics of literature and art. But, if you are not looking to be married, beware the San Ireneo Feminist League, who might place husband finding on the agenda.

Imagine Prudencia Prim’s horrified surprise when she finds herself subject to this scrutiny. And yet… as she searches her heart she finds that love is growing for her employer: the inscrutable Man in the Wing Chair.

Fans of Jane Austen’s Mr. Darcy will relish a romance based on moral ideals, attraction and longing. Readers who love a well described sense of place will want to visit San Ireneo and never leave.

For more charming international cozies try

 

Cover of Hector and the Search for Happiness
Hector and the Search for Happiness
by Francois LeLord

The French author tells a charming yet meaning laden tale of a burned out psychiatrist who leaves his job and travels the world trying to discover what makes people happy or unhappy.

Cover of The House at the End of Hope Street
The House at the End of Hope Street by Menna Van Praag
11 Hope Street is literally a life changing location. Alba has recently suffered disappointment and is offered 99 days to stay in this unusual home. Will its magic work for her?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Hotel Pastis
Hotel Pastis
by Peter Mayle
Simon Shaw ditches his career as an advertising executive and escapes to the south of France. Pleasures and obstacles are equally great in this ode to provincial life and the desire to begin again.


The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency
by Andrew McCall Smith
More than a mystery, the first book in this popular series draws readers into small village life in Botswana and into the wise, contented mind of Mma Ramatswa.

Cover of Jana Bibi’s Excellent Fortunes
Jana Bibi’s Excellent Fortunes
by Betsy Woodman
Far from her native Scotland, Janet Laird moves to a small home in India. When the proposed building of a new dam threatens to wipe out the village, Janet comes up with a plan to save this new home that she loves.

By Jenny, Readers' Advisor on May 14, 2015 Categories: Books, Mysteries/Thrillers/Suspense, Picks by Marta, Staff Picks

Fiction: Hiding the Past by Nathan Dylan Goodwin

Hiding the Past book coverGenealogists are, by definition, detectives. They start with one or more clues, apply patience and a great deal of detail work, and follow the threads wherever they lead, hoping for a satisfying conclusion. Nathan Dylan Goodwin’s Hiding the Past plays those similarities to great effect by creating an original genealogical mystery novel. A British man with no family history calls on expert Morton Farrier to trace his roots but is dead by apparent suicide the day after they meet. As Farrier doggedly investigates, others are determined to keep past events from seeing the light of the present, including a possible WWII conspiracy. However, even mounting danger won’t keep a dedicated researcher from his answers, and his adventures are worth scaling this particular family tree.

By Cathleen, Readers' Advisor on April 20, 2015 Categories: Books, Mysteries/Thrillers/Suspense