Find
10 South Emerson, Mount Prospect, IL 60056 | 847/253-5675
Font:

Check It Out

What is the Mount Prospect Community Reading?

Picture of Response Display

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Displayed around the Library are the reviews, theme songs, and readalikes Adult Summer Reading participants are sharing! See what your fellow community members are reading and suggesting, and make sure you sign up for Summer Reading to add your voice! Below are a few of the entries so far:

Cover of The Bees
The Bees by Laline Paull is thrilling. It is so well written that I finished it in two days!

Cover of The Atonement Child
My theme song for The Atonement Child by Francine Rivers is “Time After Time” by Cyndi Lauper. Both Joe and God are there for her when she needs them.

Cover of Slow Dancing with a Stranger
Slow Dancing with a Stranger by Meryl Comer is inspiring and informative. It gave me an inside to Alzheimer’s.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Sweet Spot
Sweet Spot by Susan Mallery is a great romance novel because the couple was very believable in the great love they had for each other.

Cover of Relationship Rescue
Relationship Rescue by Philip McGraw is helpful. It has good practical tips/steps to help your relationship with a significant other.

Cover of Everything I Never Told You
Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng is a great read for those who like mystery and family drama. It is really well-written and unravels at a great pace!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Love Suburban Style
Love Suburban Style by Wendy Markham kept me amused as to how the main characters would end up with each other.

Cover of How Good do we Have to Be
How Good do we Have to Be? by Harold Kushner Is an excellent read for all harried/worried parents because it helps us to realize that we were not meant to be perfect parents, siblings, friends, and children!

Cover of Entwined
My theme song for Entwined by Heather Dixon is “Devil’s Dance Floor.” The heroines make a deal with the devil to pursue their love of dance.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of 2 Bodies for the Price of 1
My readalike for 2 Bodies for the Price of 1 by Stephanie Bond is any of the Stephanie Plum novels. It’s a light, “fluffy” read with just enough of a story and interesting characters to keep you reading.

Cover of H is for Hawk
H is for Hawk by Helen Macdonald is an amazing immersion into the world of falconry and hawks. The author described her own experience taming her Goshawk “Mabel” with the author of the King Arthur Legen stories and his taming of hawks.

Cover of Dead Wake
Dead Wake by Erik Larson is fascinating and compelling and makes for an engaging book discussion!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of The Shop on Blossom Street
The Shop on Blossom Street by Debbie Macomber is a touching poignant book. It takes four women’s lives and intertwines them. They help each other overcome problems and difficult circumstances while enjoying being part of a knitting club.

Cover of Celebrations
Celebrations: Rituals of Peace and Prayer is a good compilation of Maya Angelou’s poems. Read by the author, you get to experience her delivery of her work.

Cover of whatever love is love
My theme song for Whatever… Love is Love is “One Love” by Bob Marley. Love is beautiful, no matter what form it comes in.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Etta and Otto and Russell and James
Etta and Otto and Russell and James by Emma Hooper is an unusual love story! I count at last 4 different love stories interconnected over time and circumstance. How many do you see?”

Cover of People I Want to Punch in the Throat
People I Want to Punch in the Throat by Jen Mann is “Tubthumping.” No matter what happens to this author she gets back up again!

Cover of The Wonder of All Things
The Wonder of All Things by Jason Mott is amazing. It was a very emotional, thought-provoking read.

By Jenny, Readers' Advisor on July 24, 2015 Categories: 2015 Summer Reading, Books, Humor, Literary, Mysteries/Thrillers/Suspense, Nonfiction, Romance

Book Discussion Questions: Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

Cover of Water for ElephantsTitle: Water for Elephants
Author: Sara Gruen
Page Count: 350 pages
Genre: Literary Fiction, Historical Fiction
Tone: Nostalgic, Romantic, Bittersweet

Summary:
A novel of star-crossed lovers, set in the circus world circa 1932. When Jacob Jankowski, recently orphaned and suddenly adrift, jumps onto a passing train, he enters a world of freaks, grifters, and misfits, a second-rate circus struggling to survive during the Great Depression, making one-night stands in town after endless town. A veterinary student who almost earned his degree, Jacob is put in charge of caring for the circus menagerie. It is there that he meets Marlena, the beautiful young star of the equestrian act, who is married to August, the charismatic but twisted animal trainer. He also meets Rosie, an elephant who seems untrainable until he discovers a way to reach her.

SPOILER WARNING:
These book discussion questions are highly detailed and will ruin plot points if you have not read the book.

1. What is the appeal of this novel?

2. What part do the animals play in this novel?

3. Describe Rosie and her personality traits. What is Rosie’s role in the novel? Do you think elephants can really think and act the way that she did?

4. How does Jacob’s life in the nursing home compare to the animals at the circus?

5. Why does Jacob prefer Rosemary to the other nursing home staff?

6. Did you like how the author switched back and forth between the nursing home and the circus story? Did this enhance or detract from the story?

7. Who was your favorite character? Why?

8. Who was your least favorite character? Why?

9. Upon reading the prologue, who did you think murdered August? Was the prologue an effective way to begin the story? How did that opening scene, involving chaos, make you feel about the rest of the story?

10. Describe the difference between how Jacob and August felt about Marlena. What was it about August that attracted Marlena to him. What was it about Jacob?

11. What did you learn about circuses from reading this novel? (reality and illusion) Do you like circuses? Has this novel changed the way you look at them?

12. How do the practices of the circus relate to the modern business world?

13. Would you have liked more detail on what became of Jacob, Marlena and their children? It didn’t sound like Jacob was extremely close to his children. Is that the impression you got? If so, were you surprised by that?

14. In the words of one review, Water for Elephants “explores…the pathetic grandeur of the Depression-era circus.” Do you agree? How does the “pathetic grandeur” describe the world that Gruen creates in her novel?

15. Why did Jacob get so upset at the nursing home patient, McGuinty, said he carried water for the elephants?

Other Resources:

Readers’ Guide
Lit Lovers Discussion Questions
Party Ideas for a Water for Elephants discussion
Writer’s Digest Interview with Sara Gruen


If you like Water for Elephants, you might like…

Cover of Little HeathensCover of Seabiscuit Cover of The Adventures of Miles and Isabel

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Little Heathens by Mildred Armstrong Kalish
Seabiscuit by Laura Hillenbrand
The Adventures of Miles and Isabel by Tom Gilling

Want help with your book discussion group? Check out tips, advice, and all the ways the Library can help support your group!

By Jenny, Readers' Advisor on July 8, 2015 Categories: Book Discussion Questions, Books, Historical Fiction, Literary

Staff Pick: Phenomenal Woman: Four Poems Celebrating Women by Maya Angelou

Cathleen staff picks photoFew articulate as inspiring a blend of grace and gravitas as the transcendent Maya Angelou. Phenomenal Woman celebrates the steel of femininity via a quartet of elegant yet unadorned poems that swell the heart, soothe the soul, and energize a pride in the complex selves we are called to be.

By Cathleen, Readers' Advisor on July 7, 2015 Categories: Books, Literary, Picks by Cathleen, Staff Picks

What is the Mount Prospect Community Reading?

Picture of Response Display

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Displayed around the Library are the reviews, theme songs, and readalikes Adult Summer Reading participants are sharing! See what your fellow community members are reading and suggesting, and make sure you sign up for Summer Reading to add your voice! Below are a few of the entries so far:

 

Cover of Where Woman Are KingsWhere Women Are Kings by Christie Watson is an interesting story of a young Nigerian child adopted by a loving interracial couple, but the scars of his early life never leave.

Cover of GulpMy readalike for Gulp by Mary Roach is Fast Food Nation by Eric Schlosser. They are both richly detailed and deal with food.

Cover of The Boys in the BoatMany readers would enjoy The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown because it’s a well-written, moving, true story. Working-class rowers make it to the 1936 Olympics. Fast-paced and tons of great detail!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Nantucket SistersMy readalike for Nantucket Sisters by Nancy Thayer is The Matchmaker by Erin Hilderbrand. Both are heartwarming reads about friendship and love set in Nantucket. Perfect for summer!

Cover of The Next Time You See MeThe Next Time You See Me by Holly Goddard Jones is a real page-turner because you get absorbed into each of the characters– I couldn’t put this book down.

Cover of The Book of ForgivingThe Book of Forgiving by Desmond and Mpho Tutu is an excellent book to read because it is inspiring. It tells stories that reflect our own lives and how people forgive those who harm the mentally and physically.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Going HomeMy theme song for Going Home by Nora Roberts is “Hometown” by Eric Church. Both are about their hometowns and how sad/happy they are to be back.

Cover of The Forgotten PlagueThe Forgotten Plague by Frank Ryan is shocking as it is informative… also the disease was a lot more deadly and common than I thought.

Cover of The Book of Unknown AmericansMy readalike for the The Book of Unknown Americans by Cristina Henriquez is Unaccustomed Earth because both are rich, character-driven vignettes about family, culture, and consequences of our choices.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of My Old Man and the Sea
My theme song for My Old Man and the Sea by David and Daniel Hays is “A Pirate Looks at Forty” by Jimmy Buffett. It’s a true sailing story, it’s short, and you feel like you’re on the ocean.

Cover of A Dangerous PlaceThere is a lingering sense of sorrow and dread in A Dangerous Place by Jacqueline Winspear but the heroine, Maisie Dobbs, finds a way to ease her personal burden and that of others as she faces grief and war head on.

Cover of Alive
Alive by Piers Paul Read is about finding strength in the most primary state of survival, of letting go of things that are part of life but not essential, and just focus on living to another day.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Dad is Fat
Dad is Fat by Jim Gaffigan is hilarious. Real life fatherhood needs a sense of humor at the risk of insanity.

Cover of Bessie Smith
Any blues song is my theme song for Bessie Smith by Jackie Kay because she was the epitome of sadness, tragedy, and blues.

Cover of The Haunted Lady
The Haunted Lady by Mary Roberts Rinehart is cunning and clever. Only Hilda Adams can untangle the web created by Mrs. Fairbanks’ unusual clan to discover the truth and the murderer.

By Jenny, Readers' Advisor on July 3, 2015 Categories: 2015 Summer Reading, Books, Literary, Mysteries/Thrillers/Suspense, Nonfiction, Romance

What is the Mount Prospect Community Reading?

Picture of Response Display

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Displayed around the Library are the reviews, theme songs, and readalikes Adult Summer Reading participants are sharing! See what your fellow community members are reading and suggesting, and make sure you sign up for Summer Reading to add your voice!

Below are a few of the entries so far:

Bitter is the New Black
My theme song for Bitter is the New Black by Jen Lancaster is “Speak Now” by Taylor Swift because Jen does not hold anything back. She says what most of us only think.

Cover of Blackwater Spirits
Blackwater Spirits by Mirriam Grace Monfredo is powerful because of the combination of racial and gender inequality in an educational mystery.

Cover of Love the Home You Have
My theme song for Love the Home You Have by Melissa Michaels is “Love the One You’re With” because it’s the same idea of just digging what you’ve got.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of A Man Apart
A Man Apart by Peter Forbes is inspiring because it suggest ways to live closer to nature and help the environment

Cover of Little Kitchen
Little Kitchen by Sabrina Parrini has easy creative food/recipes your kids will like!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Compulsion
My readalike for Compulsion by Martina Boone is Beautiful Creatures because they are both Southern Gothic stories.

Cover of Twenties Girl
Twenties Girl by Sophie Kinselle is is funny, sweet, and reminds you of the importance of family because it centers around a great aunt who dies, but comes back as a friendly ghost to her bewildered great niece.

Cover of Brothers
Brothers by Da Chen is a great book that should be on your bucket list and/or books you should read before you die list.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Revival
My readalike for Revival by Stephen King is Leaving Time because the two books are like two sides of the same coin. They deal with family, obsession and death. Who would have thought?

Cover of Hawaii
My theme song for Hawaii by James A. Michener is “Aloha Oe” or any soothing Hawaiian music because Michner is so descriptive in his storytelling, it felt like I was in Hawaii!

Cover of Girl Underwater
Girl Underwater by Claire Kells is the gripping story of a plane crash, survival, and overcoming your fears to find the ultimate strength to fight back and find the love of your life.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of To Timbuktu
To Timbuktu by Casey Scieszka and Steven Weinberg is a great adventure book because it tells a fantastic story of two travelers taking a chance.

Cover of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe
My readalike for Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz is I’ll Give You the Sun because both are great coming of age stories about the power of forgiveness and reconnection.

Cover of The Thirteenth Tale
The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield led me to read The Turn of the Screw because both are about governesses brought in to care for children in a country manor, although written over 100 years apart.

By Jenny, Readers' Advisor on June 26, 2015 Categories: 2015 Summer Reading, Books, Humor, Literary, Mysteries/Thrillers/Suspense, Nonfiction, Romance

What is the Mount Prospect Community Reading?

Picture of Response Display

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Displayed around the Library are the reviews, theme songs, and readalikes Adult Summer Reading participants are sharing! See what your fellow community members are reading and suggesting, and make sure you sign up for Summer Reading to add your voice!

Below are a few of the entries so far:

Cover of Pablo
My readalike for Pablo by Julie Birmant is Vincent because it’s another great book in this Masters of Art series.

Cover of Ordinary Grace My review for Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger is to have a box of tissues close because readers will fall in love with narrator Frank Drumm who steals their hearts with his wit and loyalty.

Cover of Master and Commander My readalike for Master and Commander by Patrick O’Brian is His Majesty’s Dragon by Naomi Novik because they’re both rollicking good naval adventures– with added dragons in the Novik series!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Crazy Rich Asians
My theme song for Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan is “Just Got Paid” by Johnny Kemp because the book and song both make me laugh and jump around.

Cover of The Professor's House
I loved The Professor’s House by Willa Cather! My favorite character is Tom. In the middle of the book he tells the story of discovering a lost city that once belonged to Native Americans. I can’t stop looking at real pictures of lost cities like Cather described.

Cover of The Juliet Club
The Juliet Club by Suzanne Harper is a great book because the book is very enjoyable and about love letters.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Cuentos de Eva Luna
My readalike for Cuentos de Eva Luna by Isabel Allende is Arrancame la Vida because of the romance and story seen from a woman’s eye.

Cover of The Book of Lost Things
My readalike for The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly is any of the Brothers Grimms Tales books because it incorporates those tales in their original, dark versions (not as Disney did them).

Cover of Everybody's Got Something
My theme song for Everybody’s Got Something by Robin Roberts is “A Beautiful Day” because of its inspirational lyrics.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of The Stranger
The Stranger is Harlan Coben at his best, because the book will hold your interest to the last. Surprise ending– you won’t see it coming!

Cover of Objects of My Affection
My readalike for Objects of My Affection by Jill Smolinski is Me Before You because in both book the main character is contemplating suicide, with another character looking to change their minds.

Cover of The Residence
My theme song for The Residence is “Hail to the Chief” because the residence is the White House!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of The Dream LoverMy review for The Dream Lover by Elizabeth Berg is a it’s a wonderful fiction novel based on the life of author George Sand and her avant-garde life at the time.

Cover of Where the Heat Is
My review for Where the Heart Is by Billie Letts is heart touching because a young girl learns that not everyone is trustworthy.

Cover of Heat Rises
My review for Heat Rises by Richard Castle is that it is exciting and fast-paced because reading it feels similar to watching a good episode of the T.V. show Castle.

By Jenny, Readers' Advisor on June 19, 2015 Categories: 2015 Summer Reading, Books, Fantasy & Sci-Fi, Historical Fiction, Literary, Mysteries/Thrillers/Suspense, Nonfiction

We Asked Staff: What Do You Hope to Read This Summer?

Summer is growing closer! To some this means filling these warm sunny days up with activity after activity, while for others this means pausing all non-imminent responsibilities and relaxing. Regardless of how you choose to set the tempo of your days, we hope you make time for reading!

In honor of Read to the Rhythm, our Summer Reading Program running June 1-July 31, we asked Mount Prospect Library Staff what their reading hopes and dreams are for the summer. We’re planning on sharing the reading experiences of other Mount Prospect readers as well, so make sure you stop back here to see what your fellow community members are reading or follow us on Facebook or Twitter.

 

Anne S.
Research Services
Cover of Dead Wake
Dead Wake by Erik Larson—I hope I get to it, because I’m on the waiting list!

Nancy
Fiction/AV/Teen
Cover of The Secret History
I recently enjoyed Donna Tartt’s The Goldfinch, so this summer I am finally going to read The Secret History

Mary Jane
Research Services
Cover of Bad Monkey
I want to listen to the audio of Carl Hiaasen’s Bad Monkey on my husband’s and my driving trip to Alaska. It’s a new author for both of us so it will be fun to explore together.

Mary Jane
Research ServicesCover of The Lighthouse
I want to listen to P.D. James on our trip because I love a good mystery!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Carol
Community Services
Cover of West of Sunset
The first book on my summer list is Stewart O’Nan’s West of Sunset, a fictionalization of F. Scott Fitzgerald’s time in Hollywood. I love reading about the 1920s and 1930s.

Carol
Community ServicesCover of Casual Vacancy
I might try J.K. Rowling’s Casual Vacancy. The plot looks interesting.

Carol
Community ServicesCover of Alexandria Quartet
I’d really like to finally finish Lawrence Durell’s Alexandria Quartet. It is four short novels in one large book, so I have been taking my time with it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Donna
Fiction/AV/Teen
Cover of The Residence: Inside the Private World of the White House
This summer I hope to read Kate Andersen Brower’s non-fiction book, The Residence: Inside the Private World of the White House. The title is what peaked my interest

Elaine
Collection ManagementCover of On the Move
I am planning to read On the Move: A Life by Oliver Sacks because I think the author must be as fascinating as the stories he has written!

Diane
Fiction/AV/TeenCover of Uprooted
Uprooted by Naomi Novik! According to the many, many rave reviews on amazon.com, it looks like it will be a fantasy classic.

Mary
Youth ServicesCover of The Rosie Project
The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion. I’ve been meaning to read this forever!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Janine
Circulation
Cover of Where'd You Go, Bernadette
I’m going to re-read Where’d You Go, Bernadette on audiobook. I loved the book the first time around, and have heard amazing things about the audiobook.

Janine
Circulation
Cover of The Sound and the Fury
I’m going to try to read The Sound and the Fury by William Faulkner. I’ve been too scared to attempt it in the past, but this summer I’ll rope my cousin in and we’ll get through it!

Janine
Circulation
Cover of The Sky is Everywhere
I want to read The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson, because I LOVED I’ll Give You the Sun and want to read more by her!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Joyce
Fiction/AV/Teen
Cover of The Girl on the Train
I hope to listen to The Girl on the Train in audiobook because I love psychological thrillers.

Joyce
Fiction/AV/Teen
Cover of The Husband's Secret
I hope to listen to The Husband’s Secret in audiobook because I haven’t read Liane Moriarty previously.

John
IT Services
Cover of Wheel of Time series
I’ve been meaning to read the Wheel of Time series because my friend has been bugging me to for years. It’s a fantasy series similar to LotR but written more casually like ASoIaF (without a lot of the backstabbing and scheming).

John
IT Services
Cover of The Martian
I like science fiction and The Martian has accrued so much hype I figure at this point it’s essentially a must-read.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cathleen
Fiction/AV/Teen
Cover of Wolf Hall
I’m overdue for meaty historical fiction, and this will be the season I finally lose myself in the world of Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel.

Cathleen
Fiction/AV/Teen
Cover of Armada
For pure fun, imagination, action, and heart, Armada, Ernest Cline’s follow-up to Ready Player One, is at the top of my list.

Cathleen
Fiction/AV/Teen
Cover of X
As much as I adore Sue Grafton’s character of Kinsey Millhone, she is most vivid when voiced by Judy Kaye. Can’t wait for X!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mary
Technical Services
Cover of The Girl Next DoorI will be reading one of the last books by my favorite author, Ruth Rendell: The Girl Next Door.

Kathi
Registration
Cover of Pirate HuntersThis summer I plan to read Pirate Hunters by Robert Kurson. His first two books (Crashing Through and Shadow Divers) were awesome; I met him and he’s a great guy!

Rebeca
Collection Management
Cover of The Night Manager The Night Manager is a must read for me as it’s soon to be a miniseries starring Tom Hiddleston.

Joe
Research Services
Cover of The CircleI’m going to try and read The Circle by Dave Eggers, because my boss has been recommending it for months!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Linda
IT Services
Cover of The Thirteenth Tale
I am intrigued by reviews praising the atmospheric, historic thriller The Thirteenth Tale for “lovers of books about book lovers” about a famous, reclusive author known for fictionalizing her biography but who claims she will reveal her true family story now that she is dying.

Linda
IT Services
Cover of Sapiens
Earning great reviews as thoughtful, readable non-fiction, Sapiens explores how homo sapiens became the sole surviving human species and came to dominate all life on the planet and the consequences.

Linda
IT Services
Cover of The Silkworm
Having read Rowling/Galbraith’s first book in her new adult series, The Cuckoo’s Calling, I expect to also enjoy this second one, The Silkworm, as anyone who’s read Harry Potter knows her masterful writing skills.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Carla
Administration
Cover of Marissa Mayer and the Fight to Save Yahoo
The American Institute of CPAs recommended Marissa Mayer and the Fight to Save Yahoo by Nicholas Carlson.

Carla
Administration
Cover of Good Leaders Ask Great Questions
Good Leaders Ask Great Questions by John Maxwell was also recommended by the American Institute of CPAs

Jenny
Fiction/AV/Teen
Cover of Half a King
I’m drawn to long epic fantasies during the summer, and have heard fantastic things about Joe Abercrombie’s Half a King.

Jenny
Fiction/AV/Teen
Cover of The First Bad Man
Miranda July has a knack for striking the perfect balance of offbeat hilarity and gut wrenching truths, which I’m hoping translates into The First Bad Man!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jo
Research Services
Cover of Foxcatcher
I’ve been meaning to read Foxcatcher by Mark Schultz ever since I saw the movie. The movie was so bizarre – I just want to find out more about the characters and the situation.

Jo
Research Services
Cover of The Rosie Effect
I’m looking forward to listening to The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion. I just finished The Rosie Project and it actually made me laugh out loud! Perfect for a long road trip!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Interested in joining in on the reading fun? You can register for the Adult Summer Reading Program online or at the Fiction/AV/Teen Desk on the second floor, starting Monday, June 1st.

By Jenny, Readers' Advisor on May 29, 2015 Categories: Audiobooks, Books, Fantasy & Sci-Fi, Literary, Mysteries/Thrillers/Suspense, Nonfiction, Romance, Staff Picks

Fiction: The Flame Alphabet by Ben Marcus

Cover of The Flame Alphabet

 

The sounds of children’s voices have become lethal to adults.

 

In order to survive, Sam and Claire must flee from their only child, Esther. Resigned yet determined, Sam pursues a cure as he reflects on the crumbling of civilization as America once knew. The Flame Alphabet is filled with a certain kind of horror where children become the enemy, yet is also layered with the relentless beauty of a father stubbornly fighting to keep his family together. Ben Marcus’ stunning and cadenced writing only adds emphasis to what is truly at the core of this bleak dystopian: the power and splendor of language in its ability to hurt and heal.

By Jenny, Readers' Advisor on May 28, 2015 Categories: Books, Fantasy & Sci-Fi, Literary

Fiction: Wish You Were Here by Graham Swift

Wish You Were Here book cover“Our dead are never dead to us until we have forgotten them,” George Eliot wrote. “They know all our penitence, all our aching sense that their place is empty.”

The truth of these words scalds the characters of Man Booker Prize winner Graham Swift’s Wish You Were Here. When Jack receives word from the Ministry of Defence that his younger brother Tom was killed in Iraq, he must make arrangements to bring his remains back home to the Isle of Wight. This task forces Jack to confront complicated feelings toward not only his brother’s death but also his father’s, and the weight takes a toll on his relationships with the living as well. Evocative, slow-burning, and complex, this deceptively quiet novel depicts with graceful melancholy the relationships that haunt and enrich us.

By Cathleen, Readers' Advisor on May 25, 2015 Categories: Books, Literary

Audiobooks: Free Titles for Your Personal Digital Library

Rebecca digital audiobook coverWant great listens to take on the go? Try SYNC, a free summer audiobook program that gives away two themed titles each week for downloading. These are top-quality productions featuring standout performances, and though the design is to encourage literacy and listening in young people across the country, adults are finding new entertainment, too!

This week you can grab Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca, a gothic tale of dreamy suspense, and the bestselling Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia. Upcoming pairs include Dodger by Terry Pratchett with Dickens’ Great Expectations and March by Geraldine Brooks offered with Little Women by Louisa May Alcott. For details, visit the official website (www.audiobooksync.com) and plug in!

 

By Cathleen, Readers' Advisor on May 11, 2015 Categories: Audiobooks, Fantasy & Sci-Fi, Historical Fiction, Literary