Find
10 South Emerson, Mount Prospect, IL 60056 | 847/253-5675
Font:

Check It Out

Fiction: Everybody Walk the Dinosaur!

Has Jurassic World genetically engineered your hunger for dinosaur reads? Gather round for admission because the library park is open!

Dinosaur SummerDinosaur Summer book cover by Greg Bear

Building on Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s classic The Lost World, a teen and his photojournalist father travel to document the last dinosaur circus and the creatures’ release back into the wild.

Raptor RedRaptor Red book cover by Robert T. Bakker

Try the dinosaur’s life on for size. After her mate is killed in an attack on a brontosaurus, a female raptor embarks on a perilous year-long odyssey as she copes with a flash flood, migrates to the ocean, finds a new mate, and produces a family of chicks, in a novel set against the exotic prehistoric background of the early Cretaceous.

The Mystery of IretaMystery of Ireta book cover by Anne McCaffrey

Containing both Dinosaur Planet and its sequel, Dinosaur Planet Survivors, this volume tells the tale of a team originally sent to catalog plant and animal life on another world. Suddenly, they find themselves surrounded by giant swamp creatures, deadly predators, terrifying dinosaurs, and a curious change in their crew members.

Here Kitty, KittyHere Kitty Kitty book cover by Winifred Elze

Pleistocene-era animals are migrating from their time to our own, and it is up to Emma and her cat Billie to protect the public, the environment, and even the prehistoric beasts from utter destruction.

West of EdenWest of Eden book cover by Harry Harrison

The saga of two cultures fated to struggle for control of the earth: the Yilane–cold-blooded intelligent reptiles and the Tanu–warm-blooded humans.

Jurassic ParkJurassic Park book cover by Michael Crichton

In the book that made it cool for adults to hang on to their dinosaur fascination, an American bioengineering research firm erects a theme park on a Caribbean island, complete with living dinosaurs, and invites a group of scientists to be its first terrified guests.

By Cathleen, Readers' Advisor on July 1, 2015 Categories: Books, Fantasy & Sci-Fi, Historical Fiction

What is the Mount Prospect Community Reading?

Picture of Response Display

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Displayed around the Library are the reviews, theme songs, and readalikes Adult Summer Reading participants are sharing! See what your fellow community members are reading and suggesting, and make sure you sign up for Summer Reading to add your voice!

Below are a few of the entries so far:

Cover of Pablo
My readalike for Pablo by Julie Birmant is Vincent because it’s another great book in this Masters of Art series.

Cover of Ordinary Grace My review for Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger is to have a box of tissues close because readers will fall in love with narrator Frank Drumm who steals their hearts with his wit and loyalty.

Cover of Master and Commander My readalike for Master and Commander by Patrick O’Brian is His Majesty’s Dragon by Naomi Novik because they’re both rollicking good naval adventures– with added dragons in the Novik series!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Crazy Rich Asians
My theme song for Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan is “Just Got Paid” by Johnny Kemp because the book and song both make me laugh and jump around.

Cover of The Professor's House
I loved The Professor’s House by Willa Cather! My favorite character is Tom. In the middle of the book he tells the story of discovering a lost city that once belonged to Native Americans. I can’t stop looking at real pictures of lost cities like Cather described.

Cover of The Juliet Club
The Juliet Club by Suzanne Harper is a great book because the book is very enjoyable and about love letters.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Cuentos de Eva Luna
My readalike for Cuentos de Eva Luna by Isabel Allende is Arrancame la Vida because of the romance and story seen from a woman’s eye.

Cover of The Book of Lost Things
My readalike for The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly is any of the Brothers Grimms Tales books because it incorporates those tales in their original, dark versions (not as Disney did them).

Cover of Everybody's Got Something
My theme song for Everybody’s Got Something by Robin Roberts is “A Beautiful Day” because of its inspirational lyrics.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of The Stranger
The Stranger is Harlan Coben at his best, because the book will hold your interest to the last. Surprise ending– you won’t see it coming!

Cover of Objects of My Affection
My readalike for Objects of My Affection by Jill Smolinski is Me Before You because in both book the main character is contemplating suicide, with another character looking to change their minds.

Cover of The Residence
My theme song for The Residence is “Hail to the Chief” because the residence is the White House!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of The Dream LoverMy review for The Dream Lover by Elizabeth Berg is a it’s a wonderful fiction novel based on the life of author George Sand and her avant-garde life at the time.

Cover of Where the Heat Is
My review for Where the Heart Is by Billie Letts is heart touching because a young girl learns that not everyone is trustworthy.

Cover of Heat Rises
My review for Heat Rises by Richard Castle is that it is exciting and fast-paced because reading it feels similar to watching a good episode of the T.V. show Castle.

By Jenny, Readers' Advisor on June 19, 2015 Categories: 2015 Summer Reading, Books, Fantasy & Sci-Fi, Historical Fiction, Literary, Mysteries/Thrillers/Suspense, Nonfiction

2015 Audie Award Finalists

The Audie Awards: 150 finalists and only 30 winners. On Thursday, May 28th the Audio Publishers Association will declare which exceptional audiobooks will be crowned Audie Winners for 2015. Enjoy a taste of the finalists below, and stop by the Fiction/AV/Teen desk on the second floor to let us know who you think should win this year’s Audie Awards! The categories and finalists below only scratch the surface, so make sure to peruse the other categories. The Awards Gala hosted by Jack Gantos will be Livestreamed on Thursday, starting at 6:30pm.

Fiction

Cover of Us
Us

by David Nicholls

Cover of Written in My Own Heart's Blood
Written in My Own Hearts Blood

by Diana Gabaldon

Cover of The Invention of Wings
The Invention of Wings

by Sue Monk Kidd

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nonfiction

Cover of Furious Cool
Furious Cool

by David Henry and Joe Henry

Cover of Being Mortal
Being Mortal

by Atul Gawande

Cover of Deep Down Dark
Deep Down Dark

by Hector Tobar

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fantasy

Cover of The Queen of the Tearling
The Queen of Tearling

by Erika Johansen

Cover of Cress
Cress

by Marissa Meyer

Cover of The Emperor's Blades
The Emperor’s Blades

by Brian Staveley

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

History

Cover of Enduring Courage
Enduring Courage

by John F. Ross

Cover of In the Kingdom of Ice
In the Kingdom of Ice

by Hampton Sides

Cover of A Spy Among Friends
A Spy Among Friends

by Ben Macintyre

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Humor

Cover of You Can Date Boys When You're Forty
You Can Date Boys When
You’re Forty

by Dave Barry

Cover of The Disaster Artist

The Disaster Artist

by Greg Sestero and Tom Bissell

Cover of Food: A Love Story
Food: A Love Story

by Jim Gaffigan

By Jenny, Readers' Advisor on May 22, 2015 Categories: Audiobooks, Awards, Fantasy & Sci-Fi, Historical Fiction, Humor, Nonfiction

Audiobooks: Free Titles for Your Personal Digital Library

Rebecca digital audiobook coverWant great listens to take on the go? Try SYNC, a free summer audiobook program that gives away two themed titles each week for downloading. These are top-quality productions featuring standout performances, and though the design is to encourage literacy and listening in young people across the country, adults are finding new entertainment, too!

This week you can grab Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca, a gothic tale of dreamy suspense, and the bestselling Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia. Upcoming pairs include Dodger by Terry Pratchett with Dickens’ Great Expectations and March by Geraldine Brooks offered with Little Women by Louisa May Alcott. For details, visit the official website (www.audiobooksync.com) and plug in!

 

By Cathleen, Readers' Advisor on May 11, 2015 Categories: Audiobooks, Fantasy & Sci-Fi, Historical Fiction, Literary

Book Discussion Questions: The Kommandant’s Girl by Pam Jenoff

Cover of The Kommandant's GirlTitle: The Kommandant’s Girl
Author: Pam Jenoff
Page Count: 395 pages
Genre:  Historical Fiction, Romance
Tone: Mesmerizing, Intrigue

Summary:
Nineteen-year-old Emma Bau has been married only three weeks when Nazi tanks thunder into her native Poland. Within days Emma’s husband, Jacob, is forced to disappear underground, leaving her imprisoned within the city’s decrepit, moldering Jewish ghetto. But then, in the dead of night, the resistance smuggles her out. Taken to Krakow to live with Jacob’s Catholic cousin, Krysia, Emma takes on a new identity as Anna Lipowski, a gentile.
Emma’s already precarious situation is complicated by her introduction to Kommandant Richwalder, a high-ranking Nazi official who hires her to work as his assistant. Urged by the resistance to use her position to access details of the Nazi occupation, Emma must compromise her safety—and her marriage vows—in order to help Jacob’s cause. As the atrocities of war intensify, so does Emma’s relationship with the Kommandant, building to a climax that will risk not only her double life, but also the lives of those she loves.

SPOILER WARNING:
These book discussion questions are highly detailed and will ruin plot points if you have not read the book.

1. A Publisher’s Weekly review called The Kommandant’s Girl “historical romance at its finest”.

Is this a historical romance? Would you categorize it differently? Mira Books, which published the novel, is a division of Harlequin. Did it ever seem like a Harlequin romance novel?

If it is a historical romance, then romance between whom? Emma and Jacob? Or Emma and the Kommandant?

2. Did you believe the romance between Emma and Jacob?

3. Emma and Jacob were married only a few weeks before they were separated. How do you think the story might have been different if they had been married for six months? One year? Five?

4. Was Jacob right to leave the way he did? Do you think he knew what Emma was doing?

5. Did you believe the romance between Emma and the Kommandant? Did the age difference bother you? As Emma wonders, if they had met in a different world, a different time, do you think they could have been happy together? Were they “star-crossed lovers”?

6. Did you find yourself more invested in Jacob or in the Kommandant?

7. Did you find Emma a sympathetic character? heroic? Was she a believable 19-year-old?

8. What was the most difficult challenge faced by Emma? How did her choices affect others?

9. Did her attraction to the Kommandant make her situation easier? What if she had not had feelings for him?

10. Emma struggled not just with betraying her husband, but betraying her faith. Do you think her struggle was portrayed realistically? Would you say she was unfaithful? Given the circumstances, were her actions “right”? In other words, do the ends justify the means?

11. Another review (Booklist) claimed that the author “succeeded in humanizing the unfathomable as well as the heroic”. Would you agree that the Kommandant, for example, was humanized? Did you find him sympathetic? Why or why not? If so, were you uncomfortable (as Emma was) with your sympathy?

12. Was the Kommandant really going to shoot Emma?

13. What was your opinion of Malgorzata and her role in the story?

14. How does Lukasz change the story? What if it had just been Emma and Krysia involved in the deception? What does Krysia add?

15. How was the underground portrayed? Did you feel you understood the danger? What did you think of Alek? Was his death a surprise?

16. How did you feel about Marta? Did your feelings change at any point?

17. Was Jenoff’s choice to have Emma tell the story from her point of view a good one? Was it well-utilized?

18. This is a first novel for Jenoff. Is that apparent? How so? Do you like the author’s style?

19. What was the greatest strength of the book? Its most serious flaw?

20. The book was originally titled A Fine Crack of Light. What do you think that meant? Which title do you prefer?

21. Even among those who like the book, the ending is often singled out as somewhat flawed. Did it end the way you expected? Was it satisfying?

22. How might you respond to other concerns/ criticisms:

-too many coincidences, especially in closing chapters
-language (e.g., Emma’s habitual answering of “okay”)
-not as deep or as evocative as could have been (tells, doesn’t show)
-too-familiar story; market full of WWII fiction titles
-too serious a topic to treat lightly

23. Many authors have an idea and then research the time and place. Jenoff walked the streets, was immersed in stories, and then felt compelled to write. Can you tell? Did that serve the story well?

24. Did the book’s setting enhance the story? What about the individual settings, such as the ghetto?

25. What themes would you say are throughout the story? The publisher suggests “timeless themes of hope, struggle, defiance”; would you agree with these? Are there others you would add? How well were the themes addressed and/or communicated?

26. What was the purpose of the book? Was it to learn about history? Did you?

27. What’s next for Emma? Did she and Jacob have a happy life? Does she change her mind about telling Jacob about the baby? Should she?

28. What life do you predict Lukasz will lead?

Other Resources

Mount Prospect Public Library Discussion Resources
Harlequin Discussion Questions
Lit Lovers Reading Guide
Personal Q&A with Pam Jenoff
Interview with Jenoff about the book
Holocaust Memorial Day Trust website
Kommandant’s Girl backstory

If you liked The Kommandant’s Girl, try…

Cover of The Lost WifeThe Lost Wife
by Alyson Richman

Cover of AnyaAnya
by Susan Fromberg Schaeffer

Cover of The Diplomat's WifeThe Diplomat’s Wife
by Pam Jenoff (sequel to The Kommandant’s Girl)

By Jenny, Readers' Advisor on May 6, 2015 Categories: Book Discussion Questions, Books, Historical Fiction, Romance

New in Historical Fiction: Girl Athletes, The Effects of War, Thrillers, The Creative Life

Every other Friday the Library will bring you short lists of buzz-worthy books. Take a look below to check out some of the newest historical fiction titles that have arrived at the Library.

Girl Athletes

Cover of The Fair FightThe Fair Fight
by Anna Freeman

Cover of Girl RunnerGirl Runner
by Carrie Snyder

Cover of GwendolenGwendolen
by Diana Souhami

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Effects of War

Cover of A Slant of LightA Slant of Light
by Jeffrey Lent

Cover of The SympathizerThe Sympathizer
by Viet Thanh Nguyen

Cover of The Last Flight of Poxl WestThe Last Flight of Poxl West
by Daniel Torday

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Historical Thrillers

Cover of Whisper HollowWhisper Hollow
by Chris Cander

Cover of The Bone Tree The Bone Tree
by Greg Iles

Cover of Garden of LiesGarden of Lies
by Amanda Quick

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Creative Life

Cover of Mademoiselle Chanel Mademoiselle Chanel
by C.W. Gortner

Cover of The Bridal Chair The Bridal Chair
by Gloria Goldreich

Cover of Paris RedParis Red
by Maureen Gibbon

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For these and other fresh reads, stop by the second floor Fiction/AV/Teen desk or email us at readers@mppl.org to talk to a Readers’ Advisor about new and old titles tailored to your taste.

By Jenny, Readers' Advisor on April 24, 2015 Categories: Books, Historical Fiction, New Arrivals

Fiction: The Immigrant Experience

Picture of Immigrant Experience Display
This week on our displays we are featuring books involving the Immigrant Experience. Displays are located on the second floor by the elevators and toward the start of Adult Fiction. Interested in being matched with a book suited to your taste? Stop by the Fiction/AV/Desk on the second floor to speak with a Readers’ Advisor or email us at readers@mppl.org. Check out some of the books below!

Cover of A Free Life Cover of Hedwig and Berti Cover of Giants in the Earth

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A Free Life by Ha Jin
Hedwig and Berti by Frieda Arkin
Giants in the Earth by O.C. Rölvaag

Cover of Threads of HopeCover of The Saint of Lost Things Cover of Let it Rain Coffee

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Threads of Hope by Andrea Boeshaar
The Saint of Lost Things by Christopher Castellani
Let It Rain Coffee by Angie Cruz

Cover of The Arrival Cover of The Book of Unknown Americans Cover of Desirable Daughters

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Arrival by Shaun Tan
The Book of Unknown Americans by Cristina Henríquez
Desirable Daughters by Bharati Mukherjee

Cover of Panic in a Suitcase Cover of Americanah Cover of The Ice Cream Queen of Orchard Street

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Panic in a Suitcase by Yelena Akhtiorskaya
Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche
The Ice Cream Queen of Orchard Street by Susan Jane Gilman

By Jenny, Readers' Advisor on April 10, 2015 Categories: Books, Historical Fiction, Lists, Literary

Staff Pick: The Boston Girl by Anita Diamant

Picture of MartaAddie Baum, The Boston Girl, recalls her life story to granddaughter Ava. Born in 1900 and saddled with a difficult mother, Addie must overcome poverty, gender roles, and lack of education. Author Anita Diamant has created a lovable character who peppers serious subjects with humorous asides and grandmotherly advice.

By Jenny, Readers' Advisor on March 17, 2015 Categories: Books, Historical Fiction, Picks by Marta, Staff Picks

Award Longlist: The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction

Previously known as the Orange Prize, Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction is in its 20th year. This week the annual prize has released its longlist featuring 20 different titles with plans to reveal the shortlist April 13th. The award is dedicated to recognizing literary merit in women from around the world “…whilst also stimulating debate about gender and writing, gender and reading, and how the publishing and reviewing business works.”

Up for a challenge? Try to see if you can read all of the nominees before the announcement of the winner on June 3rd! Below are some of the titles Mount Prospect owns.

Cover of A God in Every StoneCover of The Girl Who Was Saturday Night Cover of The Country of Ice Cream Star

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A God in Every Stone by Kamila Shamsie
The Girl Who Was Saturday Night by Heather O’Neill
The Country of Ice Cream Star by Sandra Newman

 

Cover of I Am China Cover of Dear Thief Cover of Elizabeth is Missing

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I Am China by Xiaolu Guo
Dear Thief by Samantha Harvey
Elizabeth is Missing by Emma Healy

Cover of The Walk Home Cover of Station Eleven Cover of A Spool of Blue Thread

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Walk Home by Rachel Seiffert
Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel
A Spool of Blue Thread by Anne Tyler

Cover of Outline Cover of The Paying Guests Cover of The Bees

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Outline by Rachel Cusk
The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters
The Bees by Laline Paull

 

Check out the previous winners!

By Jenny, Readers' Advisor on March 13, 2015 Categories: Awards, Books, Historical Fiction, Lists, Literary

New: Historical Fiction and Romance

Every other Friday the Library will bring you short lists of buzz-worthy books in a rotating series of popular genres.

For these and other fresh reads, stop by the second floor Fiction/AV/Teen desk. While there, talk to a Readers’ Advisor about new and old titles tailored to your taste.

New: Historical Fiction Books

Cover of Driving the King Cover of The Marriage Game Cover of A Touch of Stardust

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Driving the King by Ravi Howard
The Marriage Game by Alison Weir
A Touch of Stardust by Kate Alcott
Cover of The Secrets of Midwives Cover of Mrs. Grant and Madame Julie Cover of The Nightingale

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Secrets of Midwives by Sally Hepworth
Mrs. Grant and Madame Julie by Jennifer Chiaverini
The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

New: Romance Books

Cover of The Unexpected Consequences of Love Cover of A Bad CharacterCover of Sweet Surprise

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Unexpected Consequences of Love by Jill Mansell
A Bad Character by Deepti Kapoor
Sweet Surprise by Candis Terry

Cover of Earls Just Want to have FunCover of The Years Cover of You're So Fine

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Earls Just Want to Have Fun by Shana Galen
The Years by Nicholas Delbanco
You’re So Fine by Kieran Kramer

By Jenny, Readers' Advisor on March 6, 2015 Categories: Books, Historical Fiction, New Arrivals, Romance