Find
10 South Emerson, Mount Prospect, IL 60056 | 847/253-5675
Font:

Find Books

Search Catalog for Books

Web Resources

Click here to view our Books and Reading Web Resources
Click here  to access NoveList Plus

Author Information »

Awards »

  • Agatha Awards   more info »
  • Bram Stoker Award  more info »
  • Edgar Awards more info »
  • Hugo Awardmore info »
  • Man Booker Prize   more info »
  • National Book Award   more info »
  • National Book Critics Circle Award   more info »
  • Nebula Award   more info »
  • Nobel Prize for Literature   more info »
  • Pulitzer Prize for Fiction    more info »
  • RITA Awards   more info »

Bestsellers »

Books Featured in the Media »

  • Book TV – CSPAN2   more info »
  • Good Morning America   more info »
  • Masterpiece Theater Bookclub   more info »
  • Oprah’s Books   more info »
  • Today Show   more info »

Genre Fiction »

  • Horror Writers Association    more info »
  • International Thriller Writers, Inc.     more info »
  • Mystery Writers of America    more info »
  • Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America    more info »
  • Romance Writers of America   more info »
  • Western Writers of America    more info »

Reviews and Features »

  • BookPage   more info »
  • BookBrowse    more info »
  • Book Reporter     more info »
  • BookWire    more info »
  • Overbooked     more info »
  • MysteryNet.com    more info »
  • Stop, You’re Killing Me!    more info »
  • RT Book Reviews    more info »
  • Locus Online    more info »
  • The SF Site    more info »
  • Buried.com     more info »
  • Roundup Magazine    more info »

What is the Mount Prospect Community Reading?

Picture of Response Display

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Displayed around the Library are the reviews, theme songs, and readalikes Adult Summer Reading participants are sharing! See what your fellow community members are reading and suggesting, and make sure you sign up for Summer Reading to add your voice! Below are a few of the entries so far:

 

Cover of Where Woman Are KingsWhere Women Are Kings by Christie Watson is an interesting story of a young Nigerian child adopted by a loving interracial couple, but the scars of his early life never leave.

Cover of GulpMy readalike for Gulp by Mary Roach is Fast Food Nation by Eric Schlosser. They are both richly detailed and deal with food.

Cover of The Boys in the BoatMany readers would enjoy The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown because it’s a well-written, moving, true story. Working-class rowers make it to the 1936 Olympics. Fast-paced and tons of great detail!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Nantucket SistersMy readalike for Nantucket Sisters by Nancy Thayer is The Matchmaker by Erin Hilderbrand. Both are heartwarming reads about friendship and love set in Nantucket. Perfect for summer!

Cover of The Next Time You See MeThe Next Time You See Me by Holly Goddard Jones is a real page-turner because you get absorbed into each of the characters– I couldn’t put this book down.

Cover of The Book of ForgivingThe Book of Forgiving by Desmond and Mpho Tutu is an excellent book to read because it is inspiring. It tells stories that reflect our own lives and how people forgive those who harm the mentally and physically.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Going HomeMy theme song for Going Home by Nora Roberts is “Hometown” by Eric Church. Both are about their hometowns and how sad/happy they are to be back.

Cover of The Forgotten PlagueThe Forgotten Plague by Frank Ryan is shocking as it is informative… also the disease was a lot more deadly and common than I thought.

Cover of The Book of Unknown AmericansMy readalike for the The Book of Unknown Americans by Cristina Henriquez is Unaccustomed Earth because both are rich, character-driven vignettes about family, culture, and consequences of our choices.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of My Old Man and the Sea
My theme song for My Old Man and the Sea by David and Daniel Hays is “A Pirate Looks at Forty” by Jimmy Buffett. It’s a true sailing story, it’s short, and you feel like you’re on the ocean.

Cover of A Dangerous PlaceThere is a lingering sense of sorrow and dread in A Dangerous Place by Jacqueline Winspear but the heroine, Maisie Dobbs, finds a way to ease her personal burden and that of others as she faces grief and war head on.

Cover of Alive
Alive by Piers Paul Read is about finding strength in the most primary state of survival, of letting go of things that are part of life but not essential, and just focus on living to another day.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Dad is Fat
Dad is Fat by Jim Gaffigan is hilarious. Real life fatherhood needs a sense of humor at the risk of insanity.

Cover of Bessie Smith
Any blues song is my theme song for Bessie Smith by Jackie Kay because she was the epitome of sadness, tragedy, and blues.

Cover of The Haunted Lady
The Haunted Lady by Mary Roberts Rinehart is cunning and clever. Only Hilda Adams can untangle the web created by Mrs. Fairbanks’ unusual clan to discover the truth and the murderer.