Find
10 South Emerson, Mount Prospect, IL 60056 | 847/253-5675
Font:

Check It Out!

MPPL's staff blog about books, movies, music and the talent behind them.

What is the Mount Prospect Community Reading?

Picture of Response Display

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Displayed around the Library are the reviews, theme songs, and readalikes Adult Summer Reading participants are sharing! See what your fellow community members are reading and suggesting, and make sure you sign up for Summer Reading to add your voice! Below are a few of the entries so far:

 

Cover of Where Woman Are KingsWhere Women Are Kings by Christie Watson is an interesting story of a young Nigerian child adopted by a loving interracial couple, but the scars of his early life never leave.

Cover of GulpMy readalike for Gulp by Mary Roach is Fast Food Nation by Eric Schlosser. They are both richly detailed and deal with food.

Cover of The Boys in the BoatMany readers would enjoy The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown because it’s a well-written, moving, true story. Working-class rowers make it to the 1936 Olympics. Fast-paced and tons of great detail!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Nantucket SistersMy readalike for Nantucket Sisters by Nancy Thayer is The Matchmaker by Erin Hilderbrand. Both are heartwarming reads about friendship and love set in Nantucket. Perfect for summer!

Cover of The Next Time You See MeThe Next Time You See Me by Holly Goddard Jones is a real page-turner because you get absorbed into each of the characters– I couldn’t put this book down.

Cover of The Book of ForgivingThe Book of Forgiving by Desmond and Mpho Tutu is an excellent book to read because it is inspiring. It tells stories that reflect our own lives and how people forgive those who harm the mentally and physically.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Going HomeMy theme song for Going Home by Nora Roberts is “Hometown” by Eric Church. Both are about their hometowns and how sad/happy they are to be back.

Cover of The Forgotten PlagueThe Forgotten Plague by Frank Ryan is shocking as it is informative… also the disease was a lot more deadly and common than I thought.

Cover of The Book of Unknown AmericansMy readalike for the The Book of Unknown Americans by Cristina Henriquez is Unaccustomed Earth because both are rich, character-driven vignettes about family, culture, and consequences of our choices.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of My Old Man and the Sea
My theme song for My Old Man and the Sea by David and Daniel Hays is “A Pirate Looks at Forty” by Jimmy Buffett. It’s a true sailing story, it’s short, and you feel like you’re on the ocean.

Cover of A Dangerous PlaceThere is a lingering sense of sorrow and dread in A Dangerous Place by Jacqueline Winspear but the heroine, Maisie Dobbs, finds a way to ease her personal burden and that of others as she faces grief and war head on.

Cover of Alive
Alive by Piers Paul Read is about finding strength in the most primary state of survival, of letting go of things that are part of life but not essential, and just focus on living to another day.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Dad is Fat
Dad is Fat by Jim Gaffigan is hilarious. Real life fatherhood needs a sense of humor at the risk of insanity.

Cover of Bessie Smith
Any blues song is my theme song for Bessie Smith by Jackie Kay because she was the epitome of sadness, tragedy, and blues.

Cover of The Haunted Lady
The Haunted Lady by Mary Roberts Rinehart is cunning and clever. Only Hilda Adams can untangle the web created by Mrs. Fairbanks’ unusual clan to discover the truth and the murderer.

Music: Beepin’ and Boppin’ by Louis Prima

Cover of Louis Prima's Beepin' and Boppin'“I Beeped When I Should Have Bopped.” “Yes, We Have No Bananas.” “Enjoy Yourself.” The song titles alone set the scene for Beepin’ & Boppin’ the 1999 release of a collection of songs performed by the actor, singer, and trumpeter Louis Prima from 1949-1954. Ranging from silly to soulful, Prima, also known for being the voice of King Louis the orangutan in The Jungle Book, invites the listener to join in a carefree fun celebration of life. His big band voice matches his big band trumpet playing, swinging and scratchy yet playful and full, to create upbeat foot-tapping music that would be perfect for your next dinner party.

Fiction: Everybody Walk the Dinosaur!

Has Jurassic World genetically engineered your hunger for dinosaur reads? Gather round for admission because the library park is open!

Dinosaur SummerDinosaur Summer book cover by Greg Bear

Building on Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s classic The Lost World, a teen and his photojournalist father travel to document the last dinosaur circus and the creatures’ release back into the wild.

Raptor RedRaptor Red book cover by Robert T. Bakker

Try the dinosaur’s life on for size. After her mate is killed in an attack on a brontosaurus, a female raptor embarks on a perilous year-long odyssey as she copes with a flash flood, migrates to the ocean, finds a new mate, and produces a family of chicks, in a novel set against the exotic prehistoric background of the early Cretaceous.

The Mystery of IretaMystery of Ireta book cover by Anne McCaffrey

Containing both Dinosaur Planet and its sequel, Dinosaur Planet Survivors, this volume tells the tale of a team originally sent to catalog plant and animal life on another world. Suddenly, they find themselves surrounded by giant swamp creatures, deadly predators, terrifying dinosaurs, and a curious change in their crew members.

Here Kitty, KittyHere Kitty Kitty book cover by Winifred Elze

Pleistocene-era animals are migrating from their time to our own, and it is up to Emma and her cat Billie to protect the public, the environment, and even the prehistoric beasts from utter destruction.

West of EdenWest of Eden book cover by Harry Harrison

The saga of two cultures fated to struggle for control of the earth: the Yilane–cold-blooded intelligent reptiles and the Tanu–warm-blooded humans.

Jurassic ParkJurassic Park book cover by Michael Crichton

In the book that made it cool for adults to hang on to their dinosaur fascination, an American bioengineering research firm erects a theme park on a Caribbean island, complete with living dinosaurs, and invites a group of scientists to be its first terrified guests.

Staff Pick: The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo

Picture of JoyceMarie Kondo’s The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up is motivating! The de-cluttering and organizing guru has us consider which things “spark joy” in us to determine what to keep and what to let go. Her organizing and storing ideas are transformative!  You’ll be inspired to simplify and de-clutter your life!

Don’t want to wait to listen? Stream it instantly on Hoopla with your Library card!

Movies and TV: The Prettiest Ugly Girl / La Fea Más Bella

La Fea Mas Bella DVD coverTelenovelas, Latin American soap operas, are among the most popular forms of entertainment in the world. Everything is exaggerated:  high drama, intense emotion, and broad caricature are broken into installments to keep family viewers coming back for more. La Fea Más Bella (The Prettiest Ugly Girl) is a story that aired for 300 episodes in Mexico about an intelligent but comically unattractive young woman who lands her first real job. When the business is in danger, her boss uses her crush on him to secure the company, and both are changed by all that follows. An edited DVD set is available for those curious how one of the 17 versions of Ugly Betty played out in another country.

Browse our collection of International TV Series to discover other programs popular around the globe. Don’t forget: Watching a World Language DVD is a bonus step for the 2015 Adult Summer Reading Program. Sign up to participate and try something new!

More...