Find
10 South Emerson, Mount Prospect, IL 60056 | 847/253-5675
Font:

Check It Out!

MPPL's staff blog about books, movies, music and the talent behind them.

Audiobook: Mandela: An Audio History

Mandela: An Audio History CD coverLess than one minute into the 2015 winner of Audiobook of the Year, we hear an actual recording of the April 20, 1964 courtroom declaration of Nelson Mandela, “I am prepared to die.” It is the indelible past come alive, and it is the cornerstone of Mandela: An Audio History. Rare archival recordings and first-person interviews are compiled with newsreel clips and song excerpts to immerse listeners not only in the facts but also in the experience of South Africa’s struggle against apartheid. In awarding the production top honors, the Audio Publishers Association judges described it as “one of the most powerful, well produced, and affecting programs we’ve ever heard.” Don’t miss the opportunity to hear extraordinary events in the very voices of those who lived them.

Staff Pick: Redeployment by Phil Klay

Picture of NancyThrough a variety of voices, Phil Klay’s Redeployment explores with unflinching detail what it means to serve in the Iraq War. There are intense combat stories as well as vivid accounts of readjusting to civilian life back home. This National Book Award winner is intense and yet several of the tales artfully convey distance and numbness.

What is the Mount Prospect Community Reading?

Picture of Response Display

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Displayed around the Library are the reviews, theme songs, and readalikes Adult Summer Reading participants are sharing! See what your fellow community members are reading and suggesting below! Friday, July 31 is the last day of the 2015 Summer Reading program. If you haven’t checked in make sure you stop by the Fiction/AV/Teen services desk on the second floor and enter to win a prize!

Cover of Colorless
My theme song for Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki is “Years of Pilgrimage.” The characters all had reasons to love a particular song by Lizst. MPPL has several variations available. I enjoyed listening to both and reading the history.

Gabi, A Girl in Pieces
Gabi, A Girl in Pieces by Isabel Quintero is rawwsome. Gabi is a strong, funny, and totally endearing heroine I love to read about.

Dr. Mutter's Marvel
Dr. Mutters Marvels by Cristin O’Keefe Aptowicz is awesome if you’re interested in both history and medicine and aren’t squeamish!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of The Left Hand of Darkenss
My readalike for The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. Le Guin is Woman on the Edge of Time. Both deal interestingly with gender roles in Utopian worlds.

Cover of 60 Hikes Within 60 Miles
60 Hikes Within 60 Miles: Chicago by is helpful and informative. It gives a lot of detail on hiking trails that the average person wouldn’t know.

Cover of Coincidence of Coconut Cake
My theme song for The Coincidence of Coconut Cake is “Sugar.” The coconut cake in the title is a character itself.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Lizzy and Jane
Lizzy & Jane by Katherine Reay is an enjoyable read. References to Jane Austin, family relationships, and cooking ties the story together.

Cover of Geektastic
Geektastic: Stories from the Nerd Herd is edited by Holly Black and Cecil Castellucci is two lightsabers up. It was a wonderful, witty collection of comic book/”nerd” anecdotes.

Cover of Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry
My readalike for The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce is Wild. Both main characters went on a solo journey of self-discovery and forgiveness.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of Maus
Everyone should read Maus by Art Spiegelman. It transformed both comics and Holocaust literature. It is poignant, heartbreaking, and eye-opening.

Cover of The America's Test Kitchen HEalthy Family Cookbook
My readalike for The America’s Test Kitchen Healthy Family Cookbook is The America’s Test Kitchen Baking Book. It provides solutions to common baking problems as well as helpful tips for all levels of home bakers— the science behind baking!

Cover of The Dry Grass of August
The Dry Grass of August by Anna Jean Mayhew is a must read in today’s world. It’s amazing that in 60 years(+) not much has changed in our world. Segregation still exists.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of An Absent MindAn Absent Mind by Eric Rill is very similar to Still Alice. It profiles a family struggling with a new diagnosis of Alzheimers Disease and how each member of the family copes and finally accepts the fate of the disease.

Cover of The Clutter-Busting Handbook
The Clutter-Busting Handbook by Rita Emmett is motivating. It is written in a simple and lighthearted way, which helps guide you to clear things out and keep your life clutter free.

Cover of InuYasha
My theme song for the Anime book series InuYasha created by Rumiko Takahashi is “To Loves End.” It reminds me of the relationship of the main characters.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover of The End of the Affair
My readalike for The End of the Affair by Graham Greene is A Widow for One Year. Both authors are incredibly profound while perfectly describing feelings that we’ve all had. Two of my literary favorites.

Cover of Playlist for the Dead
My theme song for Playlist for the Dead by Michelle Falkoff is “How to Disappear Completely.” The protagonist of the story was fighting to figure out why his best friend disappeared.

Cover of Lila
Lila by Marilynne is a sweet story of love, unexpected love.

Nonfiction: You Learn by Living by Eleanor Roosevelt

Cover of You Learn by LivingUsing her own philosophies and struggles, First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt advises individuals of all backgrounds on how they can craft a productive fulfilling life in her self-improvement novel You Learn by Living. The result is compassionate and personable, as Roosevelt offers up her blunders along the way in her pursuits of embracing lifelong learning and facing fear head on. Although published more than fifty years ago, Roosevelt’s work still holds relevance today through its coverage of broad topics, such as being a public servant and facing responsibility, plus highly quotable motivational snippets like, “Happiness is not a goal, it is a by-product” sprinkled throughout.

Staff Pick: Mort(e) by Robert Repino

Picture of BarbarbaMort(e) by Robert Repino will feed your need for a quirky indulgence this summer. The story chronicles the “war with no name” where human extinction is the goal. A race of intelligent ants has plotted for years to create an army of self-aware animals who will rise up and overthrow their human masters. Mort(e) a former house cat turned war hero tries to discover the origins of a deadly plague while relentlessly searching for his prewar friend Sheba.

More...